We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Niseko Village
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed in this property many times, even before it came under Hilton group. We like its real ski-in-ski-out location. The rooms are nicely laid out and there is a variety of restaurants.

We stayed between Christmas and New Year. The hotel was overbooked. Front desk staff was stressed. Luckily, restaurants were not crowded. The only outlet that keeps its quality is the spa!

Hilton remodeled the ski storage area but I think it is a big failure. When it was under Prince group, each room was assigned a locker. Now, skis and boots were stored at different areas. You need to queue up to collect the boots and then queue again for the ski. During peak hours, like 8 to 10 am, you may need to spend half and hour for this process. The management should seriously review it.

Room Tip: They have nice triple room for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeleineKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Tomoyuki Yamanobe - General Manager at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent ski holiday and taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor..
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the ski in / ski out access and ski valet makes a day's ski even more enjoyable.
I have noted your comments on ski storage area and we are reviewing how we may improve this in the future.
I do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again during the season and experience some of the world’s best powder snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    580
    192
    85
    37
See reviews for
613
345
66
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hilton Niseko is located at Niseko Village, the middle ski slope of the entire Niseko/Annunpuri mountain. To the 'right' is Hirafu, and to the left is Annunpuri. To get to Hirafu or Annunpuri by transport is about 10 minutes either way, but they are all connected if you head up the slopes and make the links by ski/board.

Niseko Village is dominated by the Hilton, and another quieter hotel The Greenleaf. The Hilton Niseko has the advantage of a ski in-out hotel, with the gondola and Community chair lift right next to it. When conditions were not ideal (no snow for a few days), the route from the gondola can get icy, but we got around it by taking the (very crowded) Community chair lift, then heading to the Banzai chair, which gives us lovely routes like "Magic". Those routes were much less crowded, and in fact we had the entire slopes to ourselves. Really lovely.

The hotel itself is very large, with many various restaurants, a fireplace lounge (watch out! a latte at the main lobby fireplace lounge costs about Y800!!), a large onsen (both indoors and outdoors over looking Mt Yotei), convenience shop, ski valet (to keep your boots/gear), etc. THe best thing for us (two adults and a 15 month old baby) is the play area for kids - a large room padded and filled with toys and all, that we could access with our guest key card. It was great.

There was also a creche / infant care, which you have to make advance bookings for (and I really mean, wayyyy in advance! months!), and they baby sit your child for you from 8.30 am - 4pm, lunch included. We had a good time on the slopes while our toddler was cared for by them, and the caretakers were lovely. They could not speak much English, but they were very good with the baby.

The twin room we had which overlooked Annunpuri was a good size. The shower/bath area is just like any other hotel in Tokyo - nothing too small or large. If you have travelled in Japan before, it is not like an airplane bathroom (???) - it's just average. Yes obviously it's not large, but it's not tiny either.

Housekeeping was good and efficient - room was kept clean everyday.

We had room service for dinner for two nights (toddler...) and the food was excellent. I don't find it expensive (especially with a weakening yen): it was worth the price. Yes we paid, for instance, Y3000 for a eat all you can sushi at Rera (make reservations!), but it was good fish. For room service, something like Y1800 gets you a lovely pasta - can't ask for more.

Check in was relatively quick, though sometimes I note that there is a build up of a queue at the front desk. We arrived at about 12.15pm by coach and were given a room after asking for early check in, as toddler had been throwing a tantrum in the coach, and for that we were grateful. Slightly late check out was also granted.

All in all, it is a good hotel, with amenities and restaurants all provided, very comfortable, convenient, etc.

The only negatives were: too many darn Singaporeans. This, especially pre-Christmas. It was like being in Singapore. And they definitely know how to spoil the beauty of the onsen when they chat loudly in the outdoor onsen! Gee!

Room was relatively soundproof, but it's hard to keep the sound out of running children overhead or outside the corridor... that I did not appreciate.

We booked very early for a good rate for our room. But I notice the prices head north significantly just before Christmas, hence we stayed two nights and then moved onto Hirafu to an apartment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Tomoyuki Yamanobe - General Manager at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent ski holiday and taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to hear that you & all the families enjoyed your stay with us and that the ski in / ski out access and ski valet makes a day's ski even more enjoyable.
Your comments have been shared with all of our team members and it is an encouragement to us all.
Once again, thank you and I do hope you are planning another visit and we look forward to welcome you back to arguably the snowiest ski resort on the planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for 8 years, sometimes more than one extended stay per annum.
Just returned from a 5 day trip, and am sorry to report the service has declined over the last two years and the hotel has not taken action to improve its service value.

As a Hilton Diamond member I have higher expectations, but it is clear that the hotel has not invested in training for its staff to recognize the returning customers and be sure they strive to improve on the value they receive on each visit. Rooms are shabby, food quality poor with exception of the sushi bar and teppanyaki bar where you can expect to pay USD200/pp on a meal.

With a location that is perfect to take advantage of the incredible skiing Mt. Annapuri has to offer, they have not set up transportation options for Hirafu and Annapuri villages and dining options, let alone when skiing is not feasible at Niseko village for weather conditions. They have also not prepared properly for kids and and made the experience first rate for families as they should. Sorry to say the value for USD$400-500/nt is not there and they will need to address short-comings before they see returning guests like me and my friends

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Tomoyuki Yamanobe - General Manager at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Niseko Village. Your kind recognition of our service delivery is certainly gratifying and we have shared this with the team. This will no doubt motivate team to provide an even more superior service.
Please accept our apology for having failed to deliver the level of standard which you had expected from the Hilton Niseko Village. For transportation issue, we will work with Niseko United local team to providing more efficient service in the future. And also kids programmed, We already offer kids room at 1floor also kids club is operated by Niseko Village activity company. I expected we did not share information with you upon your arrival. We value your feedback, which will assist us improving the need of our guests.
Thank you anew, and hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you, when your travels bring you to Niseko, to demonstrate that your comments were not made in vain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and as first time skiers the set up with the ski in ski out was excellent. The Hilton offers a ski valet service which was great and the snow school next door was also fantastic. I would suggest for those looking for lessons you spend the extra for a private lesson and the group lessons were non-english speaking. The room was nice which a view back to the slopes. We were given complimentary champagne with dinner as it was our honeymoon, a nice touch. We stayed here for 6 nights. The only negative with the hotel was the food. The breakfast buffet hot food was mostly cold which was a downside. The restaurants in the evening we felt the food was very average and over priced. We ate in Hirafu for the second part of our trip and found some great restaurants there and utlised the courtesy shuttle bus, fantastic service. The EZO pub was good for lunchtime snacks. My wife has a treatment at the spa and said it was fantastic, All in all we had a great stay here and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenJA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Tomoyuki Yamanobe - General Manager at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent ski holiday and taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to hear that you & all the families enjoyed your stay with us and that the ski in / ski out access and ski valet makes a day's ski even more enjoyable.
Your comments have been shared with all of our team members and it is an encouragement to us all.
Once again, thank you and I do hope you are planning another visit and we look forward to welcome you back to arguably the snowiest ski resort on the planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights and returned just a few days ago.

It was perfect for us given the one-stop-shop service of ski rental and ski-valet, charilifts and Gondola just 20 steps away from the hotel, complimentary onsen to relax after a full day of skiing.

Concierge staff had been very professional and polite in helping us to book restaurants, answer questions, check the free shuttle bus to Hirafu (another village with lots more restaurants). When the free shuttle bus for some reason didn't pick us up even when we had been waiting at the desginated spot 10 mins in advance, hotel staff arranged to drive us in a hotel car to the restaurant! We were really impressed.

We requested for extra bed and house keeping staff automatically added no. of slipprs/ towels/ toiletries which we appreciated. Frankly not many other hotels have done so before we picked up the phone to renind them.

To improve, last order for Japanese restaurant was 2pm which was a bit early for us. So we decided to head to the pub which offered pizza, pasta, noodles, etc., Food was good and slightly expensive, but nothing we were not prepared to pay given this is a restaruant within a resort.

Hotel has free wifi in public areas only. We knew about this so rented our own mobile wifi device so we could have wifi in guest rooms. We preferred to lie down on our beds/ sofas for emails/ whatsapp/ games rather than hotel lobby. This is something which the hotel could improve.

We also booked reindeer session for our kids so they could ride on the sledge and we took some photos. This is really special.

Checking-in and checking-oput was smooth. Our room was given to us at 11am even though check in time was supposed to be in the afternoon only. At checking out we found someone consumed drinkson the lobby bar and charged to our room. Hotel staff showed us the bill with signature and we told them it was not us, So he refunded us the amount. Probably hotel could have asked guests to provide sample signature at checking in and store in system for checking everyttime someone signs a bill. This is not a new practice at other hotels/ resorts.

Overall we are satisfied with the hotel and will return again. Actually prepared to book again for next year skiing.

There are many other villages in the area for skiing like Hirafu (more restaurants), Greenleaf (cheaper accommodation), etc. but for a family, Hilton Niseko presents the convenience we want as a family with young children.

Tips for hotel free shuffle bus, be there early to avoid bus being full. It was not an issue for us because we preferred early dinner but saw some others being rejected to board the bus as no standing is allowed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Tomoyuki Yamanobe - General Manager at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent ski holiday and taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I shall certainly pass on your comments to our Team Members, so they know the services provided were appreciated.
Hilton Niseko Village has won Japan’s Best Ski Hotel in the inaugural World Ski Awards 2013 which is the equivalent of “the Oscars for the Ski industry”, the inaugural World Ski Awards focused on the leading20 nations who are shaping the future of this dynamic industry including Hilton Niseko Village has won the honored award for world-class services and facilities with a uniquely individual experience.
Once again, thank you and I do hope you are planning another visit and we look forward to welcome you back to arguably the snowiest ski resort on the planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hilton and had four days of glorious skiing over Christmas. What they say about the soft powdery snow is so true. Even relative beginners like us can tell. This is our second visit as we were here in March. Snow conditions were iffy back then as it was late in the season.

But first, the hotel. Although at full occupancy, it did not feel super busy. Staff were at their usual professional and cheerful best though language can sometimes be a problem. But nothing unsurmountable. We had an extra bed added for my daughter, which made the room feel a tad cramped. As others have pointed, the main sink is outside the bathroom just as you enter the room. The bathroom itself is small but since I visited the onsen daily, it is not a problem. Just grab a set of towels at reception and remember to bring your room key for access. Just be aware some foreigners neglect to thoroughly wash themselves before entering the onsen. And I noted that the Chinese, whether from China, Hong Kong or Singapore tend to be the noisiest. Totally ignoring the sign to respect others seeking peace and quiet. Enjoying the onsen after a hard day in the snow, both helps to take out the chill and relax aching muscles.

Given the full occupancy, breakfast is served at the Melt, the Yotei as well as the ballroom on level 3. We suggest giving the ballroom a miss as both the Melt and Yotei gives wonderful outside views. Tepanyaki at Pirka is simply sumptious but be prepared to pay for the freshness and wonderfully prepared meal. The downside with the Hilton is ease in reaching outside food. Though a trip to Hirafu Village can easily solve that. There are regular shuttle buses. However, the restaurants do get very busy during this peak period. Small, sought-after restaurants like Raku Ichi were booked out months ago.

The Hilton has a ski slope right outside but if you are a true novice, please do not venture up the Community Chair ski lift. We saw a large group of visitors struggled mightily and in the end had to walk down the slope carrying their skis. There also appeared to be injuries as the ski patrol was kept busy ferrying some people down. So, if skiing for the first time, ski lessons are strongly suggested. The ski valet service is also wonderful and so civilised.

Overall, we had a wonderful trip and will look to return to the Hilton next year. Other than food choices, the one other downside is a lack of wifi in the rooms. Although there's free wifi in the lobby and the restaurants. And I had a minor issue with the overly soft pillows.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C_James06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Tomoyuki Yamanobe - General Manager at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent ski holiday and taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor..
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the stay and the convenience of our Ski Valet facility and I appreciate your kind words about our outdoor Onsen.
The Onsen experience in Japanese culture is to be one of serenity and tranquility and we do provide signage on Onsen etiquette in the area so that all may enjoy. I am sorry if this was not your experience on this particular visit.
I do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again next season and experience some of the world’s best powder snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Hilton Niseko Village is clearly the easy and simple way to go skiing in Niseko. Ski-in / ski-out with a ski-valet service, equipment rentals, lift-tickets and everything else ski-snowboard related right at the hotel. Two lifts (Gondola and Community) are right there. Service is polite, friendly and helpful. There is an onsen (hot spring bath) and a spa as well as several restaurants. Concierges are helpful with dinner reservations in town, arranging bus schedules, etc. Rooms are small but clean and warm. So all the basics.

Its just not very well done on the whole though. For instance, rooms do not have internet access (wired or wireless). To access the internet you have to go to the lobby or the pub on the 2nd floor. The wireless access there is very slow. Similarly, food is available, but the quality and selection is mediocre (very limited menus and the same choices every day). Highlights are the sushi restaurant (good quality though limited selection) and the hot-pot buffet dinner. The rooms themselves feel old and not very well maintained (for instance the refrigerator in our room did not work, among other things). Similarly, even with the skiing the Niseko Village runs (where the Hilton is) are adequate but short and limited in choice and while one can get to the other areas (Hanafu or Anapuri) its not all that easy to get to without driving (as Gondola, the one lift that connects, generally closes early around 3:30 pm or so).

Overall then, it works and does what one needs but just isn't outstanding. Sort of a 3 star hotel overall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous-HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Tomoyuki Yamanobe - General Manager at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent visit to Niseko and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
Your comments concerning our staff are also gratifying, and I have passed on your positive remark to them, which will act as a well deserved motivator to achieve more superior performance.
Your comment on internet has been noted and I have addressed this directly with the manager concerned and corrective actions will be taken.
Otherwise, we trust you had a nice stay with us and we certainly look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niseko-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Niseko Onsen
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
Niseko Onsen
Niseko Northern Resort An'nupuri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
One Niseko Resort Towers
One Niseko Resort Towers
#4 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Hotel Kanro no Mori
Hotel Kanro no Mori
#6 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Niseko Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Niseko Village

Property: Hilton Niseko Village
Address: 1 Higashiyama-onsen, Abuta-gun, Niseko-cho 048-1592, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Niseko-cho > Niseko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niseko-cho
#1 Spa Hotel in Niseko-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Niseko Village 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Niseko Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Niseko Village Hotel Niseko-Cho
Hilton Niseko Cho
Hilton Hotel Niseko Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing