We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, New, Comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Calif
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, New, Comfortable hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at this Marriott property three times in the past year. The first time was just the wife and I for our anniversary in Feb 2012. Unfortunately we were having such a good time partying with friends all day in Santa Cruz & Capitola that we checked in very late that night and found all the regular rooms occupied. We ended up with a handicap accessible room which wasn't what I wanted for a romantic night, no offense folks. The second time we stayed with family and friends in multiple rooms for New Years Eve and everyone was impressed with the property. The third time was this past weekend again for our anniversary and this time we checked in late again but I was able to call & hold a room that had a fireplace and Jacuzzi bath. This is what I wanted for a romantic stay! The gas fireplace was directly in front of the bed with a flat screen above the mantel. The living room area had a sofa bed with another flat screen to view. There is also an office desk and chair for your use. There is a separate area with a small frig and microwave that also has a coffee maker. Our bathroom had a large double head walk in shower with wall to ceiling tile. There was a large 2 person Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom that has a view of the living room television if you open up the plantation shutters that are in a window frame with no window. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very well maintained. This property is only a few years old and centrally located. There are three floors of rooms with an underground gated parking lot. The lobby is on 1st level with a small convenience area that sells snacks, beverages including beer & wine. There is also a lounge that has alcohol but no food. Near the lobby is a small business center area with computers, printers, etc. This are also has a seating area to hang out and read or talk. In the morning there is a large dining area with free food. There is also an outdoor balcony patio area with comfortable seating to enjoy the nice weather. The morning food consists of bagels, English muffins, coffee cake muffins, whole fruits, yogurts, milk, OJ, cranberry juice, water, coffee, boiled eggs, sausage and or bacon with egg Jimmy Dean biscuits, cereals, make your own huge waffles and all the fixings! This property has everything you could need for a family or a couples getaway. The check out time was noon and the price for rooms is pretty fair. We spent the day in Santa Cruz at clam chowder cook off and then had to drive home to San Jose for sports event before coming back to check into room. We used a cab to get to Capitola Village/pier where we had one of the best dinners at Paradise Beach & Grill. (See my review on dinner)We then had a nice time listening to a live band while enjoying more cocktails at Zelda’s near Margaretville. The cab ride to and from was $10 including tip each way. FYI do not use Yellow Cab as the driver was a foreigner who had no clue where the pier was. Why and the heck is he driving a cab if he has no clue of the area? We had to use our phone GPS to guide him from the hotel to the village which was only a few miles away. Santa Cruz is only about 4 miles away and the hotel is near lots of shopping and eateries. We enjoy a nice clean property so we give this place 5 stars! We highly recommend this hotel and please do tip house cleaning as they work very hard to keep the place looking good! Hope this review helps you decide to try it out.

Room Tip: For couples celebrating special occasion call two weeks ahead to upgrade to fireplace suite. For fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drinkwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    101
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
152
109
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It may be the very best Marriott hotel in that price range (and I've used many other Marriott's and other hotels before). Very clean, new, quiet, nice modern interior, good service, good location... I stayed in a room with fireplace and big jacuzzi tub, and I enjoyed watching TV in the living room from the tub! Parking was very nice too (underground with a gate).

Very pleasant experience. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at the Fairfield Inn in January. The rooms were great and attractively decorated. Since all the rooms are suites, it's gives children and adults their own semi-private space with televisions included. The machines in the exercise room were in great working condition and the pool and hot tub were enjoyed by our kids. The breakfast is self serve and offers lots of choices. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The motel is in a great location and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and the beach. I've already booked there again for a future visit.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, and they were very accommodating by giving us a quiet room located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishes4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was my husband's and my first visit to Capitola-by-the-sea and one made more enjoyable by the Fairfield Inn and Suites there. The staff were very pleasant and we loved our room. We had a separate sitting area with nice couches and TV and desk area and then a good sized bedroom with closet. Since we'd been in the car we decided to walk to the Esplanades area and have dinner. We got quite turned around but the Hotel is in a good location and if you do want to stretch your legs for about 20 min. you can actually walk to a great restaurant area. Breakfast was the standard yogurt in the fridge, heat up a egg/bacon sandwich in the microwave but it came with the price of the room and totally fuelled us for the drive ahead. Loved the succulents growing in the gardens and in the urns at the entranceway to the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hotel is centrally located, near Whole Food, Rocky's gym (fabulous local gym), and little shops and mall.

We had a junior suite, with a separate sitting area, fridge, microwave.

Breakfast was more than I expected for this level of hotel. There were eggs, waffles, oatmeal, etc.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TynaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband was invited down for a interview with a local company so the company booked us in here. We were very pleased with the hotel; new, clean, great amenities including pool, hot tub (both outdoor), fitness room, great breakfast (waffle, boiled eggs, breakfast sandwiches, yoghurt, fruit etc), close to mall, restaurants and even a movie theater.
We may need to return to Capitola again and we will certainly book to stay at this hotel again! Would recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RentonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a nice surprise. The hotel was very nice. Clean, comfortable, good size suites and great staff. Really comfortable and affordable. Bar in hotel as well. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Best Western Seacliff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
Address: 1255 41st Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-3911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz-Capitola Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing