We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee”
Review of Verve Coffee

Verve Coffee
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Los Altos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went there on a rainy day. It was a great tasting Americano. I tried a sip of another coffee (Concepcion?) from my son who is a coffee afficianado. Nice setting to have coffee on a rainy day.

I like my coffee hot. I wish I had told them in advance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docLosAltos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Three Great Locations for the Best Coffee”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Verve is a local firm which roasts all their own blends between trips on the waves. It has the original shop in Capitola, another roastery and shop and a large relatively new location on Santa Cruz' main drag. Each is excellent, good beans, well roasted, skilled barristas and a good atmosphere. The places to go for coffee.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rossbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
“Sooo disappointing but still great coffee”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Perhaps caught the staff on a bad day, however they seemed to be badly disorganized, we literally waited 15 minutes for two americano's with only five or six people in front of us. We also wanted to buy beans, trying to find the beans they were brewing that day I couldn't see them, upon asking one of the girls where I might find them she replied "they should be there" and walked away. We ended up buying random beans, was asked if we wanted a bag to carry the beans in as we were buying a few bags, they ran all over the shop trying to find a bag nobody seemed to know where they were. The americanos however were amazing when we finally got them, however they don't have the technology to make one any larger than a 12oz ??

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mega1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I hate to say...but I was a bit disappointed with their whole beans recently purchased. I had heard and read a lot of positive reviews, but I found the beans to be very average..Peete's and Starbucks are superior.. In addition, @$15 per 12 oz bag----way too $$$.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soifdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
“Award-Winning Coffee”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place not only has a relaxed, hip atmosphere, but the staff is great! Really welcoming and sincere. The coffee is absolutely amazing and they have won several awards for their coffee skills at national competitions as proven by the trophies that were on display. Really great find and worth the detour. They also have an incredible showroom cafe downtown and a really cool coffee bar at their roastery where you can see all of the action. Also, this shop is only a couple blocks from an amazing surf overlook where we walked after we grabbed our coffees and a beautiful kid's hot chocolate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Volmistral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verve Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Verve Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing