We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location spoiled by poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Niseko Village
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location spoiled by poor management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times before and have liked it's excellent ski in ski out location and Japanese Onsen (hot springs bath). Food and service haven't been the best but the positives have compensatated.

This trip however has been different. They messed up our transfer booking resulting in a two hour wait at the airport. They assigned us the wrong rooms. We were once asked to move tables half way through our meal (never figured out why). Resturant bookings system (required because capaity is way below demand) is chaotic. Buffet restaurants suffer from poor replenishment. Service is slow and inept. Prices are criminal given the level of service.

The key issue seems to be that the hotel has recruited a large number of staff for the peak holiday season but hasn't trained them. I definately won't come here again during a busy period, maybe never again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Tomoyuki Yamanobe - General Manager (Hilton Niseko Village) at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent visit to Niseko and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy the Resort and the convenience of ski in / ski out facilities.
Your comment on our knowledge of concierge team has been noted and ongoing training is being conducted.
Once again, thank you and I do hope you are planning another visit and we look forward to welcome you back to arguably the snowiest ski resort on the planet.

With best regards,
Tomoyuki Yamanobe – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    580
    192
    85
    37
See reviews for
613
345
66
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 2012. We had booked a good deal 9 months in advance which included dinner and breakfast. Check-in took quite a while, about 15 minutes, luckily for us the line only started building after we were done. Excellently located hotel, ski school and rental right next to the hotel (20 steps), as were the chair lift and the gondola. REALLY packed. Lots of people in the lobby coming in and out, some in snow gear, lots of people and their luggage checking out or checking in. Lifts took a while, lots of Japanese high school students staying when we were there (300 I was told by the ski instructor), they were very noisy on the third floor where one of the big restaurants are, and they are always going in and out of the lifts. Not saying that I don't like high school students but they were a bit noisy.

Summary of main features:
1. Ski school - we were lucky to get classes on 2 days, had to line up in the morning at 8am to see if they had any spots. So book in advance if you know what sort of classes you want. This isn't part of Hilton but I thought this info could come in handy.
2. Snow - SO much snow when we were there, it was beautiful and so nice to ski in fresh snow the next day!
3. Internet - free wifi only in public areas. Snail speed in lobby, found a fast spot next to Yotei restaurant on the 3rd floor but no chairs so you have to stand to use the fast internet. Disappointing that hotels these days don't just provide free internet for all in rooms. It is a basic necessity for some these days, and for me it's more important than a TV
4. Onsen - beautiful view in the outdoor onsen. Change room was clean enough but would be nice to have someone cleaning more often in the busy periods.
5. Fitness centre - located on 3rd floor, quite small but equipment is good. Would have liked some dumbbells. Towels and water provided.
6. Restaurants - breakfast served in Yotei and Melt, recommend Melt more because of the beautiful view. Same food in both for breakfast. Dinner was included in our package so we tried Yotei (buffet) and Sissam (Japanese set menus). Was not impressed with Yotei - there was a lot of food, some good but most very average. However, VERY impressed with Sissam, they cater for vegetarians, the manager was very helpful and when he saw us come in for the second night in a row, he offered to ask the chef to change the menu for us so we didn't have to eat the same things 2 nights in a row. We certainly didn't expect this as we were just going with dinner coupons, so we really appreciated this gesture. Ezo Pub is great for lunch - definitely try their pizzas!!!!
7. Rooms - we stayed in a twin room on the 18th floor. clean, there's a pillow menu, big enough for 2, having a sink outside of the bathroom is very handy. Daily cleaning can be hit or miss. We were told sheets are changed every 3rd day, we stayed for 4 nights 5 days and sheets were never changed, despite there being visible dirt on them by the 4th day.

Overall conclusion - I would definitely stay here again if I could get a good deal again that included dinner (as travelling to Hirafu every night would be a hassle). The reason to stay here again is because it is a good hotel (wouldn't say excellent), and the location is truly perfect for skiers & snowboarders!!! Would try and come maybe mid Jan next time to miss the high school students and all the other tourists going for Christmas holidays.

Room Tip: I don't think it's necessary to pay more for Mountain views in winter, because if it's h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kewlaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Niseko Village at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your last ski vacation and taking the time to share your experience.
I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy the Onsen and the convenience of ski in / ski out facilities, and I appreciate your kind words on our restaurant and team members, it is much appreciated. Your comments have been shared with all of our team members and it is an encouragement to us all.
I do hope you are planning another visit and we look forward to welcome you back to arguably the snowiest ski resort on the planet...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Staying at the Hilton Niseko at present and are somehow disappointed, far from we were expecting, we had great expectations just by staying at the Hilton, but, but, but! The hotel by itself is well located, rooms are ok, but everything else turns to be a nightmare. Restaurants are fully booked everyday, need to plan 2 days in advance, just imagine when traveling with a 5 yo boy, asking him what he wants to eat in two days time! The food is average, very average in all restaurants. Now talking ski lessons, all fully booked! They did not even plan for additional teachers. So we have to come everyday to the snow school asking for any availability. So to conclude, if you have to spend this amount of money to get such poor food and not been able to have ski lessons for our son, then pass this place. Not worth it. Snow wise, yes there is plenty.
This is written on Xmas eve 2012.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilwhoever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Niseko Village at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent ski holiday and please accept my sincere appreciation for taking the time to let us know of your experience through Tripadvisor. This valuable first hand feedback allows us to monitor and improve our services focusing on your needs as a guest in the resort.
Your comments on the restaurant booking and ski lessons have been noted and I have addressed this directly with the manager concerned and corrective actions will be taken.
We have had a record December snowfall and I do hope you are planning another visit soon and we look forward to welcome you back to arguably the snowiest ski resort on the planet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Where to begin? Everything from the powdery snow capped slopes in December, to the divine and beautiful cuisines avaliable to you at the hotel will be sufficient to raise the bar a little higher, after you experience what the Hilton Niseko Village Hotel has to offer. We stayed for 8 nights, and absolutely loved the experience. Staff is friendly, they speak English, the several restaurants available are amazing. From japanese meals to international cuisine, breakfast watching snow falling outside the large panoramic windows, lifts without any traffic and an incredible powder to greet you every morning. We will surely return. This is the place to be!

Jose Sequeira

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Niseko Village at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent ski holiday and taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to hear that you & all the families enjoyed your stay with us and that the ski in / ski out access and ski valet makes a day's ski even more enjoyable.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I shall certainly pass on your comments to our Team Members, so they know the services provided were appreciated.
The snowfall has continued and the Gondola is now taking skiers up the mountain and our shuttle services have increased as we open for the ski season.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcome you back to Hilton Niseko Village in the near future to experience true Hilton Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed at Hilton niseko from dec 21 to 25. Location is far from hirafu village but regular free hotel shuttle makes it convenient. Also another regular bus available from niseko united company for pass skiers but chargeable for non pass holders 330 yen per head.

Rooms are basic and clean. Had 2 twin bed and each room comes with a sofa bed. So twin room can sleep 3. Bathroom is small. Hotel lobby is cozy with a central hanging fireplace that does not seem to warm anybody. More for looks. F&B outlets are plenty but make sure you make reservations. There is an in house onsen. For ski facilities, the ski center is right next to the hotel, extremely convenient with the slopes, lifts and everything right next to hotel and connected via side entrance. Super convenient for parents with kids skiing and parents can relax in the lounge cafe.

Snow quality is tip top powder, and it snowed the day we arrived and till today. Right now, heavy snowing outside.

Hirafu village central has plenty of nice little restaurants. Not much shopping and reservations are a requirement during holiday season. Problem is the drop off and pickup point for the shuttle is the welcome center which is quite a walk uphill when you want to come back to the hotel. With the cold and children, the walk is quite an exercise.

Overall stay is relaxing, hotel staff are polite and helpful, English speaking is manageable. Kids had a really good time with the snow and slopes, good quality family time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Niseko Village at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Hilton Niseko Village Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your recent ski holiday and taking the time to share your experience through Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our ski in, ski out facilities and I appreciate your kind words on the resort and team members, it is much appreciated. Your comments have been shared with all of our team members and it is an encouragement to us all.
We have had a record December snowfall and I do hope you are planning another visit soon and we look forward to welcome you back to arguably the snowiest ski resort on the
planet.

Kind regards、

Tomoyuki Yamanobe
General Manager
Hilton Niseko Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel - pros and cons
Service was generally polite though a bit slow at times (took the hotel 20 min to bring up extra milk when we requested). The Flame Lounge (described as having a 'warm glow') was cold most of the time. Was most impressed by Hiromi from the Flame Lounge who saw I was shivering and loaned me a blanket on her own initiative. The waiter serving both Sisam and the Teppanyaki restaurant was always smiling and attentive despite him being very busy serving two 'different' restaurants simultaneously. The Onsen had a beautiful view - if only all the guests could understand that the correct etiquette in an Onsen is to be respectfully silent.

Skiing experience for a beginner - pros and cons
It was great that the hotel was a ski in ski out resort. However, for beginners, we had to climb up a rather steep flight of stairs (holding on to the heavy skis and poles) and then up a rather steep slope before we reached the area reserved for pure beginners.

Our second day ski experience was better as the instructor allowed us to use the slope right in front of the hotel (by teaching us how to walk up the slope on our skis). However, another problem was the many groups of Japanese pupils who were at the Hilton resort for skiing lessons. The pupils were well behaved but as they were in groups, it meant that hotel guests had to wait for them while they accessed the ski lifts. In addition, for a beginner, it was frustrating and scary having to keep trying to avoid banging into them as they would stop in groups of about 8 on different sections of the slopes. If you are a beginner, check with the hotel when the Jap pupils usually descend on Hilton (i'm still figuring out how come the parents can pay for them to stay at Hilton) and avoid that period. The last day of our stay (21 Dec), there were no Jap pupil groups on the slopes - not sure if they had left by then - but they were present almost every other day (we were at the Hilton from 17 to 21 Dec)

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a room with the view of Mount Yotei. If the view is good, you can see M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannePauYuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Wasn't overly impressed with the hotel, the powder at Niseko is very impressive but this is a review of the hilton. Ok so first impression was poor, after a plane and a three hour bus to Niseko the last thing we wanted was to stand in a queue for 40 minutes to check in and then have to lug our own bags up to our room ( this is meant to be a Hilton after all). Majority of guests staying are Japanese locals with their kids, Japanese school kids doing a week long ski school( and yes 100 school kids does mean the lift on the Hilton side are busy but not the gondola) and Chinese families. It's 15 mins from hirafu which is where all the restaurants are.. The restaurants at the Hilton are pretty pricey ( example soft drinks are 600 yen, a beer is 900 yen and a steak 4,500 at their ezo pub restaurant) there is a shuttle but its inconvenient , especially if you miss one in the evening and have to either wait an hour for the next or a 2,900 yen taxi back to the hilton, the rooms are tired and not what I would expect from the Hilton, So that's the negative, some of the positives are no lines at the gondola, staff are very friendly, lovely onsite onsen, breakfast are great with good variety, but we feel an apartment in hirafu would have been better value and we'll be looking at doing that next time we visit Niseko, which will be soon as the powder is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dj_loz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Hilton Niseko Village at Hilton Niseko Village, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Hilton Niseko Village Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Niseko Village for your last ski vacation and taking the time to share your experience.
I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy the Resort and the convenience of ski in / ski out facilities.
I appreciate your comments on our Food and Beverage pricing, we do compare our pricing and offerings with similar resorts and find that we are competitive in this area although
we take your comments to heart and I shall discuss our menus with our Executive Chef.
Once again, thank you and I do hope you are planning another visit and we look forward to welcome you back to arguably the snowiest ski resort on the planet.

With best regards,
Tomoyuki Yamanobe – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niseko-cho
Chalet Ivy
#2 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Niseko Onsen
The Green Leaf Niseko Village
Niseko Onsen
Niseko Northern Resort An'nupuri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niseko Onsen
One Niseko Resort Towers
One Niseko Resort Towers
#4 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Ki Niseko
#1 of 19 in Kutchan-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Niseko Onsen
Hotel Kanro no Mori
Hotel Kanro no Mori
#6 of 11 in Niseko-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Niseko Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Niseko Village

Property: Hilton Niseko Village
Address: 1 Higashiyama-onsen, Abuta-gun, Niseko-cho 048-1592, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Niseko-cho > Niseko Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niseko-cho
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niseko-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Niseko Village 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Niseko Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Niseko Village Hotel Niseko-Cho
Hilton Niseko Cho
Hilton Hotel Niseko Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing