We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
57
19
8
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
57
19
8
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon fish hosts accommodation village wifi airport motu boat lunch lagoon tikehau island robert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 94 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2019

Unfortunately this place is no longer as described by these old reviews.
We experienced awful and insufficient food,
and a lack of friendliness (with the exception of the lady owner, who was away for most of our stay).
Lights are turned off and doors locked straight after dinner, I had to sit on the concrete in the dark to call my daughter (no reception in the rooms).
It's certainly remote, quiet and beautiful, but you are definitely stuck there.
They charge to take you anywhere, it's a long boat ride, and some days they don't go at all due to weather or simply because there's no one to pick up at the airport.
We had no bread for breakfast on two days, looks like they think their cold pancakes are a substitute? Not once did we get poison cru, instead a hard small grilled fish with lots of bones, another day mashed potato with tomato in it (?), repeat dish after just two days, desert of a few grape and apple pieces (seriously?).
I developed a wound infection and there was no way to get to the village that day, but at least they provided some dressings!
No, I would not return there, it compares badly to the excellent food and friendliness we experienced in the four other places we stayed in Polynesia, and they were also all of them much better value.
This place is very expensive for what it's provided, particularly regarding the food.
Pluses: the seclusion (but then enough food and options to leave should be provided)
The hammocks, where we spent a lot of time.
The quality of the room, a decent fan (but no air conditioning nor WiFi reception).
Snorkeling there was also very average, sharks like everywhere, no coral to talk about.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank brigittejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakamanu lodge M, Gérant at Hakamanu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019
Google Translation

Ia Ora Na Brigitte, vous êtes arrivée chez nous avec vos bobos et vous êtes allée faire du snorkeling avec un prestataire dès le lendemain pendant que nous faisions votre lessive que nous n'avons pas facturée !
Nous vous avons conduit gratuitement à l'infirmerie où l'on vous a donné des antibiotiques mais c'était peine perdue puisque vous traîniez encore dans l'eau. Je vous rappelle que votre ami a profité des transferts aéroport pour aller à l'épicerie sans frais supplémentaires
Vous vous êtes installée de votre propre gré sur l'allée en ciment pour parler au téléphone, sans doute pour ne pas déranger John, du moins nous le supposions car vous captez très bien le signal wifi dans votre chambre
Concernant les repas, nous faisons en sorte de les varier et veillons à ce que le client ne mange jamais la même chose durant son séjour parmi nous. Vous prétendez qu'il n'y avait pas de pain au petit déjeuner alors que vous vous amusiez à le gaspiller en le jetant aux poissons !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

By mid of September, 2018 we stayed 5 nights on Hakamanu lodge and I have to say: This is the most relaxing place I have ever been so far.
Absolutely great location, about ½ hour boat ride away from Tikehau airport the Hakamanu lodge was an ideal starting point for beach-walking-tours as well as trips by kayaks (offered for free) to neighbor islands. The German TV series “Adam sucht Eva” was done here, and the entire set is still there – a must to see .
Amazing sunsets are visible right from the spot, as well as plenty of fishes.
Robert and Rose are super friendly hosts (and able to speak English as well).
Our garden bungalow was equipped with all we needed and it was nice clean. The tap water here has a bit salty taste, what makes brushing tooth quite interesting . Beach towels had been provided as well.

Breakfast is typical French style and the dinners are just amazing: Every day we got served a different 3 courses fish-meal. Thanks for that great experiences. To have lunch is possible as well, but having just some of the plenty available coconut is another nice option.
Wifi is available and offering reasonable speed.
Each time new arrivals are collected from airport (or opposite) it’s possible to join the boat to go to the village for grepping some stuff from shop or just stroll around.

To sum it up: If you like to have a real relaxation, calm down and can enjoy yourself in a beautiful nature – this is the right spot.
Thanks to the entire Hakamanu lodge stuff for that opportunity.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Reisewahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

I have been meaning to write this review for a while. We stayed with Roger and Rose last year August for 10 days on our honeymoon. Just amazing. What a place. We cant wait to go back. It is very remote so if you cant handle being off the grid then this place is not for you. Also you need some time to settle in so a couple of days is not enough. You need at least 4 days and I recommend longer.
The motu Hakumanu is on is the furthermost inhabited on the right hand side of the atoll. This means that you can explore for kilometer upon kilometer with not a soul around. Spectacular. The outer edge of the atoll is also worth exploring and a very interesting landscape.
Rooms are simple but adequate. Dinners delicious. Roger and Rose fantastic. Hope to see them again.
We have tried the vanilla fish recipe at home...Wonderful!

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

We visited Tikehau as the final stop of our 4-island visit to French Polynesia - great final choice and we were happy to be at Hakamanu Lodge.

There isn't a great deal of choice in Tikehau it has to be said. If you choose not to stay in one of the two international class resorts (which are obviously very expensive indeed), there are a range of family run guesthouses and I'm very confident to say that Hakamanu is the best one having seen a few when we were out and about.

The rooms are basic but are modern and very clean. No air-conditioning (similarly to the other guesthouse options) but a fan which we found to be perfectly sufficient. Hot water is a bit temperamental but you've got to understand where you are - in the middle of nowhere with solar power to run the place for 19 hours a day (they use a generator for the busy moments). If you want to experience the idyllic aspects of Tikehau, you need to accept what comes with it!

They have just built two beachfront standalone bungalows which are very well-appointed and stand in fantastic positions. For sure the best rooms in Tikehau outside the 5* resorts.

The breakfasts are basic but sufficient. Toast, pancakes, omelets, perhaps some french toast, served with butter, jams, syrup, juice, coffee. The home-cooked evening meals were very good indeed. Local produce cooked in traditional style with care.

The setting leaves you lost for words - you couldn't paint a picture more perfect than the pink and white sand beaches against the lagoon of 100 shades of turquoise. It's possible to explore jumping from motu to motu. Kayaks are available. There are plenty of fish about and black tip sharks visit the hotel throughout the day.

We found the service a little dubious - at times they were very helpful but at other times they missed details that we would have expected taken care of being a family-run business with just 7 rooms. Just a little something they could improve on, hence the 4* review not 5. Nothing to spoil our stay though.

If you don't want to stay in a 5* resort in Tikehau, you should definitely choose Hakamanu.

Room tip: Choose one of the beachfront bungalows - well worth it!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sg-Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here for 5 glorious nights. We had the bungalow with the lagoon view. Hearing the waves crashing on the shore at night was fantastic. We opted for half board, seeing we were on an island and were not at all disappointed with our breakfasts and dinners. Just superb. We had full use of the kayaks which we used daily. We also used the lounge chairs down on the beach and lay under the great beach shelters. Being Australian, we struggled a bit trying to gain information from our hosts and the staff, as French is their spoken language. Maybe a compendium would be beneficial for future customers?

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Di5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews