We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite restaurants ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadowbrook

Shadowbrook
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Capitola Rd.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Shadowbrook is an amazing restaurant. It's beautiful. The food is incredible. The staff is great. The perfect place for a romantic dinner or special occasion. We also just had our daughter's wedding and reception there and it was perfect in every way.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliMom6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    179
    57
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have been here many times over the last 30 years and went this time with some family
members who had never been. Beautiful gardens on the walk down to the restaurant and
a lively atmosphere at the bar. We were seated on the second level of this beautifully crafted
wooden interior building. It looks like something swiss in some areas and the inside of a boat
in other areas. The food and service was great as usual. The tables seem a little crowded at times and the noise level is kind of loud but they are very good at getting the food out and checking to see if things are OK. Good for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JiuJitsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Elegant with delicious food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

First time I have been here. Had fried artichoke hearts for an appetizer and prime rib for entrée. Delicious food! Great service! elegant atmosphere. Took the trolley down the hill to enter, you could walk down a lot of stairs if you preferred! lol.

definitely a place for that special occasion. A must to try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I had dinner on a Monday night here, got to the restaurant at 6:00pm before the sun set. We walked down the steps through the garden area which was quite lovely, caught the little tram back up the hill after dinner. Food was wonderful, better than I expected since this is a 'touristy' kind of restaurant. Service was excellent, water was poured, plates and cutlery cleared in an efficient and non-intrusive manner, bus-persons interacted with us in a humorous manner. We had an excellent evening, and would go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlettsdesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Site of wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely setting, delicious food and gracious staff for such an occasion. Everyone seemed to have a good experience, especially and most importantly, the bride and groom!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jvdsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shadowbrook also viewed

 

Been to Shadowbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing