We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple and clean hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Ban Punmanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ban Punmanus
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A simple and clean hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am currently teaching English in Krabi and have been staying at Ban Punmanus for almost 6 months. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, for either solo travelers, groups or families, or even if you plan to stay in Krabi long term, like myself.

The hotel is cleaned from top to bottom every day, and the rooms are big and spacious with AC, hot water and a nice balcony.

The Staff are so welcoming and friendly, and this was one deciding factor for why I decided to stay at this particular hotel for a long time.

I've read a few reviews bringing up the distance from the hotel to the town centre, let me tell you this, it shouldn't be a problem if you don't mind walking 10 minutes! It is such a short walk, and you can even take a short cut through the adjacent gates towards the temple to get into town quicker.

So, if you're looking for cheap, simple and clean acommodation, Ban Punmanus is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
51
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent one night here, before flying back home. The place offers spacious and clean rooms, with a good night's sleep, as the surroundings are very quiet. The owner was very helpful and arranged an airport taxi for us as we were flying early.

It's also a good place to explore Krabi Town, even if it is not right in the center, because the walk to the center takes only about 10-15 minutes. You can also cut across the temple area, just behind the hotel, which will shorten the walk a little (the temple and the surroundings are worth visiting anyway).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dweR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had one night to spend in Krabi Town before an early flight out the next morning, so we decided to head for the night markets. We chose Ban Punmanus (pronounced Ban Panmanù locally) because of its proximity to the markets. It took us just 10 minutes on foot to get there, with plenty of food and shopping en route as well. You can ask at reception for a map of the area with landmarks clearly indicated. For those interested in the markets, there is one mainly for food and fruits, and a larger market 5 minutes away on foot, which sells everything from clothes to art and food. We had dinner at the smaller market before taking a walk at the larger one.

The lady owner Umanat is always genial and ready to help with whatever. She booked us places on the local airport shuttle for just 90bht per person. (In the shuttle the next day a guy came without a pre-booked ticket and was charged 100bht.) An airport taxi shuttle for 1-3 pax can also be booked through the hotel for 350bht. Reception is 24-hours, and the free Wifi was splendid, both in speed and reception. We stayed at the end of the hallway in a massive room and had no problems using the internet at all. They seem to have modems on each floor.

As for the room, we found it spotless, i.e. the tiles were literally gleaming. The place smelled fresh and well-ventilated, with choice for air-conditioning or a fan. We had a double bed but the room could easily fit two double beds as it was that large. We didn't spend time on the balcony, but the view was of a thick bamboo-forest cover. Early in the morning we awoke to sounds of crickets and birdsong. What a nice way to get up! No mozzie problems at all.

The only downside of our stay was the hot water in the shower, which for some reason didn't come on despite hot water being indicated. Unfortunately this was at 11pm and I wasn't in the mood for calling for help at that time, so we chanced a quick, cold, rinse and went to bed. The bed was slightly creaky but firm, and provided for a pleasant rest. For breakfast we had mango rice, bought the night before from the market and stored in the room'a fridge. Checkout was fuss free and we caught the airport shuttle right on time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

It was a nice suprice for us!we spend 2 nights in the hotel thaskin in krabi and were dissapointed...after that we changed to ban punmamus amd were very happy. A nice room with the fridge,air condition, tv and bathroom and it wad very clean! The location is the best-very quiet by buddist tempel, 500 m from 7!11 and the main road where you can cath the bus to Ao Nang. The lady on the reception wad verry helpfull for us!!!the best employer and mother in one!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank boniekb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nice budget place 10 min. walk from city centre in quiet surroundings. The room is very clean, has a fridge and you get a bottle of water. Only thai channels on the tv.
A minus is the polyester towels.

Friendly and helpful staff, they provided me with a better towel, when I asked for it.
Helpful with booking ferry and airport transport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facebookSiwkarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We tried to make a reservation at many guesthouses the day before our arrival in Krabi but most places were fully booked. Then we stumbled across this gem of a place and were so happy we did. The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk from Krabi town centre which could be the only negative if you prefer somewhere in the thick of it but for us it wasn't a problem as we only stayed one night. The room was excellent value, it was spacious, super clean and had air-con. The shower had hot water but realistically it was only warm, could have been a bit hotter. The lady that runs the place was soooo friendly and nice, she even picked us up from the town centre when we called to ask for directions. Definitely recommend this place for a cheap but decent hotel in Krabi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

we bought just 2 nights at this hotel but extended to 5 nights after all. The location on good, you can rent a motorbike for 200 Bahts a day, the staff is super friendly and helpful and the rooms spacious. Never tried a breakfast, but whatever you want- the people there would do everything to please you. I recommend this hotel to every one. It is not close to the sea but you can easily drive there if you want to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat_the_Highlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pak Nam
0.6 mi away
Dee Andaman Hotel
Dee Andaman Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pak Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hop Inn Krabi
Hop Inn Krabi
#37 of 182 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pak-Up Hostel
Pak-Up Hostel
#3 of 306 in Krabi Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hogwarts Hostel
Hogwarts Hostel
#7 of 27 in Pak Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amity Poshtel
Amity Poshtel
#12 of 27 in Pak Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Punmanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Punmanus

Property: Ban Punmanus
Address: 122, Baan Punmanus, Soi Nathvithi, Pak Nam, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Pak Nam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pak Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban Punmanus 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BanPunmanus offers simple and affordable rooms. Located in Krabi town, it is a 5-minute drive to Klong Jirad Pier, which offers ferries to Phi Phi Island, Lanta Island and Jum Island. Free parking and Wi-Fi is available. Fan or Air-conditioned rooms have a TV, fridge and en suite bathrooms with hot showers. Ao Nang Beach is a 20-minute drive away and the city centre and Vogue Shopping Centre is only a 5-minute drive. BanPunmanus is 20 km from Krabi Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ban Punmanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Punmanus Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing