We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some Updating, but it works”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
Ranked #3 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice enough location - but needs some serious upgrades. The Inn is located right off of Hwy 1 on the main drag to Capitola. It is conveniently located right next to a shuttle to the beach, only problem is Shuttle stops at 8, but Taxi's are avail - for this trip we took our bikes, not a bad ride only took about 5 Minutes there, maybe 15 Back (we had to walk up the hill!)

The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were clean enough - but lots of rough construction, old holes left around - the mirror was old and had cracks all around the edges - The "patio" was not a place I would like to be - had a couple cheap plastic chairs (dirty) and big old plywood dividers from the room next door - there was a lot of mold on the deck floor / ceiling above us. The TV was terrible - maybe 20+ year old 19" the speakers broke up when any volume was applied - we like to watch a little tv & it was not possible - in these modern days this should be considered an embarrassment - I travel a lot, and this is the 1st time I have seen a TV like this in years.....

Breakfast area was nice enough - but you needed a key to get in, not what I normally find at Choice hotels - had to go back and get one... Check in was nice, they got us in early - w

Room Tip: Building 3 had closer parking -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelinscott29120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

I liked the size of the room, mini fridge but everything seems pretty old, and outdated.
But you can bring pets, and the bed was comfy.
Carpets are pretty dirty, not a place for a germaphobe like me. :) I would say a good place if you NEED a place to stay, but not a royal place to stay, at all.

Room Tip: Bring your slippers :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What you can find in this hotel? Everything you need for stay. There are confortable bed, mini fridge, and microwave, close to some shopping and a great sushi place, shower head is higher than the normal places (I am 6'2"), close to Gail's bakery, heated pool, hot breakfast, huge room, free shuttle to downtown, free Internet. And very friendly and always ready to help, managers of this place, Jenny and Ank Chauhan. They provided us a perfect customer service, we were satisfied in all requests we've asked for.
We would like to recommend this place for everyone who are going to visit Capitola by the Sea. You will enjoy this quiet and peaceful place relaxing in your room, or visiting downtown Capitola and their beaches without any hassle of parking and crowd problems. From hotel till downtown Capitola and beaches is only 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: We had our room in block N3 on first floor, and there was a clean and quiet room, so we would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michail_K_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Even though the hotel needs updating, it was clean, comfortable, safe, the staff are accommodating and the location was within biking distance to the transition area of my race. The hotel is within walking distance to a great sushi restaurant, grocery store and coffee house!

Room Tip: my room was located towards the rear of the hotel property and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank czbozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Condo style accomodations. The room was very nice with a attached patio. Breakfast was one of the best that I have ever had. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Close to shopping if you want to pickup something at the store (Nob Hill grocery store). We will definitely stay here whenever we go to Santa Cruz area. Maximum of 20 minutes to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you don't want to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lydia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Pros- confortable bed, mini fridge, and microwave, close to some shopping and a great sushi place, shower head is higher than the normal places (I am 6'2"), close to Gail's bakery, heated pool, hot breakfast, huge room, free shuttle to downtown, free Internet.
Cons - not very clean, carpet is very old, first duvet had a blood stain, call the front desk and they brought another one, but did not changed it, they just handed to my wife.
Bathroom wasn't the cleanest, had some renovations done but not finished, toilet very low to the gound.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank RafaelSjc_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I stayed over Labor Day weekend (9/1 through 9/3, 2012) and had a good time. The rooms are basic and dated, but if you are looking for a quick and easy place to stay in Capitola, this is a good hotel to consider. The room was clean and it had all the hot water we needed. One bonus for the hotel is that is a one block (maybe less) walk to the beach shuttle (not affiliated with the hotel) that takes you to downtown Capitola, right by the beach. This is a nice feature because on weekends during the summer, parking near the beach is very difficult. It is also close enough to downtown to walk, which my family easily did one day. The hotel has a small pool (heated) that is fun for smaller kids. The breakfast was pretty typical for these types of hotels, but a good way to save money rather than eating out. My family would stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the smaller side, so all the rooms are pretty equal. Rooms facing away from the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.7 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
126 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
2.9 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea

Address: 720 Hill St, Capitola, CA 95010-2187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range: $107 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the endless beaches of Capitola, CA and the lush Santa Cruz Mountains, the Quality Inn(R) & Suites Capitola By the Sea is surrounded by famous wineries, golf courses and state parks. This Capitola, CA hotel is only minutes away from popular attractions like Pleasure Point, Seacliff State Beach, Capitola Village, Wharf and Beach, Mystery Spot and Monterey Bay Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitola Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing