We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good value”
Review of Shadowbrook

Shadowbrook
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Capitola Rd.
ashland or.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“surprisingly good value”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

this place is a one of a kind beauty. the garden, the décor, the funicular, the decks overlooking the river. the food is wonderful. never really wanted to spend the money to take my kids (now adults) there but I saw the specials on their web site and decided to give it a try. my daughter and I went to happy hour in the rock room here. the value was great. they had a 2for1 appetizer special and also a drink special. we ordered a pizza and the boars ribs off the appetizer list and had two cocktails everything was delicious and we left completely full for $36 including the tip

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hartnhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    191
    60
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shadowbrook”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you have never been to the Shadow Brook it is a real good reason to come to Capitola. Make your reservation, spend the day at the beach,then go up the hill to Shadowbrook.Take the stairs down to the restraunt walking through a wonderful landscape. Food and the service are fine. The whole experienceis great. GO! My opinion is colered by the fact we go theremore than twenty times a year.We will be there tonight also last Sunday

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiburon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“what a pl;ace, sort magic like”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Food and service was very good. But the lay out, and all the little rooms, and outdoor decks,
plus the warm design makes it a must see and experience it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwardTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Delightful Splurge”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We took a few minutes before entering to view the landscape, which was beautiful. We had reservations and were seated quickly. We were surprised that the person seating us did not provide us dinner menus, so we had to wait a while for the waiter to bring them to us. We ordered a bottle of wine and the spring rolls for an appetizer. The spring rolls were absolutely delicious. The waiter was very knowledgeable about all of the entrees. Our meal was wonderful, and the dining room had great ambiance. The dessert menu looked fabulous, but we were so full from dinner, we could not indulge. Maybe next time. A side note...a bit expensive, but well worth every penny, especially if you are celebrating a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingwilburys07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique dinning with five star service and food.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you have never been to the Shadow Brook it is a Bucket list item that needs to be fulfilled.
We dined last Saturday night the service was outstanding, Food was inline with the service.
Can say enough good things about the whole experience.
GO!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank motoair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shadowbrook also viewed

 

Been to Shadowbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing