We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Hollister, California
1 review
“Mini vacations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Venetian is our favorite Hotel get away. We've stayed in almost each room . We have been coming here for mini vacations since my diagnosis of cancer over 2 years ago. Waking to the sounds of the waves and the birds in the morning is one reason we come back. Also that once we park theres really no need to drive away from the village. It has so much to offer within walking distance. Its a home away from home. Full kitchens and housekeeping service. What more can you ask.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sondra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sondra R,

Thank you so much for your review!

It means the world to us that you’ve chosen the Capitola Venetian to be the setting for your continued mini vacations. We hope it provides a relaxing atmosphere and that the close proximity to nature promotes a healing aspect to your visits.

We are truly touched to be your home away from home and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Capitola Venetian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    20
    4
    13
See reviews for
55
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ahhhh! to stay at The Venetian is like heaven in paradise. Staying right on the beach in these beautiful little places is like staying right on the beach. Convenient, clean, beautiful little places. I love them. They are super clean considering all the sand that folks can track in. It is my favorite vacation spot. I wish I could live there year round. The best part is parking your car and never having to drive anywhere once you are there. Quaint shops in the village. Restaurants and Bars line the ocean with breathtaking views of the ocean. I go ever year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Shawn6666,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review!

We are thrilled that you have come to call our hotel your favorite vacation spot! That means the world to us and we are always so happy to have you.

We look forward to your next annual visit!

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Capitola Venetian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Always stay at the Capitola Venetian Hotel. Rooms are great and include a stocked kitchen, most w/balcony and view of the ocean. Very clean too! Best part is we park our car at hotel on arrival and never get back in it for rest of our 4 day stay. The village is all in walking distance and has fab shops with extremely affordable prices - not junky "tourist" stuff! The Fog has really good live music on weekend nights. We spend our early morning shopping, daytime hours on the beach and evenings dinner out and dancing. When we arrive in town our first destination before checking in is Gayle's Bakery. Yummo! Baked goods are beautiful and offer great deli type food which is amazing. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Request room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim92212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Kim92212,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review!

We are so proud that you continue to choose our hotel as the setting for your vacations!
Whether you’re hitting the beach or hitting the bars (or both!), it’s the perfect place to be and we’re glad you keep coming back.

We have our favorite spots around town as well and the Fog Bank is definitely one of them. And you can’t beat Gayles! Actually, your recommendations are so spot on, we’re surprised you’re not a local!

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Capitola Venetian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Was a little skeptical about my stay at the Capitola Venetian, reading pervious reviews, I was not expecting much. Some made it sound like this place was a total dump, infested with bugs, dirty linens and pots and pans. Fortunatly I had no particular issues with the above mentioned items however there are some serious issue you should be aware of before making a reservation at this hotel.

The Good - The Capitola Venetian is situated right on the beach. While not every single room offers a beach view, the location is great for the hotel. Within a very short walking distance to about everything Capitola. The rooms where fairly clean, outdated, but clean. The linens were clean, and kitchen had everything a weekender would need to get by. The staff was friendly and curtious. Looked for bugs, NADDA. Again, LOCATION is everything for this hotel. We met some people that had been long time visitors to the Hotel, been coming here for years. These long time guests were awsome to meet and had great stories to share, some food and drink as well.

The Bad - PARKING. Being located right at the beach its understandable that space is limeted, but the parking lot is the first downer I noticed, very cramped, tight and hard to get in and out of. The room while good, was outdated and musty. A quick opening of the windows solved that issue. Flat screen TV was nice. NOISE. The Venetian is noisy, plain and simple. If your on the bottom floor and someone closes a door on top floor you WILL hear it. Friday night was quit loud with several racious partiers and we had 2 cases of someone trying to enter our room. WIRELESS INTERNET - They dont have it dont ask. They have wired only.

Bottom Line - If you want to be at the beach this is the place. If you want to grill out, bring it and grill out. If you like to party in your room, this is the place. If you dont mind loud neighbors, this is the place. If you want a peacful relaxing quite time, I would suggest looking someplace else. The value on the Capitola Venetian is based solely on the locaton. Would I stay here again? Maybe, but I would be strongly tempted to look around a little more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jroorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear jroorda,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review!

The Good-Like you said, location is key! We are happy you were able to take advantage of all the natural beauty and great activities that Capitola has to offer. We have some truly fabulous repeat guests and it sounds like you made some unforgettable friends while staying with us.

The Bad-Unfortunately, the nature of the area and the constant flow of tourists result in parking being limited. Ideally, we would love to be able to provide several assigned parking spaces for each room. People often don’t travel in one car and we completely understand that. We do our very best with the space we have. Parking is practically non-existent in Capitola and a reserved space per room is all that we are able to offer. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We just put in wireless internet access throughout our hotel and are constantly making improvements to all aspects of our property.

As far as partying goes, we do not consider our hotel to be a party hotel in any way, shape or form. Some guests tend to be noisier than others, but on the whole, we do not condone excessive noise. We strive to create a relaxing atmosphere for our guests and do our utmost to maintain this calming environment at all times. If our front desk staff is notified about any noise that is bothersome, we will resolve the issue immediately.

Bottom Line-We really appreciate your review and hope that you will indeed consider staying with us again. It sounds like you must have stayed on a bad night, as far as the noise and partying goes. We hope this does not affect your choice of lodging in the future. We want all our guests to have a great experience while staying with us and hope you will give our hotel another go.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Capitola Venetian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

1968 -- three of us college girls rented a room there for Spring Break. I too remember the room was generally "old"... but we were in a really fun place at a fun time in our lives and I would not trade the memories of those days for anything. I wrote this because I just found a stack of postcards - and Messini's Venetian Court Apartments was one of those. Great memories.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear VL F,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

It sounds as if your experience at our hotel was magical, capturing not only a place and time but the feeling behind it. That’s real magic.

There is nothing more valuable than the memories we share. Thank you for sharing your memories with us! It means the world, truly.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Capitola Venetian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I can confirm all of the positive and negative comments here. Here's a summary:

The Good:

- THE BEST location in Capitola. Everything were wanted to do was close by.

- Funcky old California beach ambiance.

- Usable kitchen.

- Good views (though over roof tops).

The not-so-good:

- Expensive. I'd expect a much higher-end accomodation for the price I paid. If they charged half their rate during peak season, it would be fairly priced.

- The condo unit accross the street had a porch light that shined into our room at night.

- I could add more simply because I'd expect much more for the price.

We'll probably return during the off season, or rent one of the beach-front condos from VRBO.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VacTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear VacTripper,

We sincerely appreciate all your input. Our number one priority is the satisfaction of our guests and it is comments like these that help us gauge where we need improvement. Our rates are on the higher end for a variety of reasons. Our rooms are more like small apartments than actual hotel rooms and, like you said, the location speaks for itself.
You were visiting us in summer, which is everyone's peak season, and by far the most expensive time to travel. If you decide to visit us in our off season, you may be pleasantly surprised. We try our very best to keep our prices comparable to other hotels in the area, while taking into consideration the location and amenities provided.
Now that you've stayed with us, we consider you a repeat guest and that makes you eligible to sign up for our repeat guest specials. It's our way of saying thank you to all the lovely folks who come back to visit us year after year. You can sign up in person at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Capitola Venetian for our anniversary, expecting to get what we paid for -- but instead, we got a room with bed bugs (or some other kind of flea/lice bug). We noticed it the first night we arrived, and spent the entire night in bed itching and scratching. By morning, we had to check out early only to spend the rest of the day de-lousing ourselves with RID, disinfecting our clothes, our suitcases -- everything, to ensure we didn't introduce the bug into our home. My skin is still burning. Not exactly the anniversary celebration we were anticipating. The hotel staff seemed rather blase about the whole thing and said they've "never had a problem before," rather than acknowledging this as a very serious health issue that will impact future guests.

Room Tip: Our "oceanview room" actually looked out onto a rooftop. The bird nest over our door made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BethAnneE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartfieldGroup, Owner Representative at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Capitola Venetian. We especially apologize for the fact that you didn't think we were taking your problem seriously. We pride ourselves on keeping the highest quality of cleanliness and customer service satisfaction. If you are the guest who stayed on 8/4/12, which I assume you are since your complaint is the only one we have ever received of this type, I called you the Monday morning after your stay to discuss the issue. At that time, I explained that our staff inspected the room after you checked out and could not find any infestation. On Monday, I personally inspected the mattress, pillows, carpet and curtains and couldn't find any evidence of any kind of infestation or bug remnants of any kind. We take that sort of thing very seriously here. I honestly don't know what caused the problem you reported, but I could not find anything in the room to account for it. We strive to create the perfect experience for our guests and, though we couldn't find any evidence of an infestation, we happily discounted your rate. Your anniversary is important to us because it's important to you. We truly pride ourselves on taking complete care of our guests and though we were unable to detect an issue with the room, your opinion is extremely important to us.
Once again, I want to express our most sincere apology for this unpleasant experience.

Regards,

Duane
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitola By-the-Sea Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monarch Cove Inn
Monarch Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Capitola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitola Venetian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitola Venetian Hotel

Property: Capitola Venetian Hotel
Address: 1500 Wharf Road, Capitola, CA 95010
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitola Venetian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitola Venetian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing