We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel Niseko”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel Niseko”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

WE visited the Green Leaf in winter and it was magical.We looked out on the snow, birch trees and a distant mountain which was usually wreathed in cloud so were excited when actually able to see it. The hotel is beautiful, from the painted feature walls on arrival,the lobby and bar are extremely comfortable with plenty of deep sofas to relax in. Our room was classy, with lovely Kimonos to wear down to the Onsen. What an experience! After the first time when you are able to see the rules of etiquette and adjust to baring your all before entering the hot pools , it is a wonderful experience and sitting in the outdoors onsen in the steamy hot water in the softly falling snow after a hard days sking is just heaven. Following this with a massage and facial is just paradise on earth.
The Goshiki restaurant was first class with wonderful snowy views and the breakfast menu was unbelievably varied.I tried all of the Japanese dishes, and following the examp;e of other diners wrapped gelitine and seafood strips around chopsticks and scooped up the sticky bean dish one morning, as well as the usual european breakfast. It is a very pleasurable culture shock , to try the food and also to communicate with the wonderfully patient hotel staff. All in all a very special place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have snowy views, with the front rooms looking up the mountain and the other aspect had vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    197
    54
    14
    11
See reviews for
103
150
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Green Leaf in March 2012. Great snow and right at base of mountain. Very easy for skiing in/out and very clean. Food was decent and location was no problem. You can take a bus to other base lodges. This is Japanese skiing so you will not find a super high class resort with apres-ski life as in developed mountains in US or Europe. This is for pure skiing from open to close of lifts. If you want a social ski experience this is not for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank workingjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel was a bit further away from the main town of Hirafu and was in the smaller Niseko Village. However, it was easy to get the bus between resorts, which was particularly useful for us as we had friends staying in Hirafu. It was a lovely hotel that has very recently been refurbished to a high standard, taking the best bits of local art and reflecting the scenery inside i.e. lots of wood and glass plus the iconic animals on every hotel door. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, I am not sure if the bathrooms had been updated but they were extremely clean and functional despite looking a bit outdated.

We booked a package through the hotel which included ski passes, however, the pass was for Niseko Village only which meant we could not get up the lifts at Hirafu and Anni'puri. We were able to buy a 12 point pass but had we known we wouldn't have gone for the package with passes and got our own 'all mountain' passes when we arrived.

A very comfortable hotel for a lovely skiing resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyHKGreeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in Green Leaf in Feb 12 and really liked it. The hotel is very modern, well furnished, especially liked the hotel lobby bar. The rooms are ok in size, not too big but not too small either. The hotel has a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, we tried both breakfast and dinner buffet and the food was excellent. Cater for both western and eastern visitors so you have a good choice.
Location of the hotel is great for ski in - ski out but it is not great for night life or going out to different restaurants. To get to the village (Hirafu) you'd have to get a bus during the day or cab in the evening. There is not many restaurants walkind distance from the hotel.
The hotel has an Onsen (aparently one of the nicer ones in the area), it was very pretty when outside surrounded with piles of snow.
I would definately come back (if I am lucky enough) and would definately select this hotel over Hilton Niseko as it has better atmosphere.

Room Tip: Make sure you request non-smoking as we did not and were given smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stvorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Green Leaf there are just not enough good words to describe the place! We stayed here for a week on a recent Ski Trip, the accommodation was excellent for this purpose as it offers a ski in/out scenario. The hotel is located within the Niseko village very close to the Hilton hotel. When we arrived the staff were outstanding and we were checked in quickly. We had a room on the 5th floor which looked out onto the ski slopes! The bed was a King and the hotel room was a standard size for Japan with a small bathroom. The room was very clean and beautifully maintained by the diligent staff each day. Each room has a hair dryer, flat screen tv (BBC is the only English channel), robes for the onsen, and adequate storage space. The Green Leaf has an amazing indoor/outdoor onsen which is magic after a day on the slopes. We had breakfast included in our room price and I would encourage others to do the same. There are no close options for breakfast in the village. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with an enormous range of food for every culture. We also ate dinner here on the first night and it again was very good. The hotel has a free bus into town which is run by the Hilton this is the best way to get into town, the Niskeo shuttle also comes to the hotel carpark and can be accessed for free if you have an all mountain ski pass. If not it is 320Yen to get to Hirafu. The hotel also has a bar down stairs with happy hour from 2-5 which was great after skiing all day! There is ski hire located at the hotel and ski lockers for each room. They also share equipment with the Hilton so you can swap you gear over at either location which is helpful when your boots are hurting!
I cannot fault the hotel, but would encourage travellers to eat in Hirafu it is cheaper and there is so much choice. I can recommend Abu Cha for a fantastic hot pot and Bang Bang for grilled meats. If you choose this hotel for skiing you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank outdoor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Friendly helpful staff, fantastic onsen, great value

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Only English TV channel is the BBC News.

Coffee at the breakfast buffet tastes like sump oil. Asked if we could buy an espresso from the lobby bar (which opens at 2pm). The girl at the front desk went to ask the manager, who said they couldn't do it. The machine was on, the cups were right there. Policy I guess.

The outside fire pit which is advertised as a feature of the hotel was never on during our stay.

The buffet dinner is ok at 4000 JPY, but its the same every night. So you have to order in or go to town. Buses run every 30 minutes or so, and it takes around 15 minutes to get there. Hotel doesn't allow you to consume outside food in common areas - so you must eat in your room.

Bed's are reasonably comfortable but the air is extremely dry... there is no body lotion supplied in the bathroom - so bring your own... if I came again would probably bring a humidifier to improve sleep.

Bathroom is basic but ok. Ski / board rental staff very helpful though they have a very limited selection.

No help with bags after getting off the bus from Sapporo. Bus drops you off 100m downhill from the hotel.

I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANCH_RATNAVALE, General Manager at The Green Leaf Niseko Village, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Green Leaf during your recent holiday and taking the time to provide your feedback and comments. We have taken your comments in earnest and would like to address them. Being a Ski-in and Ski-out hotel, our services and amenities are geared towards the eager skier.

The Green Leaf is operational during the winter ski season only. To cater to the various nationalities that stay with us, we offer a choice of Korean, English, Mandarin and Japanese TV channels. We also offer complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel which enables guests to watch streaming videos, live sports and other interests on your personal notebook or Ipad in the comfort of your room.

As advertised, our lounge bar is open daily from 2pm till late. Should you need to purchase any drinks or snacks before this time, there is a convenience shop next to the reception with a variety of choice.

The hotel lights up the outdoor fire pit whever the weather is fine and clear. As Niseko is one of the snowiest places in the world, this stops us from lighting the fire pit daily. March has more clearer days and the fire pit is lighted on most days.

Instead of frequently traveling to town for food, the village offers a choice of four restaurants at the Hilton and a seafood Izakaya called Crabshack all within a 5 min bus ride. This provides convenience especially during heavy snow conditions. As with most hotels, consumption of outside food/ delivery take-outs are not encouraged in public areas of the hotel i.e- the lobby lounge for the comfort of other guests.

Especially during winter, the air can get a bit dry. However, the hotel provides a humidifier upon request and we will arrange to deliver it to your room.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and comments. The hotel will continue to actively work to improve our services. We hope your recent experiences will not deter you from returning to The Green Leaf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niseko-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Hilton Niseko Village
Hilton Niseko Village
#1 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Niseko Northern Resort An'nupuri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
One Niseko Resort Towers
One Niseko Resort Towers
#4 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Niseko Konbu Onsen Tsuruga Besso Moku no sho
Niseko Onsen
Hotel Kanro no Mori
Hotel Kanro no Mori
#6 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Leaf Niseko Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Leaf Niseko Village

Property: The Green Leaf Niseko Village
Address: Higashiyama Onsen | Niseko-Cho, Abuta-Gun, Abuta-gun, Niseko-cho 048-1592, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Niseko-cho > Niseko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niseko-cho
#2 Spa Hotel in Niseko-cho
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niseko-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Leaf Niseko Village 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Mount Niseko An'nupuri in Hokkaido, Japan, The Green Leaf Niseko Village is contemporarily redesigned to embrace the creative touch of renowned local artists.This 200-room hotel provides ski-in ski-out accommodation at the base of Niseko Village ski area, complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, a spa, authentic onsen, with access to the world's finest powder snow.Each Deluxe King room inter-connects to a Deluxe Twin room, allowing flexibility for families, and features views of ski slopes and Mt. Yotei. Goshiki serves an international and Japanese fusion buffet, local seafood and seasonal Hokkaido produce. Lively and comfortable, Tomioka White Lounge features a signature fireplace and bar to enjoy cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green Leaf Niseko Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Leaf Niseko Village Hotel Niseko-Cho
Hilton International Niseko Cho
Prince Hotel Niseko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing