We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Capitola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capitola Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate a friend's 40th b-day party.  We stayed in the Paradise room directly off the lobby. The room was spacious with a very large bathroom. The bed was surprisingly comfortable with great pillows! The staff was pleasant.  Our only complaint was the noise that was heard being directly off the lobby. Our 2nd night we had to ask the night clerk at the desk to please turn down the movie that he was watching on his computer. He immediately apologized and turned it down.

We enjoyed the fact that we were right off the main strip and so close to everything! We were given a parking pass so that we could park directly off the main street! Each morning we walked about a half block up to the Capitola coffee And patisserie. Here we enjoyed wonderful coffee and yummy cinnamon rolls and homemade blackberry raspberry bread pudding!

We would definitely stay at The Capitola Hotel again, but next time further from the lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms off main lobby are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newlywedds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 309 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed in front room, and were kept up until 2 am with screaming and laughing drunk people from the bar across the street, as well as live music. Stay only if you can afford the rooms in the back or if you're staying there on a weekday. Too noisy on a Saturday to sleep.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating, room was clean and comfortable, just way too noisy.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the back rooms, not the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitdayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We read the reviews prior to making our reservation and with a few emails back and forth with the hotel staff settled on reserving the Martinique room. It has a separate private entrance that has a double entry. It did well to buffer much of the noise from the establishments across the street. It is a smaller room but well appointed. Attention to details such as crown molding, decor and color combinations made it a lovely cozy room.

The location of the hotel is ideal if you are looking for proximity to the beach, shopping and eating/drinking establishments. Capitola City Beach is within steps of the hotel. It is also within walking distance (20 minutes) of New Brighton Beach. Note: There are over 70 steep stairs to climb to access the path leading to the New Brighton Beach. Capitola is a small city and gives off an intimate charm making it lovely for couples to enjoy a romantic getaway.

The front desk staff were very friendly and informative. We enjoyed our exchanges filled with local highlights and history. The coffee, water and microwave in the lobby were also very nice and we were happy to have them available for our use.

We found the winter hours of the hotel lobby to be a bit of a constraint as there are no coffee makers in the room and to wait until the lobby opened at 8am to get coffee and the breakfast vouchers for Cafe Violette down the street was on the late side for us. One of the many rules. You could not retrieve the voucher until the morning.

There is a Quiet Time Rule. Which I can appreciate. However, with the noise of the establishments across the street how can you tell that it is quiet time?

The most ridiculous rule we encountered was "The Linen Rule". It entailed the strict use of provided pads for the removal of makeup etc. It further stated if linens were stained you would be charged for them. To tell you the truth... we pretty much used our own beach towels in the face of this one.

Another rule: if for some reason you drive off with the laminated placard giving, what is locally called "a hunting license", for parking you were assessed a $75 fee. A hunting license is exactly what it describes. It gives you the right to "hunt" for a parking space that is in a designated zone area. We didn't mind the hunting for the parking space as it is off season and not too horribly difficult to find a place in the early morning hours. I can only imagine what happens in high season. I found the $75 fee completely out of line.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family as long as they understand there are a myriad of rules involved. Its location is the selling point.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank july22sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed recently for 2 nights (Tues/Wed). It was fantastic. I read a few other reviews that said it was a little noisy in the evening. This wasn't our experience, granted it was midweek and in the off season. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed ourselves and plan on booking another night there soon. The room was clean and didn't feel like a regular hotel room. The bed was very comfortable and the room looked just like it did in the pictures. We love this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaronandlaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at the Capitola Hotel in off-season, when there are no crowds in Capitola Village. This hotel is charming, cute and cozy. It is also super clean and provides high quality linens. I loved it!

The Capitola Hotel is in a prime location, so be warned that like everything in Capitola, parking is difficult. The hotel did provide us with a parking permit, but it is limited to spots on specific streets which can be confusing. I can see finding a parking space in the high season would be really difficult.

We stayed in the Nevis room, which is a small room on the second floor with windows overlooking the Village. The room is about the size of your average bedroom in a house So the bed takes up most of the room. It has its own private bathroom.

The room is decorated in nice nuetral tones. The bedding is high quality and the queen sized bed was super comfortable. The room has a very small flat screen tv mounted on the wall. The bathroom was larger than I expected and again, I have to give kudos to this hotel for providing high quality towels. The toiletries provided are all organic. And the shower has a dual head which is fabulous!

I can also see why some reviewers have complained about noise. Capitola Villge is small but the beach, shops and bars and restaraunts are very busy. Because of the hotels location, I can imgine in the summer months it would be a very loud location.
Since it is a small hotel, you should also be aware that the noise you make can probably easily be heard by other guests. However, if you want to enjoy the nightlife and the beach- you cant beat this location! They also provide earplugs.

The hotel provides breakfast at a corner deli/ice cream shop. You do have to pay for your own drinks. Our breakfasts were good. Nothing gourmet, but way better than your standard continental hotel breakfast.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay and would stay here again in a heartbeat next time I visit Capitola.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsLFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

When we were looking for a getaway, we read up on Capitola, CA. We visited here and stayed outside of the village. As we walked the streets we saw the Capitola Hotel. We spoke with the staff on out=r visit and they were kind enough to show us the rooms so that we could see what they were like. We had read some negative comments from previous goersbut only take it with a grain of salt. We have different things we like in a hotel and for us being directly down in the village was a plus. The rooms were small but cozy and just what we were looking for. We stayed in a second floor room over looking the esplanade which is what we like. We like to watch the activity, people, hear the cars and music. May not be for everyone, but it is for us. We met the staff the day before and asked about the parking permits that they give out that allows us to park free on the streets. The following morning, we parked in front of the hotel and fed the meter until the staff found us and gave us a permit to park and checked us in early. They also flagged us down as we walked by and told us the room was ready early so that we could unload our luggage. The courtyard was cozy and peacefull. This hotel is exactly what we were lokking for, location, location, location. We have booked our next stay here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJANDLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We loved staying at The Capitola Hotel during the Art and Wine Festival. The location was amazing since the action was right outside our hotel. The hotel is spotless and our room (Paradise) was perfect for us. We were on the ground floor with our window facing a sweet little private courtyard. When we woke up each day the first thing we saw were the beautiful Morning Glorys. Our room was very cozy with a king size bed and desk. The small closet hads a frig in. The bathroom in this room was huge because it also works for a wheel chair since it is on the ground floor. We used this extra space to store our suitcases.
The staff was great. Susan is friendly and helpful, and Joanna is a chatter box like me and could easily be a friend if we lived closer. Since the street was closed off for the festival we parked our car way up behind the police station. It didn't really matter because you never need a car since everything is so close. The bars, restaurants, and the beach is right across the street from the hotel. The darling shops are right behind the hotel. In the Mercantile Mall (about 50 steps from the hotel) is a great shop called In The Raw where I bought a fun Capitola Happy Jacket hand made from India.

If night time noise bothers you then you shouldn't stay in a downtown hotel where all the action is. You could probably get a quieter hotel on the outskirts of town but you sure wouldn't get the fun beach location. Some friends of ours stayed at the Capitola Venetian and we were visiting them until about 11:30 and there room was much louder than ours, but really the noise didn't bother us a bit because it was just music on a nice summer evening.

We ate at Cafe Cruz - loved the food! We ate outside at Zelda's - you can't beat the beach location! We ate at Shadowbrook - amazing! I would recommend all three places.

(An extra bonus for staying at The Capitola Hotel during the Art and Wine Festival was that I could easily run back to my room to go potty instead of using those icky port-a-pottys.)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travelCA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
4.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
558 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Hotel

Address: 210 Esplanade, Capitola, CA 95010-3226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range: $171 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel in the heart of Capitola Village. Steps to the beach, restaurants, wine tasting and shopping. Beautifully appointed rooms with private bathrooms, high quality linens, continental breakfast, complimentary gourmet coffee, afternoon tea and cookies and weekend wine and cheese service. Free high speed internet, refrigerators, plasma televisions, microwave. Free village parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Capitola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing