We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of COMO Uma Paro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
COMO Uma Paro
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the end of a 9 nights circuit , with a Uma guide during the whole time. Our guide made our trip very special by adapting to our pace and showing unlimited knowledge about the local history. Uma Paro is conveniently situated 10mn away from the intnl airport and 30mn drive from the famous Tiger's nest, hidden in the hights in a forest, with outstanding views of the valley and river, built to look like a local temple or house. Our deluxe room was very comfortable, clean , spacious enough , with good and free wifi. Only one restaurant , but excellent food and 3 options every day (local, indian or western). There is a long list of visits possible and inhouse activities (hikes, cycling, archery) , very good spa (the hot stones bath is a must) and great indoor swimmimg pool. The staff is very helpful and efficient. We had a wonderful time there.

Room Tip: A room with a view, definetly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Margot F,

Greetings from your friends at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and recommending us so highly. We truly appreciate your kind words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, from the room, to the food, and the spa. And we are exceptionally pleased that you enjoyed the service of your guide and the rest of our staff as well. We are glad that we now have more friends in Switzerland and we hope you will come back to visit us again soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek,
Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    87
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
89
278
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent 3 nights in a big villa with wife and kids. It’s really a paradise. Best location in Paro- just 10 minutes from International airport. Great view of the Paro valley. Thanks to Phema ( butler)and guide Dorji we had unforgettable time during our 3 night stay in a big villa. Breakfast and dinner were served by Phema in a sitting room. He also kept fire in a stove and fireplace. Phema also helped my son to catch a big bug, my son was very interested. After excursions kids were improving their archery skills, enjoyed swimming pool and did not want to leave for home. We felt ourselves as being in a family! Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a villa, but it could be pricy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Boris a,

Hello from your friends at Uma by COMO, Paro, Bhutan.

We are happy to know that you and your family had such a wonderful time staying with and and we appreciate your sharing your experience and review of our resort with the Trip Advisor community.
We are glad you enjoyed your luxury mountain villa and the services of your private butler, Pema.
Thank you for recommending us so highly to those who wish to visit Bhutan. We hope to see you and your family again.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've never written a tripadvisor review before nor have I ever felt the need to write one, but my recent stay at Uma Paro/Punakha has been so off the chains that I genuinely need to express how much I loved my experience there.

The staff foremost were key...our butler was like a genie who always appeared at the right time yet ever so undisturbedly. Our guide Sonam was knowledgeable, funny and treated us like her friends. One of the most memorable experience was when she helped arranged a private lunch with a monk whom we wanted to learn more about - how cool and personal is that?!

During our many treks, we bumped into other Uma guides. Even though they must have done those treks at least a hundred times, you can tell by the way they carried their own cameras snapping away pictures and pointing out all the flowers & fruits that they themselves really enjoy their jobs and are proud citizens of Bhutan. I LOVE when people are passionate like that.

During the afternoons most guests can play archery or throw darts...the staff joined in and we splitted into teams and it was so much fun!

Food is amazing. Fine cuisine even in developed world standards. There's an emphasis on sourcing locally and everything you eat is tasty and healthy..try the yak carpaccio, it's crazy good.

Basically, if you were contemplating Uma Paro, stop. Just go. You won't regret it.

I also wanted to congratulate the management of Uma for having such a great team of thoughtful and amazing staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Delphine L,

Hello from your friends in Bhutan.

Thank you for taking time to tell the TripAdvisor community about your recent stay at Uma by COMO.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your heartfelt recommendation of our hotel to anyone wishing to visit Bhutan. I noticed that you have praised our top female guide Sonam as having made your trip extra special and the attentive service of the rest of the staff including your villa butler. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will come back to visit us soon again.

Best regards and Tashi Delek,
Norman .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have been staying at Uma Paro and Uma Punkha during our stay in Bhutan..It was an absolute bliss. The two properties have a magnificient view overlooking the valley and the mountains, they are beautifully designed , decorated and maintained and deserved their 5 stars ranking.The rooms are spacious and bright and have all the amenities that you look for in this type of hotel.
I would qualify the food served at the restaurants of both hotels as "Fine Cuisine".
The on- site managers and staff very helpful. You really feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony in Paro and Punakha because the view on the valley is breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Yolmir,

Greetings from your friends at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.

Thank you for taking the time to let the TripAdvisor community know about your recent visit to Bhutan and our Uma by COMO hotels. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed both our properties, Uma Paro and Uma Punakha. We truly appreciate your kind words about our accommodation, the fine cuisine served in our restaurants and welcoming and attentive service of our staff. It is reviews such as yours that have made Uma Paro the #1 hotel on TripAdvisor for Paro, Bhutan and Uma Punakha the #1 hotel on Trip Advisor for Punakha, Bhutan. We are grateful for your generous comments and hope that you will be able to come visit us again soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek,
Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

You just can't go wrong with this property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, ...the staff is very very helpful and jovial. In the end, we were wishing we just had more time to spend here!

Take a room with balcony (deluxe), preferably the corner room on the second floor! If you are in the mood and don't mind the extra spend, go for the villa, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the second floor for greater privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountain_Luver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mountain_Luver,

Hello form your friends in Bhutan!

Thank you Mountain_Luver for taking time to tell the TripAdvisor nation about your recent stay at Uma by COMO, Paro, Bhutan. We are so glad that you enjoyed time with us, even if it was only for a few days. You will just have to come back when you have more time to spend in the magical Kingdom of Bhutan. We are happy you enjoyed your deluxe room overlooking the Paro Valley and the service provided by our staff. We are always thrilled to have guests from India and we appreciate all of your kind words and praise for our Uma hotel.

We hope you will come back to visit us again soon.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,

Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

It would be difficult to get better food in Bhutan - even the King eats there. It's the ideal location for Tiger's Nest or hiking. The view from room 40 is beyond heavenly - it looks over the entire valley. Otherwise opt for a villa, nestled in the Himalayas - which we had on our second stay. The staff are endlessly welcoming. Book Bawa for a massage - he has magic hands. It also has one of the best gift shops in Bhutan with a good selection of hand-embroidered Bhutanese clothes, carefully selected books and artefacts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinePhillips2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear CarolinePhillip...

Greetings from your friends at Uma by COMO, Bhutan.

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay so much from the food, to the spa, the accommodation, etc. We certainly try our best to provide the best hotel accommodation and service in Bhutan and we are thrilled that we met all of your expectations and then some.

We do hope that you will be able to return to visit us again soon.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek,
Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved our stay in Hotel Uma Punakha so we had high expectations for the Paro location. Happy to say we weren't disappointed.

It was a wonderful place to end our visit to Bhutan. Our room was fabulous, spacious with a wonderful view of the mountains from our room. We loved the heated towel racks, the fluffy robes, the wonderful scent that floats through the entire hotel. They have a specially created oil which they use to scent all the public spaces. We loved it so much we went and bought 3 bottles in the gift shop ($20/bottle but worth it).

Once again the staff were attentive, offering professional service and always greeted you with a smile.

Breakfast & dinners were great with delicious western & Bhutanese selections. You could mix & match to your hearts content.
.
Kudos to the staff and management for providing s wonderful hotel experience on our last days in Bhutan.

P.S. I accidentally marked excellent spa experience but I never used it. Did it by accident snd cent figure out how to take it off.

Room Tip: Room 36 had a gorgeous view of the mountain & valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear snowhoney,

Thank you for taking the time to tell the TripAdvisor Community about your recent stay at our two wonderful mountain lodges in Bhutan, Uma by COMO, Punakha and Uma by COMO, Paro. We are glad you were able to enjoy both resorts and pleased with the accommodation, food and the warm and attentive service of our staff. I see you stayed in one of our Deluxe Valley View Rooms and that you were amazed by the spectacular vistas the Paro Valley and the mountains in the distance. The scenery in Bhutan is truly amazing.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope you will come back to visit us again.

Best regards and Tashi Delek.

Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
5.8 mi away
Zhiwa Ling
Zhiwa Ling
#3 of 17 in Paro
362 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
3.8 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 36 in Thimphu
702 reviews
13.4 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 36 in Thimphu
235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Paro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Paro

Property: COMO Uma Paro
Address: Paro Town, Airport Area, Paro, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paro
#1 Family Hotel in Paro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Paro 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Paro offers luxury in the heart of Bhutan. Hotel guests enjoy sweeping views of the pristine Himalayas from the 37-acre estate, comprising a mere 20 rooms and nine villas with a design that is a subtle fusion of indigenous style, and a fresh, clean-lined modernism. COMO Uma Paro also offers adventure. The town of Paro, Bhutan's main cultural hub, lies nearby. Hiking, mountain biking and overnight luxury camping trips are all available. Guests can later restore and indulge in vital holistic therapies at COMO Shambhala Retreat, and dine in style at the Bukhari Restaurant, where local Bhutanese produce is blended with Indian and Western cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and BhutanBookings so you can book your COMO Uma Paro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Paro Hotel Paro
Uma Hotel Paro
Paro Uma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing