We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Votsala
Nearby Hotels
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lesvion(Mytilene)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$102
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Sea Hotel(Mytilene)
$124
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Motel Nikos(Mytilene)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elysion Hotel(Neapoli)
$119
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
80
9
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
9
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsregular guestsoverlooking the seahot watercooking lessondaphnemytiliniethosislandlesvosgreeksupportseaside
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 94 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I spoke with ATBW during the walk (it was announced as little walk/stroll - not a tour) and he was very pleased from the walk and impressed from the beauty of the landscape and the little destination town Agioassos. 
The beauty of the landscape, the gorgeousness of the village made that little walk for me unforgettable. In particular the explanations from Iannis and his daughter about the nature and the Greeks helped me to understand the greek island culture and the traditions better and to feel at least a little as a part of the inhabitants. 

As a remark beside: Iannis was also talking about a refugee camp in Agioassos for adolescent from near east and explaining their situation (the walk started by the camp); refugees for whose the votsala-team shows interest and takes care in a special way.

Daphne and Iannis are very kind and helpful and they always cared about the well-being of their guests. I think it would be just fair to talk to them in person if there are issues to complain about. That is at least my expectation to a fair contact between human beings and of course between different cultures (although you surely can't find any unofficial dump in the whole U.S. ). 

So thanks to Daphne, Iannis and the whole team for 2 amazing weeks. We already booked for next year. 

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juerhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Votsala with tentatious deep experiences and were very quickly completely relaxed thanks to the honest and warmhearted atmosphere that the owners family and stuff create. Especially we enjoyed also the walks and tours around the island, which are far away from well known tourist entertainment, but lead to hidden marvellous places, offer very differentiated and grounded information about people, landscape, archaeology and architecture, which goes far beyound the usual travelguide information. For us its an outstanding example of an excellent touristic concept, in theory as in practice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loewenfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for 5 night during July in an incredibly hot room. We had the ceiling and portable fans running, took quick, cold showers before getting into bed but these were insufficient (and I'm from Texas). Still the food, Aegean water & boats were lovely. Avoid the walking Mt Olympus walking "tour". The proceeds (13/person) are supposed to be given directly to staff, but there was no tour (or minimal explanations) and we walked for 20 min. through an unofficial dump/firing range. Food at the end in Agiassos was amazing.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the Aegean, or East, which means that if your view isn't obscured, you have a nice view. Unfortunately, this means that the breeze which roughly went from N to S will never flow through your room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I wanted to immerse ourselves in Real Greek Life and history. We found it at Hotel Votsala on the non-touristy island of Lesbos. You become a part of the hotel owner's extended family when you stay here. What hotel owner wakes up early Saturday morning to hug you and wish you well in your journey back home? You will like Votsala for everything that it is, and everything that it is not. You'll meet and eat with others from around the globe who feel the same way. Thank you Iannis and Daphne for a wonderful 30th Anniversary trip to your island.
- The Snows

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCampers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our third visit to the Votsala, this time accompanied by an eleven year old and his granny, grandad and a friend (another old friend of the Votsala). The breakfasts alone are worth the trip - something for everyone, and everything done well. Consumed in the beautiful garden by the sea, what more could you want? A little ping pong? a swim in the sea? a rest to recover from the effort? Only half an hour from the airport, and there are some direct flights from the UK to Lesbos (Mytilene). For dinner, you can walk along by the sea for a few minutes and choose from three small local restaurants serving excellent fresh fish, salads etc. Easy to manage for people with limited mobility. The owners and staff are charming, kind and very skilled in helping visitors feel happy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SophieHoopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews