We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn and Suites Capitola By the Sea
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$152
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$213
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Venetian Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Seacliff Inn(Aptos)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Sands Hotel(Aptos)(Great Value!)
$125
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
18
41
35
12
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
41
35
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnob hillgrocery storeconvenient locationwafflesdownstairs roomcontinental breakfastgood sizeno elevatorstay there againthe check in processquiet hotelfresh airenjoyed our staysmall balconynice staystaff was very friendly and helpfulfreeway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 122 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2011

The room was very nice and was large enough for two of us and our two mid-size dogs. The front desk person was so friendly and explained they are still in the process of updating the rooms. He put us in one of the updated pet rooms. The king size bed was very comfortable. We really liked the location on the hill and how close it was to the beach and village. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SADIERidgecrest_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

When we walked into the room we could tell it had not been cleaned after the previous guests, plus the room smelled strongly of chemicals, probably cleaners. It was not a nice place at all. They would only refund for one night out of the three we had booked. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lpgTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

After reading some of the negative reviews I can't believe we stayed in the same place. We had a giantic room in the back with a separate living room with flatscreen tv and a gas fireplace. Bedroom was really big with tons of space - you could probably fit 10 people in these rooms. Ours had a big patio with a table and chairs, still comfortable to walk around, a jacuzzi tub with heat lamp, large almost walk-in closet and dual sinks in the vanity. I thought maybe these were apartments or something because of the size. Didn't get to use the pool because we only stayed overnight but it was a good size too and everything I saw was clean. Parking was conveniently located to get into our unit, the room was clean, and the breakfast in the morning was a lot more than I expected. Teas, coffee machine that dispensed about 14 kinds of coffee and cocoa, cereals, bagels, nice muffins, toasts with jam or butter. Not having been the one who checked us in I never saw any staff at any time but obviously someone was working behind the scenes. Liked the small touches like the fresh flowers in the lobby, the rose petals, and the coordinating lamps, pictures, etc. in the room itself. The view from the hill was nice too, and it was close to a pharmacy and a 24-hr Safeway we used to get some allergy medication at 2 in the morning. Within a short drive or walk to the beach and all the shops. Plan to come back with my daughter for Spring Break next year so we can take more time to enjoy the town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I booked this spot because it was close to where I needed to attend a meeting. We will never stay here again. The evening clerk was fine, but the morning clerk looked as if we had awoken her, and that she didn't have any idea what we were talking about when we asked a question. A surly other employee demanded we pick something up outside, when we were standing right near the item and fully intended to pick it up (juice box).
The rooms had a musty, forgotten feel to them and didn't seem very clean. The air/heat unit was pushed right up next to one of the two beds, so you couldn't run it at night unless you wanted it to blow right on top of you.
Coffee pot in room, but no coffee cups, paper or otherwise.
The breakfast in the morning was a surprise treat - typical waffles and muffins, but great variety of coffees and bagels/muffins.
Major bonus on a cold foggy day - the pool was heated.
Overall, I paid way too much for this room and will never suggest anyone stay here. Your money is better spent at a hotel where the staff cares about service and where the rooms are maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myboyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Full of LIES to apply additional charges!!! BEWARE!

Someone posted a comment on the remodeling improvements in 2007 - I wonder if they were being comical because this place is dated, filthy, and the staff are rude and unscrupulous characters! The hotel website boasts a balcony for every room - the balcony is so small only two people can stand in the space outside the sliding glass door and right next to the balcony is only a wood partition to separate you from the next room "balcony".

This hotel staff will conjure up any absurd reason to administer additional charges on your credit card - and apparently there's not much you can do about the completely unprofessional, unscrupulous methods they’ll use to scam you if you signed their penalties agreement at check-in. Our room was positioned right above the office and any late-night conversations you have can be heard, as well as any heavy footed walking within the room. We were harassed and telephoned for the slightest sound and charged for supposedly smoking pot in our smoking room which we initially accepted (the room) because we were told it was what was available!!!! I don’t mean to stereotype the type of people who may or may not partake in marijuana, but we are parents, an U.S. Army Veteran and a school teacher – to be accused of some completely ludicrous acts in order to penalize us monetarily for their profit is just WRONG.
As for the condition of the hotel room – aside from our harassing experience we definitely, and adamantly do NOT recommend staying there. The room was a 2-queen bed room riddled with holes throughout the walls and even in the bathroom and above the shower which gives an eerie feeling of being watched – or as some hotels have been known for illegally filming or monitoring. The holes certainly cause a sense of uneasiness. We tried to plug some of them with tissue, but the fact that you would have to seek out these openings throughout the room and plug them just to feel safe is an unnecessary cause for distress.
I offered the hotel manager an opportunity to come clean and remove the additional bogus charge, but he said he didn’t care and that I should do whatever I like with my review of his establishment. This lack of concern reaction in itself, knowing that he has charged bogus penalties for outragously phony accusations indicates that he/they have very corrupt, immoral, deceitful, unprincipled, dishonest character.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ucdavis_chick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews