We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”
Review of Monarch Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monarch Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed in the Ocean Mist suite. The views and staff were wonderful. It was very close walking distance to Capitola Village. The bed was extremely comfortable, I'd definitely stay there again, with just my wife, or the whole family!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 321 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Lilac Room which was SO cozy! We loved the location, our view was amazing, & breakfast was delicious! My parents bought us a gift certificate for Christmas for a free night and paid peak season price but because we went in January there was a $60 difference between peak and off season pricing, the hotel could've pocketed that $60 when I made my reservation without me even knowing but instead she gave us a dinner voucher for a three course dinner in downtown Capitola! That to me was a huge bonus... The little things go a long way!!! We loved our stay and Highly recommend staying here... You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatDeAvila7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in the Victorian room which was absolutely perfect. The hotel is on a secluded spot overlooking the ocean. Close enough to Capitola to explore the town but in a spot that felt like you were miles away from everyone.
We had a huge room with a fireplace, frig, coffee maker and a huge breakfast delivered to our room every morning.
We also ordered the Night in Paradise special which included dinner at the Paradise Grill. What a treat. The food was excellent and we were treated like royalty!
I would recommend the Monarch Cove in to everyone! Words cannot convey how fabulous our stay was there.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jowilson421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I were married at the Monarch Cove in a few years ago and it's beauty has not changed. The view was amazing and it was great to get a chance to relax and take it all in this time. The staff has always been incredibly friendly and responsive, truly wanting to make sure you are comfortable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We loved are stay at the Monarch. We had the 2 bedroom cottage that was spacious with a great patio and private hot tub. Perfect location, close enough to walk to the village but far enough away to be a quiet refuge. Loved watching the butterflies and enjoyed breakfast delivered to our room. Our dog loved it too! HIGHLY recommend the Monarch!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L-P-J-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A charming place to stay. Stunning views. More homey and warm than a hotel and in one of the nicest neighborhoods in Capitola. You will feel like you live there. Friendly people. Makes for a lovely getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janahn875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was a very charming location with beautiful views. There were two couples in my group and we stayed in the 2 bedroom Ocean Suite. We had a great time socializing in the living area, then had our comfortable separate bedrooms at night. Continental breakfast is delivered at this B&B and ours was brought promptly at 9am as we had requested. The views are spectacular. The only drawback is the very thin walls. Our downstairs neighbors turned their TV on at 2 am and since I'm a light sleeper it did wake me up. Maybe bring a set of earplugs, just in case.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladydoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.5 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
0.3 mi away
Inn at Depot Hill
Inn at Depot Hill
#2 of 4 in Capitola
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Cove Inn

Address: 620 El Salto Dr, Capitola, CA 95010-3459
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range: $138 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monarch Cove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monarch Cove Inn is located on historic Depot Hill in Capitola, California. Poised on an ocean cliff, the Monarch Cove Inn looks out onto the breathtaking curve of Monterey Bay. Accommodations are intimately nestled among flower filled gardens and a monarch butterfly habitat. Enjoy a memorable stay on our 2.5 acre estate with uniquely appointed Victorian guestrooms and cottages, which are a thoughtful blend of yesterday and today. We are conveniently located within walking distance to Capitola Village. You can also stroll along the eucalyptus-lined pathway through the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary that leads to New Brighton State Beach. Breakfast is served to your room daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Monarch Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Cove Hotel Capitola
Monarch Cove Inn Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing