We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, nice area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Ranked #3 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Fresno, California, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice stay, nice area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night on business in April. I used Hotwire and got a price of $90 plus tax, a pretty good rate for this area. The stay was nice. The room was a little small and there was a large stain on the bedspread. I was on the second floor and there are no elevators. I had a nice, small balcony and opened up the door to let in the fresh air. There was no screen and I didn't think anything about it until a pretty large wasp came in for a visit. I was pretty scared and spent about 5 minutes locked in the bathroom trying to decide what to do. Eventually it flew out and I was forced to close the door, which was a shame, because the fresh air was so nice. I was also near the pool area and the noise was noticeable. But I can't complain because it was around Spring Break time. I slept pretty well, there wasn't much freeway noise as others have described. There was a child who I could hear pretty loudly in the hallway but when they went into their room, I didn't hear it much.
The best things about this room: affordable, the room had a fridge and microwave which was great, the water pressure in the shower was better than most other hotels I stay at (this must just be a thing with me, but I really appreciate good water pressure) and the area was super nice. I took a jog down to the Capitola Village and back. There is a grocery store, a drug store, and a fabulous bakery (Gayles' bakery) within walking distance. And it's just off the freeway. If you can get a good price for this place, it's a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a second floor, just remember there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uclachexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    33
    12
    14
See reviews for
34
35
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denair, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place is quiet the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable! But we had dirty towels to be exact the towels had hairs stuck in them. After that I had to examine all the towels which were awful. Only 1 bath towel, washcloth and hand towel person. The towels are small and thin they need better quality. The grounds are neat and tidy but probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Capitola hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

It wasn't anything special, but was nice enough accommodations. Hey, beggars can't be choosers at the beach. It's the friction' Taj Mahal compared to most other $99 accommodations in the area. The rooms were spacious and breakfast had a generous helping of choices, not just the staple toast and oatmeal that serves as a free breakfast in most hotels. If you prefer life by foot, it's also within walking distance — only about a mile — from the beach and downtown Capitola. Even closer is the drool-worthy Gayle's Bakery which will blow your baked-goods brain. It wasn't the best hotel ever, but I would stay here again for the price and convenience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were within walking distance to the beach and wharf (pier). There were many restaurants within walking distance also. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fresh! We definitely like to walk and shop and found this hotel suitably located for that purpose.

Room Tip: We didn't have any trouble with the road noise. We were on the ground floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sstrudster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This property is comprised of 4 pods, each seeming to have about 8 rooms on bottom floor and perhaps same on top. There is no elevator and pool is not heated. It is right off the highway; however did not notice much noise. While I'm a frequent stay person with Choice Hotels and a platinum member, the front desk barely gave me the time of day and I know from my frequent stays with the chain that my status shows on the screen in front of them. The room was clean, large and bath was ample. Furnishings are indeed economy. There was the usual fridge, mico and coffee pot...didnt use any. With the 2 queen beds, there was a table, 2 chairs, desk and small chest with SMALL flat screen. There was a small outdoor patio and the sliding glass door to that space is the only natural light in the room. The location is about 2 miles from the beach and esplanade where the shops and restaurants line the area. Parking is impossible at the beach so start looking for side street parking which is both free and allows much easier access. The breakfast room and offerings were pretty much the same as you expect at the chains with cereal, breads, fruit, waffles, sausage, egg patties, coffee, milk, juice. This is not a place you want to stay for a special occasion. Great for quick overnight on your way to somewhere or business in the area. It is across from a center which has a market, deli, coffee shop, pizza, etc. You could do worse; you could do better!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki32414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Not exactly Customer friendly. It seemed that the employees did not want to be there. and in fact there was no employee stationed at the lobby/front office from midnight until I awoke the following day.

Shoddy construction and cheap furniture combined with "no smoking" signs plastered and planted at five foot intervals throughout the property. Someone was kind enough to toss an old table and a couple of grungy chairs against the wall holding up the highway which constituted "The Smoking Section"

In the event I am ever in Capitola I will sleep in my car next to the ocean and save me 150.00

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. Within a ten minute drive there are literally hundreds of lodging options availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solsticeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Met with our requirements but not our expectations based on a different hotel stayed in previously.

Bath chipped
Room cold
Coffee maker broken
Room not cleaned 2nd day
Reception girl extremley helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.8 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Seacliff Inn
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea

Property: Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Address: 720 Hill St, Capitola, CA 95010-2187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the endless beaches of Capitola, CA and the lush Santa Cruz Mountains, the Quality Inn(R) & Suites Capitola By the Sea is surrounded by famous wineries, golf courses and state parks. This Capitola, CA hotel is only minutes away from popular attractions like Pleasure Point, Seacliff State Beach, Capitola Village, Wharf and Beach, Mystery Spot and Monterey Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Orbitz so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitola Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing