We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great history”

Capharnaum the Town of Jesus
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Capernaum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very interesting historical excavations.
A lot of christian history
Nice white synagogue
Pleasant view for the Kinereth lake

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    99
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caper Naum restaurant- Beware of cats and reused bread”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently visited this beautiful area of Israel, but unfortunatley this restaurant where we stopped for a lunch of St. peters fish, left a terrible taste. The views of the lake is the only good thing. We ordered the fish and the buffet. After finishing our meal we witnessed wild cats roaming under and on the tables eating left over food. We were then DISGUSTED to see the waiter gathering uneaten pita bread from the empty tables and throwing them back into the bread basket at the buffett!!!! We most certainly ate re used bread that wild cats had licked . When we attempted to speak to the waiter about what we had just witnessed, he denied it!!!! Do not eat here, St .Peters fish is availabel everywhere in Israel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Willmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
651 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Interesting site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The site is quite small and easy to visit, but worth the trip. Explanations throughout the site and not very in depth, so you might want to do a bit of research beforehand. I found the synagogue to be the most well preserved site. Down the road, but also considered Capernaum is an Orthodox Church just on the shore of the Sea of Galilee. It is beautiful inside with red domes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“On the shore of the Galilee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Here you will find a Greek Orthodox Church with red onion shaped domes. A short distance away is the ruins of the house of St. Peter's mother-in-law, which lie under a Franciscan Church that looks like a space saucer. Nearby is a massive 4th century synagogue built over the synagogue that Jesus would have taught in.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great history lessons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This town and church were an amazing display of history - not only biblical history dating back to the time Jesus preached here, but also lessons on how what is considered sacred space has been preserved through the ages. There is a clear graphic display beside the site where multiple generations have built churches in an effort to preserve and celebrate a founding site of Christianity. Amazing detail and partake excavated ruins if the town. Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Busygirlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capharnaum the Town of Jesus also viewed

 

Been to Capharnaum the Town of Jesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing