We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Capitola”
Review of Monarch Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monarch Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Monarch Cove Inn is beautifully situated on the bluff over looking Capitola. It is a beautiful and somewhat easy walk to the beach. The views are gorgeous from the main house. We stayed in a studio cottage in the back that had a private deck and yard. There was also a hot tub (not advertised) but it wasn't functioning.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The Inn provides a beautiful tray of pastries that can't be resisted, as well as yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. We asked for extra coffee and they happily brought it for us.

I don't know how the main house is, and it may be very different from the cottages, but I was surprised that the towels, curtains and bedding were most likely purchased from Target. The carpet was worn and smelled like cat. The window sills were dusty and the bath was worn. I was under the impression that pride of ownership was missing as least in that cottage.

Regardless of that, the weekend and time spent in Capitola was wonderful.

Room Tip: Don't book the studio cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank carolyn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 338 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place was pretty fabulous. We stayed only one night, but the experience was so relaxing and peaceful. The location is beautiful. It must be one of the only places where you can sit up in bed and see panoramic views of the ocean (and pelicans, and sea otters). The grounds had well-tended gardens and fruit trees all over. The continental breakfast delivered to our door was very good. It was just a few minutes walking along the cliffs to get to Capitola Village where we ate dinner oceanside. My only complaint is that it took the hot water forever to get to our bathroom. And then, when it did arrive, the cold water faucet didn't appear to work very well, so the shower became scalding. Overall, this place is heavenly, though. The photos on their website are true to life. It's really that beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Beautiful location. Amazing staff. Perfect weather. Ideal for an outdoor wedding!

Stayed for a weekend wedding, and had the time of my life.

Property is hidden, but a true gem! Would definitely go back.

Stayed in Monarch Grove room. Could see the ocean in my bed, surrounded by gardens and nature.

LOVE THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Monarch Grove Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AimeeMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I recently visited the Monarch Cove Inn for a friends wedding. This place is a true GEM!! The grounds are kept in pristine condition, and the rooms are quite beautiful and spacious. When you are here, you feel like you are royalty. I loved walking around and seeing what plants were growing, and checking out the different rooms. The view is by far the best!

Breakfast is brought to your room every morning and it's quite delicious! The staff at Monarch Cove Inn make you feel like family. I recommend this place for anyone going to Capitola.

Room Tip: The Hideaway room has a private hot tub and private patio area. All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Monarch Cove Inn is just one of those hidden gems of you have to experience at least once! Whether it be a romantic weekend get away, an anniversary, having your wedding there (what we did) or just unplugging for a bit the Monarch is a one of a kind experience. It boasts one of the best views on the Norther California coast, the B&B has true vintage character, an excellent friendly staff and an overall good energy about it. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I just stayed at the Monarch Cove Inn for 2 nights, went to the Shadowbrook for a wedding. The Monarch is off the road, in the back, so it is nice and quiet, but you can easily walk to downtown, which is a bonus, not having to park in town .Monarch has ample parking. We stayed in a separate cottage in the back, queen size bed, great bathroom, private deck with a table and chairs and a small kitchen, everything was there, dishes, etc., tv, free wifi, the bed linens and bath towels were high quality, and they bring you breakfast to your room each morning. Room was immaculate, and flowers and a candy dish in the kitchen. We enjoyed having a refrigerator in the kitchen, could store snacks, wine, etc., We loved being able to sit out on the deck and have our privacy. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like having extra space, via a private deck, and can sleep with the doors open, one of their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. They responded quickly and with great attitudes to any thing we requested.
Their mattresses are awesome. Best I've slept on in a hotel/inn setting. Want one of those in my home

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kimpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.5 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
4.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Depot Hill
Inn at Depot Hill
#2 of 4 in Capitola
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Cove Inn

Address: 620 El Salto Dr, Capitola, CA 95010-3459
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range: $138 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monarch Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monarch Cove Inn is located on historic Depot Hill in Capitola, California. Poised on an ocean cliff, the Monarch Cove Inn looks out onto the breathtaking curve of Monterey Bay. Accommodations are intimately nestled among flower filled gardens and a monarch butterfly habitat. Enjoy a memorable stay on our 2.5 acre estate with uniquely appointed Victorian guestrooms and cottages, which are a thoughtful blend of yesterday and today. We are conveniently located within walking distance to Capitola Village. You can also stroll along the eucalyptus-lined pathway through the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary that leads to New Brighton State Beach. Breakfast is served to your room daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Monarch Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Cove Hotel Capitola
Monarch Cove Inn Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing