We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed & breakfast!”
Review of Inn at Depot Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Depot Hill
Ranked #2 of 4 Capitola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cameron Park, California
1 review
“Great bed & breakfast!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the Inn at Depot Hill for our anniversary. It is walking distance of downtown Capitola's great shops & restaurants and the beach. The staff was fabulous, very friendly and helpful. The inn offers different theme rooms. We chose the Capitola beach theme which was spacious, decorated beautifully with a fireplace & four poster bed. Every morning we had breakfast delivered to our room which was absolutely delicious. A main course, fresh croissants, fresh fruit, coffee, and juice. In the evening they offered appetizers and wine, and when we returned from going out to dinner, there was dessert and also wine if we chose. One evening chocolate covered strawberries were served! The whole experience was wonderful. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogs432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    24
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
174
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the inn for two nights in early October. At the onset, the Inn's staff welcomed us warmly, showing the room and accomodations. The room itself was very large: complete with a fireplace, large outdoor tub and terrific bathroom with double shower heads. Each afternoon, the Inn offers wine and appetizers and serves a nightly dessert too! Breakfast was great: each day offering 2 choices. Yum!

While not on the water, the Inn is just blocks from downtown Capitola, near the beach and cute shops. Capitola itself is very convenient to outdoor activities: we hiked one day in Santa Cruz (Wilder Ranch offers terrific views) and kayaked the next day at Elkhorn Slough.

Two days helped rejuvenate our spirits, we look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private patios and hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZionHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here Sat 9/24, the night before I was to participate in a duathlon- the Mermaid Triathlon/Duathlon taking place in Capitola. At first, the room price seemed pretty steep, but the convenience in location convinced me to book. And I'm so glad I did! Lauren at the front desk was very friendly, and so supportive when she found out about the race. My room was ready, so I was able to check in early and enjoy the cozy ambiance of the room at patio. Just a short walk away was Capitola Village with numerous restaurants and shops. From 5-7 pm the inn serves delicious hors d'oevres including an amazing stuffed mushroom dish. Yum! Also, wine and sherry. It was incredibly quiet, the bed was comfortable, and I was disappointed to have to get up so early for the race and miss a much talked about breakfast. Lauren was there in the morning to give encouragement and offer an early breakfast before the race, as well as letting me check out a bit late. She also surprised me with a congratulatory bottle of wine which was very nice. All in all, my stay was wonderful and I'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HulaGirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Inn At Depot Hill was a perfect choice for a romantic get away. It couldn't have been a more perfect honeymoon. From the moment of our arrival my husband and I were well taken care. The staff were very accommodating. We were offered chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne or sparkling cider. We were served a four star breakfast that was brought to our room at our choice of time. The Inn is conveniently located with a five minute walk away from the beach. It's just around the corner from stores and restaurants. It's expensive per night but well worth it. I would recommend checking in early so you have more time to enjoy the room. My husband and I hope to go back again and again.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Valencia Suite. It has an electric fireplace, a nice dinning room area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at this B & B in July. It was a great location & fabulous place to stay. We wished we had reserved another night. We were not familiar with the location (Being from SC) so we only reserved one night. But it was great and we loved the location-just a short walk to the beach. If we are ever back in CA, we will surely make this one of our stops!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qui222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

First off, I would like to make it known that I did not book a room at the Inn at Depot Hill. The customer service on the phone turned me off and I did not book with them. I called on August 30 to inquire about their rooms and rates. I spoke with a reservation agent called Loraina (not sure if the spelling is right) and she was very unhelpful. She said she did not have the time to go over it with me on the phone and told me to go to their website for answers to all my questions. I am the sort who likes to deal with a "live" person, I do not book anything online. I was very disappointed with the level of service I received. Especially after reading so many nice reviews from TripAdvisor and Yelp.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no. california
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The previous review was unduly harsh. We have been staying here for over 15 years and love it!! We were there in June and John was more than helpful! Come on....it's a short walk to the front desk to obtain coffee cups......we ALWAYS eat breakast in the dining room or on the patio.......so nice to visit with other guests. It's your own fault for sleeping until 10:45 am!!!! There are so many "pluses" to the Inn on Depot Hill.........wonderful cheese and wine in the afternoons, dessert after 8:00 pm; in all our years of staying at the Inn, we have never run across picky, petty guests. That's why we keep coming back!!!! Julie

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitola
0.2 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitola By-The-Sea Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Capitola Venetian Hotel
Capitola Venetian Hotel
#4 of 4 in Capitola
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Cruz - Capitola
4.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rio Sands Hotel
Rio Sands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aptos
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Depot Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Depot Hill

Property: Inn at Depot Hill
Address: 250 Monterey Ave, Capitola, CA 95010-3358
Location: United States > California > Capitola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Capitola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Depot Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the beach in the quaint, Mediterranean-style resort of Capitola-by-the-Sea, this AAA 4-diamond rated inn boasts 12 uniquely designed guest rooms and suites, each with its own fireplace, and many featuring private patios with hot tubs. Guests enjoy a full gourmet breakfast each morning served in the main salon or delivered right to your room. Enjoy afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, and our delicious homemade desert in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Inn at Depot Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Depot Hill Hotel Capitola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing