We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in perfect Capitola Village Location!”
Review of Capitola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capitola Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at the Capitola Hotel in off-season, when there are no crowds in Capitola Village. This hotel is charming, cute and cozy. It is also super clean and provides high quality linens. I loved it!

The Capitola Hotel is in a prime location, so be warned that like everything in Capitola, parking is difficult. The hotel did provide us with a parking permit, but it is limited to spots on specific streets which can be confusing. I can see finding a parking space in the high season would be really difficult.

We stayed in the Nevis room, which is a small room on the second floor with windows overlooking the Village. The room is about the size of your average bedroom in a house So the bed takes up most of the room. It has its own private bathroom.

The room is decorated in nice nuetral tones. The bedding is high quality and the queen sized bed was super comfortable. The room has a very small flat screen tv mounted on the wall. The bathroom was larger than I expected and again, I have to give kudos to this hotel for providing high quality towels. The toiletries provided are all organic. And the shower has a dual head which is fabulous!

I can also see why some reviewers have complained about noise. Capitola Villge is small but the beach, shops and bars and restaraunts are very busy. Because of the hotels location, I can imgine in the summer months it would be a very loud location.
Since it is a small hotel, you should also be aware that the noise you make can probably easily be heard by other guests. However, if you want to enjoy the nightlife and the beach- you cant beat this location! They also provide earplugs.

The hotel provides breakfast at a corner deli/ice cream shop. You do have to pay for your own drinks. Our breakfasts were good. Nothing gourmet, but way better than your standard continental hotel breakfast.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay and would stay here again in a heartbeat next time I visit Capitola.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Capitola Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 304 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

When we were looking for a getaway, we read up on Capitola, CA. We visited here and stayed outside of the village. As we walked the streets we saw the Capitola Hotel. We spoke with the staff on out=r visit and they were kind enough to show us the rooms so that we could see what they were like. We had read some negative comments from previous goersbut only take it with a grain of salt. We have different things we like in a hotel and for us being directly down in the village was a plus. The rooms were small but cozy and just what we were looking for. We stayed in a second floor room over looking the esplanade which is what we like. We like to watch the activity, people, hear the cars and music. May not be for everyone, but it is for us. We met the staff the day before and asked about the parking permits that they give out that allows us to park free on the streets. The following morning, we parked in front of the hotel and fed the meter until the staff found us and gave us a permit to park and checked us in early. They also flagged us down as we walked by and told us the room was ready early so that we could unload our luggage. The courtyard was cozy and peacefull. This hotel is exactly what we were lokking for, location, location, location. We have booked our next stay here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJANDLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We loved staying at The Capitola Hotel during the Art and Wine Festival. The location was amazing since the action was right outside our hotel. The hotel is spotless and our room (Paradise) was perfect for us. We were on the ground floor with our window facing a sweet little private courtyard. When we woke up each day the first thing we saw were the beautiful Morning Glorys. Our room was very cozy with a king size bed and desk. The small closet hads a frig in. The bathroom in this room was huge because it also works for a wheel chair since it is on the ground floor. We used this extra space to store our suitcases.
The staff was great. Susan is friendly and helpful, and Joanna is a chatter box like me and could easily be a friend if we lived closer. Since the street was closed off for the festival we parked our car way up behind the police station. It didn't really matter because you never need a car since everything is so close. The bars, restaurants, and the beach is right across the street from the hotel. The darling shops are right behind the hotel. In the Mercantile Mall (about 50 steps from the hotel) is a great shop called In The Raw where I bought a fun Capitola Happy Jacket hand made from India.

If night time noise bothers you then you shouldn't stay in a downtown hotel where all the action is. You could probably get a quieter hotel on the outskirts of town but you sure wouldn't get the fun beach location. Some friends of ours stayed at the Capitola Venetian and we were visiting them until about 11:30 and there room was much louder than ours, but really the noise didn't bother us a bit because it was just music on a nice summer evening.

We ate at Cafe Cruz - loved the food! We ate outside at Zelda's - you can't beat the beach location! We ate at Shadowbrook - amazing! I would recommend all three places.

(An extra bonus for staying at The Capitola Hotel during the Art and Wine Festival was that I could easily run back to my room to go potty instead of using those icky port-a-pottys.)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travelCA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We arrived on the last day of school holidays and Capitola was so busy - there was even a traffic jam getting into town.... Very very happy to have paid the $20 a day for parking which is right next door (get in quickly as there are only 3 places). All of the staff on reception were friendly and very helpful and our room was lovely. Small and cosy but the weather was perfect so all we needed was a comfy bed and a clean bathroom (positively spacious compared to some hotels in Europe...). Yes, there is some noise from the bars and restaurants but compared to a big city, its positiely quiet. A very short walk to the beach and right in the heart of the shopping district. Absolutely no complaints and would stay again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marisa072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel was terrific! Not only for the location but also the staff was super friendly and helpful. We stayed during the Capitola Art and Wine Festival. What a great place to stay! We stayed in the Nevius room, it was small but very clean and comfortable. It suited our needs perfectly!
This hotel is literally across the street from Margaritaville and the beach! It's close to everything you could ask for!
We will definitely be returning to stay here again and will be referring our friends/family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendybird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We just spent the weekend at the Capitola Hotel for the annual Labor Day Begonia Festival. I have nothing but the best things to say about this hotel and it's staff. I read the less positive reviews about this hotel and how noisy it is but if you are booking a room here you are probably wanting to be in the middle of the action and nightly partying. This hotel is located directly across the street from Margaritaville, The Fog Bank and Zelda's.

We stayed in the "Martinique" Room which was beautifully decorated with very tasteful furniture, bedding and pictures. The walls were painted in a very calming sea blue and tan with crown molding. Our room was very quiet that night considering the huge parties going on across the street. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were perfect. The bathroom was spacious with beautiful tile and a shower with dual shower heads. Everything was very modern and IMMACULATE!!! Every corner was clean and not a speck of dust or dirt anywhere. This is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever been to and I've been to many.

The staff was incredible from our first call to check out. They helped us get our parking taken care of, had coffee set up in the morning and gave us coupons for free breakfast at the corner restaurant.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we'll definitely be staying here again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dvchiropractic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

What a great hotel!! The rooms are really special and we LOVE the staff. We just got back from our second stay there this summer and will go again. We've stayed in the Paradise Island room and recently in the Grand Cayman room. (My only wish is that the Grand Cayman room had a sitting area - remove the bed by the window and put in a couple of chairs and a small table with a lamp?? End of my decorating tips!)

We can't thank Susan and Joanne enough for all they do for us - they're such wonderful assets to the hotel and always go the extra mile. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfrancisco48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
124 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
2.3 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
0.5 mi away
Monarch Cove Inn
Monarch Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Capitola
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Hotel

Address: 210 Esplanade, Capitola, CA 95010-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range: $193 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel in the heart of Capitola Village. Steps to the beach, restaurants, wine tasting and shopping. Beautifully appointed rooms with private bathrooms, high quality linens, continental breakfast, complimentary gourmet coffee, afternoon tea and cookies and weekend wine and cheese service. Free high speed internet, refrigerators, plasma televisions, microwave. Free village parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Capitola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing