We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monarch Cove Inn
Nearby Hotels
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Depot Hill(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$319
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Venetian Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$204
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Seacliff Inn(Aptos)(Great Value!)
$190
$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveler rating
242
76
20
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
76
20
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian roompastriesthe ocean view roomocean mistcarriage housecontinental breakfastcapitola villagebeautiful settingholiday housebutterfly roomresidential neighborhoodeach morningrose garden suitethe cottagesoverlooking monterey baythe cliffbay window
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 355 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Monarch Cove Inn is beautifully situated on the bluff over looking Capitola. It is a beautiful and somewhat easy walk to the beach. The views are gorgeous from the main house. We stayed in a studio cottage in the back that had a private deck and yard. There was also a hot tub (not advertised) but it wasn't functioning.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The Inn provides a beautiful tray of pastries that can't be resisted, as well as yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. We asked for extra coffee and they happily brought it for us.

I don't know how the main house is, and it may be very different from the cottages, but I was surprised that the towels, curtains and bedding were most likely purchased from Target. The carpet was worn and smelled like cat. The window sills were dusty and the bath was worn. I was under the impression that pride of ownership was missing as least in that cottage.

Regardless of that, the weekend and time spent in Capitola was wonderful.

Room Tip: Don't book the studio cottage.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank carolyn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place was pretty fabulous. We stayed only one night, but the experience was so relaxing and peaceful. The location is beautiful. It must be one of the only places where you can sit up in bed and see panoramic views of the ocean (and pelicans, and sea otters). The grounds had well-tended gardens and fruit trees all over. The continental breakfast delivered to our door was very good. It was just a few minutes walking along the cliffs to get to Capitola Village where we ate dinner oceanside. My only complaint is that it took the hot water forever to get to our bathroom. And then, when it did arrive, the cold water faucet didn't appear to work very well, so the shower became scalding. Overall, this place is heavenly, though. The photos on their website are true to life. It's really that beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Beautiful location. Amazing staff. Perfect weather. Ideal for an outdoor wedding!

Stayed for a weekend wedding, and had the time of my life.

Property is hidden, but a true gem! Would definitely go back.

Stayed in Monarch Grove room. Could see the ocean in my bed, surrounded by gardens and nature.

LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Monarch Grove Room!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AimeeMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I recently visited the Monarch Cove Inn for a friends wedding. This place is a true GEM!! The grounds are kept in pristine condition, and the rooms are quite beautiful and spacious. When you are here, you feel like you are royalty. I loved walking around and seeing what plants were growing, and checking out the different rooms. The view is by far the best!

Breakfast is brought to your room every morning and it's quite delicious! The staff at Monarch Cove Inn make you feel like family. I recommend this place for anyone going to Capitola.

Room Tip: The Hideaway room has a private hot tub and private patio area. All of the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Monarch Cove Inn is just one of those hidden gems of you have to experience at least once! Whether it be a romantic weekend get away, an anniversary, having your wedding there (what we did) or just unplugging for a bit the Monarch is a one of a kind experience. It boasts one of the best views on the Norther California coast, the B&B has true vintage character, an excellent friendly staff and an overall good energy about it. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews