We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
Review of Zelda's

Zelda's
Reserve with OpenTable
Zelda's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Felton, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went for lunch on a nice spring afternoon. Ordered a margarita with Sauza tequila and was very disappointed. Overly salty, strong and watered down. How can you screw up a margarita? We sat outside with a packed deck thinking the food must be good, but it was not so. Order a beer or wine and enjoy the seaside atmosphere, but skip the food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelfire82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    95
    77
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, crummy food, poor service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped by Zelda's on a sunny Saturday at about 11 a.m. to avoid the summer lunch crowd. The indoor restaurant and bar were almost empty but the incredible patio seating next to the sand was filling at a steady pace. There were plenty of attractive male and female servers and if just a couple of them would have been doing their jobs the crowd would have been handled easily. Instead we were walked past, back and forth, by at least six different staff persons. When our order was taken and served we received no plasticware, no napkins, no salt, ketchup, etc. We were able to ask a different server for more iced tea. I ordered a bowl of clam chowder and it was the saltiest potato soup with big pieces of chewy canned clams. Even my date who is a chronic over-salter thought it was too salty. They replaced with ceviche at my request. The ceviche had mango (I think) in it but that is a guess, it could have been pieces of orange ear protectors. The ceviche was not terrible, but probably the worst I have ever had. My date had a burger and fries which he said were "okay". We agreed the incredible location would not bring us back, we can sit on the beach for free and then eat somewhere with good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felixxxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On the Water”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Zeldas has it all over the other places in town since it is
on the beach. For a mid-week concert it was the perfect
venue for a beer and burger. Enjoyed the sights and sounds.
Talked to nice people and the college age servers were cute.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephanie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The only place to get a coffee early in the morning”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Sweet little coffee bar, friendly staff, and good bar, open early for surfers and all-nighters. We never ate there on this trip to Capitola, but came to depend on it for morning mochas and lattes which were excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Zelda's Capitola, Great food and Drinks on the beach”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are in the Monterey Bay Area take Park Av, exit on Hyw 1 and go to Capitola Villiage. Lots of cool shops and a Great little place to stop for Drinks and Food at the beach. Its called "Zelda's on The Beach" On the weekends you might have to park in special large lots and walk a couple of blocks but it will be worth it! Walk through the door and you see the beach right ahead. Get a drink at the Bar or Coffee bar and go out side to check it out! They have at least 30 seats and cut down pier posts to hold your drink. A little lagoon and the beach are there in front of you as well as an outside patio for dining. The prime rib and lobster specials are on Friday and Thurs nights. All the food I have had has been excellent and all the service and bar staff are friendly and there when you need them. One of the best views on the coast!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelda's also viewed

 

Been to Zelda's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing