We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the World's most beautiful hotels. The lobby is just a masterpiece (literally).”
Review of Zhiwa Ling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhiwa Ling
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the World's most beautiful hotels. The lobby is just a masterpiece (literally).”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Great architecture; great food and great beds! Under-floor heating too...wonderful! Definitely would return to this living masterpiece, we booked through Yangphel Travel. md@yangphel.com
Andrew Wood - Skål Intl Thailand, National President.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkkblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    95
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
54
122
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights we really enjoy the location the green space between the rooms spa and central building the restaurant as breakfast and dinner was excellent
To stay in the terrace overlooking the mountain is really an incredible memory

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AugustoPiccagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The four of us had the Royal Raven Suite. A fabulous suite of two large bedrooms, 2 large bathrooms, a living room, a dining room and our own Buddhist shrine. The location is excellent for a trip to the Tiger Monastery. The food was only rated good, but the prices for both the food and drink were very reasonable. Two people had massages that were also excellent

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for one of the suites. They are great spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiatraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent hotel. The lobby is impressive and the staff very welcoming (hot towel, scarf around your neck).
We stayed in the main building with view on the pond and the other rooms, right across the mediation room.
The food in the restaurant is very good. The breakfast is not a buffet (at least not when we were there because the hotel was not full) but we could order anything we wanted.
All rooms are very spacious, bathroom is luxury and the shower can be switched on without having to stand near the pouring water, a nice thought. On the other hand, the tap in the bath tub is too close to the edge so that water can poor over the edge and then the floor is wet. With the floor heating it is not a disaster.
Only draw back: the creaking wooden floors. of course not problem when you stay alone in a room.
Everything was nice about this hotel, the manager is very dedicated and this is important as you know that any real problem will be solved. We in fact had a technical problem with our computer (was too highly protected to have access to the Wifi) and he even solved that and took his time for it as it was not simple.
This hotel combines luxury with quiet and personal attention. Highly recommended. Real holiday.

Room Tip: Most rooms are outside the main building, but they are all large and the distance to walk to the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laraBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was with a group who stayed here in January. What an amazing place. The meditation room and the buddhist temple are a wonderful experience of Bhutanese culture mixed with western expectations of great food, luxurious rooms and health and beauty treatments. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There didn't appear to be a swimming pool, (it was January and quite cold) but the hot stone bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here on final two days in Bhutan. Staff very helpful but a bit inexperienced - but always willing to help! Food very good and rooms huge & well appointed. Their only failing was not knowing what dental floss was when we looked invain for some - not known in Bhutan!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex10254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here on the second leg of our trip to Bhutan. The hotel is stunningly beautiful. The overall architecture is very nice. Rooms are very spacious and are very comfortable. Having a cup of hot tea from the balcony ovelooking the river and the hills is an amazing experience.

The staff was very courteous and helped generously with special food for our baby every time we asked. They could do with a bit more grooming but they are adequate. Overall a great place to stay at Paro.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor (and in some blocks, second floor) probably have a better view of the valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subramanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
3.1 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
8.0 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
17.5 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 36 in Thimphu
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 36 in Thimphu
238 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#7 of 16 in Paro
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhiwa Ling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhiwa Ling

Property: Zhiwa Ling
Address: Satsam Chorten, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Paro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zhiwa Ling 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45-room Zhiwa Ling hotel combines the sensibilities of a fine Bhutanese guesthouse with the best of 21st-century technology. Envisioned and created by a local Bhutanese company, the hotel’s elaborate hand-carved wooden cornices and masterful stonework coexist beautifully with cutting-edge telecommunication systems and Swedish under-floor heating. The Tourism Council of Bhutan (TCB) announced the Tourist Accommodation classifications and Zhiwa Ling Hotel is the first and only wholly Bhutanese owned hotel to receive a 5 star rating. Zhiwa Ling Hotel is the only Bhutanese owned hotel and one of only two in the country to be ISO22000 certified. Set on 10 acres, Zhiwa Ling has many amenities available to guests. The spa offers all the facilities guests could want; a fitness centre, sauna, steam room as well as a traditional Bhutanese outdoor hot-stone bath. There is a business centre, Tea House, two fully equipped conference rooms, a Meditation House and the hotel has its own greenhouse. Zhiwa Ling Hotel practices sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BhutanBookings and Priceline so you can book your Zhiwa Ling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhiwa Ling Paro
Zhiwa Ling Hotel Paro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing