We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, staff and service”
Review of COMO Uma Paro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
COMO Uma Paro
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I always research on this site - but rarely have the time to write reviews on Tripadvisor - but I feel that the excellence of this Hotel and its staff are worth mentioning to anyone researching a trip to Bhutan !

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 15 Wedding Anniversary with a one week holiday in Bhutan. We have been wanting to come here for many years - and we were delighted with all aspects of our vacation.

Our private guide was Yarab - he was an amazing, funny,dedicated, thoughtful and attentive guide. His in-depth knowledge of the history, culture and Buddhist philosophy of Bhutan was wonderful. Also his keen interest and skill in photography was much appreciated (he reorganised our itinerary around the perfect photo and lighting opportunities) ! He was also very attentive , and flexible in meeting all our needs and requirements. Especially when we wanted to see more of Bhutan's wilderness during our trip ( he organised for us to hike at Longchu Tsheay above Dochula pass - a more remote trek -which was not on our original itinerary) and was very helpful when I was suffering from slight AMS , and knee problems when I was hiking ( he even taught me how to use my trekking poles properly!).

Our driver was Dodo - who expertly negotiated all the local roads - I felt so safe I slept on most of the car trips. Our butler Kamal - was so lovely, she even organised for me to take home a painted rock - after I mentioned that I liked them, after seeing them in the hotel reception.

At the start of our trip in Paro - we had an amazing room (Room 40) on the top floor - with a big balcony overlooking the river and valley. On our return to Paro - we requested the same room - but were upgraded to a Villa with our own butler - this was sublime on every level !

We already miss the amazing mountain and valley scenery, fresh air, great food, and wonderful people and hospitality from your country - we look forward to returning, and visiting the more remote areas of Central and Eastern Bhutan!

Room Tip: Room 40 in the Main Building (amazing views from room & balcony). Villa 15 - private, with grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear LuiSydney,

Greetings from your friends at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.

Thank you for sharing your impressions of Uma by COMO with the TripAdvisor Community. We are so pleased to know that you and your husband were so happy with the hotel and the service of our staff. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and theat we were able to make your 15th Anniversary celebration extra special. It is nice to read how much you liked your guide Yarab, and the service of your butler Kamal. At Uma we have our own full time guide service and tour desk which allows guests to book their entire trip including custom made itineraries in addition to their hotel needs. This is a unique attribute that sets us apart from the other hotels in Bhutan and we are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the special journey we put together for you.

We greatly appreciate your five star review of our hotel and your recommendation to all those who wish to visit Bhutan.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 612 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in uma paro during our virgin trip to bhutan
And it was the best choice we have ever made

We took 5 nights himalayan discovery package, which includes 2 nights stay at its sister property at punakha

It is one of the best holiday we have so far.... The experience is just so unique that you cant find it somewhere else.

The one bedroom villa was amazing. Spacious bathroom, spacious bedroom, and it even comes with your own massage room
So you can do your treatment in the villa instead of having to go to the spa

The service is commendable. Personalized buttler service by dorji, our buttler for the last 2 days was great.

Uma really takes care of our tour activity as well. We would like to thank our guide yongten for his kindness and sincerity. And of course our driver as well.

The food was amazing, served at circular shaped restaurant, called bukhari....

One tip for traveller: bring small note of US dollar, since changing in big note is not very easy... For example i wanted to change 30 USD to ngultrum, but we only have 50 dollar note with me. Since the receptionist holds no US dollar note at their cash, so the only thing we can do is to change the whole 50 dollar instead.

And remember to ask for the receipt for every exchange you made. Because when you want to exchange your remaining ngultrum back to USD at the airport money changer, they will ask for the receipt... (A must have!!!)

All in all, this is the only hotel you should stay because we have experienced it ourselves :)

Enjoy bhutan!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Dan T,

Hello from your friends at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.

Thank you for telling the TripAdvisor Community about your recent stay with us and recommending us so highly. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the tour we organized for you. By having our own on-staff guides and drivers and a full time tour desk, we are able to provide complete packages like the one you chose to anyone wishing to visit Bhutan. This is our specialty.

It is wonderful to hear that you really liked your private Villa and your personal butler, Dorji. We will let him know that you were especially pleased with his attentive guest service.

We know it is a long way from Singapore to Bhutan, but we do hope you will be able to come visit us again soon.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place is a standard 4-5 star hotel, nothing special compared to other five star hotels I've stayed at elsewhere for much cheaper. We stayed in a superior room which had good heating and a proper indoor bathroom for about $360. There is a business center, a small heated pool, a small gym, spa with a nice hot stone bath house but grossly overpriced, stylish decor and a restaurant, and a free yoga class in the morning 7:30-8:30. Don't waste your money with the archery "lesson" which is really just you shooting shoddy bamboo bow and error with little to no instruction. The welcome ginger tea was lovely. The includes breakfast is quite nice at the restaurant with good views, and the dinner is nice but nothing to write home about

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Amy L,

Thank you for telling the TripAdvisor Community about your recent stay at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy our hotel as much as the other guests who have stayed with us. We try our best to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible and we believe most guests like our Uma hotels as demonstrated by our #1 ranking above all other hotels in Bhutan on TripAdvisor, not to mention the reviews we have received in Conde Nast Traveler and Travel & Leisure for being the best hotel in Bhutan and one of the best hotels in all of South Asia.

We are sorry that we were not able to please you.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lovely hotel with its own pool and spa. Try the hot stone bath fantastic after walking around. We had a suite thanks to an up grade. Wonderfull staff and food if only all hotels could induce the same peace and impeccable service

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Clarky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Clarky57,

Greetings from your friends at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Uma with the Trip Advisor Community.
We are happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that the complimentary upgrade to one of our Suites made you so happy. We are especially glad to read about how pleased you were with the relaxing atmosphere and the superior and attentive service of our hotel staff. We do hope you will be able to visit us again someday soon.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Upon check in we were upgraded to a "bungalow". The walk was a distance but not a problem. The room was way more than we needed. two bedrooms, living room, small kitchen...The furnishings were nice and our butler was charming. The view from the room was okay. Dinner was fantastic with a nice selection on the menu. The breakfast was excellent. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindasm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear lindasm 1955,

Greetings from Bhutan.

Thank you for telling the Trip Advisor community about your recent stay at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The "bungalow" you refer to is actually one of our luxury
free standing villas with private butlers and the most luxurious accommodations to be found anywhere in Bhutan. While it may have been more space than you needed, we wanted to give you a chance to enjoy the best we have to offer so your visit would be extra special.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Uma and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent two nights here, mainly to visit the Tigers Nest Monastery.
The accommodation was good & we were upgraded to a suite. The main reason being that we had booked many months before and at the last minutes our booking was cancelled as they let the whole hotel be taken over for a wedding. This meant we had to rearrange all our itinerary at the last minute which was not easy & very annoying.
Whilst staying at Uma we had ordered a picnic for the day trip to the Tiger's Nest, we were leaving early in the morning & there was no one around to give it to us! So we ate in on our return, I would have thought they should have been more efficient. We booked a table by the window in the restaurant twice & on arrival found it had been given to another couple, again not very efficient or caring.
So although our suite was lovely, comfortable & luxurious we felt the overall service was rather slap dash & disappointing as we had had such a lovely time at the previous Uma property in Panakha.
I would definitely not rely on a booking made, even after confirmation, as it seems they do not always keep to the contract.
So all in all a rather disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham_hyland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear graham_hyland2,

Thank you for taking the time to tell the TripAdvisor Community about your recent stay at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.

We regret the inconvenience caused by the error we made in your reservation. We did not cancel your reservation in favor of another request as you claim, rather we made a clerical error in confirming two reservations for the same date and had to honor the one made first which sadly meant we could not meet your original request. It is not true that we do not honor our reservation confirmations. Unfortunately we made a mistake in this particular case for which we are truly sorry. We tried to make it right as best we could and we have taken steps to ensure that these kind of clerical errors will not happen again.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Fabulous views, service, food, guide (Tshewang) and driver (Jamyang). We spent 6 nights in total at the Uma Paro and Punaka in a deluxe valley view room. We could not fault either property and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The day spa was also excellent, with early morning yoga a nice touch. Both our driver and guide were excellent for the 10nights we spent in Bhutan. The roads are challenging and we felt we were in safe hands at all times with our driver Jamyang. Our guide,Tshewang was very knowledgeable and ensured that everything went to plan and making changes to our itinerary on request. We thoroughly recommend using Dorji Rabten (the booking manager at Uma Paro) to arrange your trip. One suggestion we did not do is fly back from Bumthang to Paro ie only drive one way if you are going that far. We did the drive both ways which meant long days.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sommo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Sommo 1,

Thank you for taking time to tell the Trip Advisor Community about your recent stay at Uma by COMO, Bhutan. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and are glad that you felt your guide Tshewang and your driver Jamyang took such good care of you. We are also pleased to know you were so impressed with the attentive nature of Dorji our Asst Reservations Manager. We agree that for those wanting to visit the Bumthang Valley as part of their journey, to fly one way and drive the other. And we thank you for making this suggestion to those who who are thinking of coming to Bhutan for a more lengthy journey to the heart of the country. Dorji and his team can make all the arrangements for such tailor made adventures.

We hope you will be able to visit us again someday.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
3.8 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
5.8 mi away
Zhiwa Ling
Zhiwa Ling
#4 of 16 in Paro
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 38 in Thimphu
722 reviews
13.4 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 38 in Thimphu
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Paro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Paro

Address: Paro Town, Airport Area, Paro, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paro
#1 Spa Hotel in Paro
#1 Family Hotel in Paro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paro
Price Range: $577 - $930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Paro 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Paro offers luxury in the heart of Bhutan. Hotel guests enjoy sweeping views of the pristine Himalayas from the 37-acre estate, comprising a mere 20 rooms and nine villas with a design that is a subtle fusion of indigenous style, and a fresh, clean-lined modernism. COMO Uma Paro also offers adventure. The town of Paro, Bhutan's main cultural hub, lies nearby. Hiking, mountain biking and overnight luxury camping trips are all available. Guests can later restore and indulge in vital holistic therapies at COMO Shambhala Retreat, and dine in style at the Bukhari Restaurant, where local Bhutanese produce is blended with Indian and Western cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BhutanBookings so you can book your COMO Uma Paro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Paro Hotel Paro
Uma Hotel Paro
Paro Uma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing