We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, quiet, good location”
Review of Hotel Castello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Castello
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Modern, quiet, good location”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, in a clean , modern and huge studio with comfortable bed and pillows. The air conditioning was silent and effective. The price was very reasonable. The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is near to the University of Patra, the hospital and the bridge of Rio- Antirio. The front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouranoupoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
15
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Larisa, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

huge rooms!!!extremely clean bathrooms!!! great location!! friendly stuff!!! fast wifi!!! just amazing place!!!u will really be surprised with this place!!!!
very very good and just fabulous all the way!!!
every time we visit patra,thats our place!!! for sure!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stopped at castello while doing a tour of Peloponnesus after nafplio. The rooms were huge and modern and the service from the staff amazing. Nothing was much trouble for them. If we were at the Patras area for any reason, castello would be our first choice...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing is better than having a modern, comfortable studio at the most reasonable price, next door to the Patras University and Hospital, with good breakfast, cooking facilities, friendly staff, excellent room service and private parking for your car. Easily accessed from the national road, it is also cardinally situated so one may easily have access to both sides of Patras.

Room Tip: Take a studio at the back end of the lot, is closer to the university (and to the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achilleas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my husband only stayed here for 1 night. Room was HUGE, modern and very clean!!! Secure parking really makes difference in Patras.Staff were lovely! Nice garden area.Breakfast was very good!We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have stopped at the Castello Hotel twice, we travel from the UK to Paros and back again every year so we have stopped on our homeward bound journey as ferry times are getting worse, but staying at the Castello is great we travel with 2 dogs and the staff are more than accommodating, it is very clean and set in lovely gardens, there is private and secure parking. We shall be staying again later this year and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: I think any room would be good it is only a 2 storey building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parosgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have been to Greece 25 times and have always been overwrlmed by the Greek hospitality but this year surpassed everything. Whilst on holiday in Zante my husband suffered a heart attack and had to be transferred to Patras. I had no idea where Patras was, but was given the number for the Castello by the British consulate.
The hotel is immaculate, just like it says, Greek hospitality with a modern touch.
I spent 4 days on my own there whilst my husband was in hopital and then another 4 days with my husband after he was discharched until we could fly home.
The staff at the Castello were absolutely brilliant. They went out of their way to help us in any way they could. They organised English speaking Taxi drivers for us and when the taxi drivers were on strike made sure we were able to get to the hospital.
Their smiles kept us sane in what was a very emotional time for us. I cant thank them enough especially Christos,Petros and Eleni.
If anyone is touring in this area please stay and witness the hospitality you will receive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JenniferTickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio
1.5 mi away
Airotel Patras Smart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Patras Palace
Patras Palace
#4 of 21 in Patras
172 reviews
2.8 mi away
Airotel Achaia Beach
Airotel Achaia Beach
#5 of 21 in Patras
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Galaxy City Center Hotel
3.3 mi away
Porto Rio Hotel
Porto Rio Hotel
#9 of 21 in Patras
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delfini
Hotel Delfini
#12 of 21 in Patras
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello

Property: Hotel Castello
Address: 21 Old National Road of Patras - Athens, Rio 265 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Achaea Region > Rio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing