We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meals are here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Garden

Sushi Garden
Ranked #19 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great meals are here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I loved the food here. It was not too crowded or noisy. The food was prepared well and the potions were on the large side. My only criticism was the hostess that sat us walked us right into a large wet spot on the floor. My Eighty-year old mother had trouble moving around the caution cone that had been put up, so the hostess moved it and allowed my mom to walk right through the water. Good thing she did not slip! The waiter was more thoughtful than the hostess and was very good. I'd return again

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Group of 20 with excellent sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

If you love sushi this is the best! Sushi and sashimi are fresh and excellent. Great service, drinks, and food! They took care of us all like we were everyday regulars. The Love Boat was spectacular! We will always eat here when in Santa Cruz.

Helpful?
Thank NJOYNC2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food was excellent for sushi lovers and non-sushi eaters. Portions are very generous and the service was great. We had four appetizers and entrees (we were hungry) and all was beautifully arranged and tasted great. The reason I'm not giving a full 5 stars is that the dining room was VERY loud (the restaurant was crowded on a Friday night) and it was difficult to have a conversation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank k e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots of choices for quality sushi and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Sushi Garden has two Santa Cruz county locations, has expanded the Capitola location with a sake bar, and often has coupons in the local free weekly newspaper. Large choice of rolls, appetizers, nigiri, easy parking, and always satisfies.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank judiriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“OK Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stopped in for dinner based on Yelp ratings.

As noted in the ratings, service is very slow. The food is mixed. We ordered a variety of rolls. A couple were amazingly good, a few were OK, and a couple blech.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Garden also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing