We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Ranked #3 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were within walking distance to the beach and wharf (pier). There were many restaurants within walking distance also. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fresh! We definitely like to walk and shop and found this hotel suitably located for that purpose.

Room Tip: We didn't have any trouble with the road noise. We were on the ground floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sstrudster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    38
    34
    12
    15
See reviews for
35
35
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This property is comprised of 4 pods, each seeming to have about 8 rooms on bottom floor and perhaps same on top. There is no elevator and pool is not heated. It is right off the highway; however did not notice much noise. While I'm a frequent stay person with Choice Hotels and a platinum member, the front desk barely gave me the time of day and I know from my frequent stays with the chain that my status shows on the screen in front of them. The room was clean, large and bath was ample. Furnishings are indeed economy. There was the usual fridge, mico and coffee pot...didnt use any. With the 2 queen beds, there was a table, 2 chairs, desk and small chest with SMALL flat screen. There was a small outdoor patio and the sliding glass door to that space is the only natural light in the room. The location is about 2 miles from the beach and esplanade where the shops and restaurants line the area. Parking is impossible at the beach so start looking for side street parking which is both free and allows much easier access. The breakfast room and offerings were pretty much the same as you expect at the chains with cereal, breads, fruit, waffles, sausage, egg patties, coffee, milk, juice. This is not a place you want to stay for a special occasion. Great for quick overnight on your way to somewhere or business in the area. It is across from a center which has a market, deli, coffee shop, pizza, etc. You could do worse; you could do better!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki32414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Not exactly Customer friendly. It seemed that the employees did not want to be there. and in fact there was no employee stationed at the lobby/front office from midnight until I awoke the following day.

Shoddy construction and cheap furniture combined with "no smoking" signs plastered and planted at five foot intervals throughout the property. Someone was kind enough to toss an old table and a couple of grungy chairs against the wall holding up the highway which constituted "The Smoking Section"

In the event I am ever in Capitola I will sleep in my car next to the ocean and save me 150.00

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. Within a ten minute drive there are literally hundreds of lodging options availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solsticeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Capitola hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
England
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Met with our requirements but not our expectations based on a different hotel stayed in previously.

Bath chipped
Room cold
Coffee maker broken
Room not cleaned 2nd day
Reception girl extremley helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Flew into San Jose late one night and had business about 100 miles away. I split the difference and spent the night at this hotel. I was quite surprised during check-in when the desk lady would not allow me into the lobby, I had to pass my credit card and ID through a small hole. In all my years of travel, I have never had to do this . . . and it was only 10 pm??? The room was okay, bath was huge, the TV had DirecTV with more channels than I could count. No workout area, but the Fairfield Inn down the road gave me access to their fitness center the next morning. Overall, this place is okay, I may have given it a higher rating had I not had to wait outside during check-in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2SkiTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here multiple times over the last few years. We live about 50 minutes away and stay here when we come to capitola. I think they have done a lot of improvements since it has become a quality inn property. Before that it was probably a three star property. We try to go to capitola during the art and wine festival and hot rod car show. The hotel is about three miles from the beach. But during the summer the free beach shuttle, which stops at the hotel driveway, takes you right to the beach. Usually two shuttles running, and drops you off and picks you up every 15 to 20 minutes. And runs until 8pm. Which is great if you want to have a few drinks by the beach, and you don't want to drive.
Overall the hotel is clean and they try to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank res0nshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here a cou[le of times over the past year. The area and setting is nice. The facilities were clean but showing its age. Staff was pleasant. I would stay again but don't set your expectations to high. They just need to update.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
271 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
2.9 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea

Property: Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Address: 720 Hill St, Capitola, CA 95010-2187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the endless beaches of Capitola, CA and the lush Santa Cruz Mountains, the Quality Inn(R) & Suites Capitola By the Sea is surrounded by famous wineries, golf courses and state parks. This Capitola, CA hotel is only minutes away from popular attractions like Pleasure Point, Seacliff State Beach, Capitola Village, Wharf and Beach, Mystery Spot and Monterey Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitola Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing