We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a free night from our Marriott rewards and decided to get out of town. We only stayed 1 night but it was a very nice hotel. Our daughter loved the giant jelly hanging in the lobby. I loved the big room with a nice living space. We had a great night sleep, enjoyed the breakfast the next morning and headed off for our beach adventures. I've already told my sisters that we should get all out families together and hit the beach this summer, and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 378 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

My family of 5 were staying at a hotel within walking distance of Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. After staying one night, we did not like it so I searched and found this place for less. It's a short 5 minute drive from the boardwalk, but worth it.

We were greeted by a friendly desk clerk. She said our room with a balcony was not available yet, but offered us a free upgrade to a similar room, except it's in the courtyard. Well, who was I to refuse the offer.

After check in, we walked around the lobby because there was some fascinating decor. It reminded me of the Bellagio's lighted glasswork in their lobby, but at a smaller scale. Wonderful place to lounge. Upstairs in the mezzanine is the breakfast area. Every morning we enjoyed making our own waffles. The selection for fruits, cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt and hot breakfast was wonderful. They also offer a brown bag with a ready meal downstairs for those who just need to grab and go.

We went to park our minivan in the parking area below the hotel. Very tight parking spots, but I made it fit by backing in to a spot. You have to be very careful if you have a large vehicle, mostly if other cars do not park in the middle of their spot. And if you come back at night, it's hard to find a spot. But we were fortunate to always find one to squeeze into.

We always need a 2 Queen plus Sofa sleeper. The room was spread out nicely with the sofa sleeper in its own area with a desk and TV. The glass door lead to the courtyard, which was great for our 3 and 7 year olds to run around. Laundry room was down the hall.

There's a building with a work out room with treadmills and exercise equipment. The swimming pool was heated and towels are provided in a bin. Even through it was 55 degrees at night, the pool was warm enough to enjoy.

We had a great 3 day stay. This is now our favorite place to stay in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiibeachnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Perfect hotel for a family visit! Free breakfast, spacious clean new-looking rooms! Very friendly staff. Well located. This hotel has a bar/lounge and a small pantry to buy snacks and essentials. The lobby is beautiful! I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pthughes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Welcomed warmly at front desk. Very helpful. Room very large and layout very homey. Very clean. Very good breakfast. If they just had softer sheets and thicker towels I would have given them five stars!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giraffe0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The service is good at the front desk, laundry room is clean but has opening and closing hours, rooms and bathroom are huge enough. Underground secure carpark for guests. Complimentary breakfast is nice to have.

Room Tip: top floor, back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a very new, very clean and well-run property. Friendly service front desk and breakfast room. We found it to be the most quiet hotel we have ever stayed in. We were in room 328 on the back side.

The decor is light and airy nautical theme. The underground secure parking is bonus. Great location to Capitola and Santa Cruz if you are driving. Doable walk to beach at 41st Ave.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingnoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We spent 5 nights here so knew the place well by the end of our stay. We appreciated that it was clean, new,and well-maintained. The manager went out of his way to check in with us and make sure all was well. Location was convenient with good shopping within walking distance, nearby beaches, and an easy drive to Santa Cruz. Room was comfy and good layout. We will stay here again. It was a good place to retreat after a busy day - felt like home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teemu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#2 of 4 in Capitola
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola

Address: 1255 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-3911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range: $136 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola Hotel Capitola
Fairfield Inn And Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing