We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect start to our Bhutan journey”
Review of COMO Uma Paro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
COMO Uma Paro
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in both Zhiwa Ling and Uma in Paro, and there is simply no comparison. The Uma is by far superior.

Regretably, I was only there one night. The main building is hugged by pines and cedars, and the complex is a combination of authentic traditional buildings, and sensitively designed modern additions in wood and stone. The greeting at the front door was friendly, and check in was smooth if somewhat long. Norman, the GM, welcomed us.

After a brief tour of the facility...including the round dining room overlooking the valley, a quiet and well equipped spa, yoga/exercise room, and surprisingly large indoor heated pool...our butler Sangay led us over to our villa, #15. Although this was the furthest from the main building, it was also the best positioned for views across the valley.

The villas are enormous. There is a sitting and dining room with a wood burning stove, a butlers pantry with refrigerator and supplies, a massage room with twin bed, a large bedroom with king bed, and a huge bathroom and closet combo that includes shower, freestanding tub, double sinks. There is a tv in the bedroom, but it can only be used with DVDs which are available from the front desk. I never turned it on.

Sangay was great. He was always available for any service, including laying and lighting a fire and keeping it blazing away. He also served us in the dining room. Late at night or first thing in the morning, he was there to help us...and that touch of a single point of contact throughout your stay made me feel very welcome and well cared for.

We had three meals at Uma...a lunch, dinner and breakfast. The menu had a reasonable number of options, and in retrospect out of a week in Bhutan a couple of our best meals were at Uma. At one lunch I had a warm roasted vegetable salad that was superb. Breakfast was a buffet plus some hot options, and was probably the least inspired of the three. The adjacent bar was never heavily populated...and in fact while I was there, the hotel seemed only half full.

I had an excellent massage...in the massage room of the villa.

Overall a great experience. If I had to think of things to improve, they would be small. The food is probably an 8.5 out of 10, so could be better still. The gift shop has a fairly uninspired collection and could be upgraded. But those are minor...

Room Tip: Villa 15 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajwsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear ajwsf,

Greetings from the Land of the Thunder Dragon and thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We are very appreciative for all the wonderful praise you have given us. We are glad you enjoyed Villa 15, (the most private) and the services of your personal Villa butler Sangay. We have taken note of your feedback about the food and while we do have the reputation for having the best restaurant in Bhutan, we will make efforts to improve our menu selctions even more. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come visit us in Bhutan soon again.

Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 630 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Uma Paro, bookending our Bhutan trip. Our first arrival was excellent, being greeted by staff at the door and given a hearty welcome with a hot drink and a cold towel whilst our luggage was whisked away. Check in was smooth and faultless, we had booked a superior room (the lowest class of room they do), which was small and fairly basic but comfortable nonetheless. The room was situated along a corridor near to reception which was the main problem - the corridor outside has a hard floor and the noise of footsteps etc outside the room was not conducive to a restful nights sleep.

The evening weather outside was cold so the wood burning stoves, particularly in the bar area were welcome and added to the atmosphere. We had booked a table for dinner and enjoyed a cocktail in the bar beforehand. The dining room is nice in a rustic style (in fact rustic would describe the whole property perfectly), the meal was good as was the service, the wine, as everywhere else we experienced on the Indian subcontinent, grossly overpriced (perhaps it's highly taxed).

Next morning we had an early start and breakfast in the dining room consisted of fairly basic fare (good nonetheless) of a continental buffet and/or hot options. The view from the dining room over Paro valley is simply stunning. Afterwards, although we had requested assistance with our luggage, none came and we ended up doing it ourselves.

Several days later, after visiting other parts of Bhutan, we returned for our second night. We were interested to compare rooms as we had booked a deluxe room for that night, however we didn't get to experience the deluxe room as we had been upgraded to a one bedroom villa. The villa, still rustic in nature, was huge with a large living/dining area, a large bedroom, a very large dressing area with facilities off and, of all things, a private massage room. There was also a small kitchenette with fridge/freezer with a separate entrance for the butler.

The complex was full that night and the bar had been converted into extra dining space so we opted to dine in the villa, our meal was brought, and laid out by the butler who came back and cleared up afterwards - he's on call 24 hours a day apparently (although we didn't test this) but he was back at 5.30am to take our luggage to reception.

There is plenty of trekking direct from the complex and the trek to the Tiger's Lair monastery is a short drive away. We made the mistake of flying in from Delhi one day and doing that trek the next morning - as a result we suffered a bit with the altitude, in hindsight that should have been the last thing we did, having had a few days to acclimatise, but we live and learn.

All in all we enjoyed Uma Paro but wouldn't stay in the so-called superior room again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JulesandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear JulesandSand,

Grettings from the Land of the Thunder Dragon.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of Bhutan and Uma Paro with the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate your very detailed review and the comments you have made. We have taken note of your comment regarding the noise in the guest hallway. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are working on rectifying this situation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our luxury private Villas with butler and hope that this made up for your slight disappointment with the first room you were provided. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

High up on the hills, this hotel is just stunning! Actually, from the lobby I didn't have the highest expecations (we had just come from the St. Regis in Tibet) but once we got to our cottage (we were in #19) we were just blown away. Rustic luxury was the way to describe it! It was like our own little house. The living room had a wood burning fireplace and a dining table full of fruit. There was even a private massage room, huge huge bathroom and big bedroom. Everything was comfortable and clean although I didn't like the soft/cheap feeling of the bed. The room came with a private butler that met our every need and then some. We had breakfast delivered to our room and when we felt like eating in the hotel's restaurant the butler was right there in the restaurant to make sure we had everything we needed.

Our stay was short but wonderful! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay in the private cottages - absolutely worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChefUzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear ChefUzma,

Hello from the Himalayas and the magical Land of the Thunder Dragon!

Thank you Chef for sharing your wonderful experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our luxury villas set amidst the pines and the attentive service of your private Bhutanese butler. We do hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent 7 days in bhutan as our honeymoon trip, we decided to pay extra to upgrade ourselves to uma paro for the last night. Its the best hotel among those we stayed in bhutan for sure, clean, helpful staff with all facilities in good order. But we were expecting more than this as we paid quite a lot for it. We stayed in the deluxe room but its not as spacious as a deluxe room should be, there was no view from the window. Afterall, its a good hotel, just i think it doesnt worth this much of money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuiYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear ChuiYi,

Hello from your friends in Bhutan.

Thank you for sharing you recent experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your feedback. Uma Paro is one of only two luxury hotels in the Kingdom of Bhutan and most consider us to be the better value. This is because of all that Uma Paro has to offer including high end accommodations, excellent food, and a COMO Shambala Spa, as well as the attentive service of our staff. There is also a full gymnasium and a heated indoor pool. We regret that you felt your deluxe room at 32 square meters (344 sq. ft). was not as spacious as you expected. But we are glad you felt the rest of your experience with us was a good one. Please come stay with us again.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Como is definitely renowned for it's great food and having tatsed it in the Maldives I was not disappointed in Uma Paro. The rooms are nice and one can go trekking even for short distance just outside the resort.
If you're into Spa, then the hot stone bath is a must....it is an unforgettable experience. I have been to many luxury hotels and have o say that when it comes to Spa Como definitely sets the standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Laurent D,

Greetings from the Kingdom of Bhutan!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We greatly appreciate your generous compliments about the cuisine served at out renowned Bukhari Restaurant and the excellent service you received in our COMO Shambala Spa. We are glad you have enjoyed our sister property Cocoa Island in the Maldives and we hope you will have a chance perhaps to experience our other luxury resorts in Bali and the Turks and Caicos islands. I'm sure you will enjoy them. In the meantime, we hope you will be able to come back and visit us here in Bhutan. Thank you for staying with us.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is probably the loveliest hotel in all of Bhutan without breaking the bank (hence I am not counting the Amans). Everything was done wonderfully in this Uma. We were on a package so everything was included in our rate. The day hikes and activities were excellent and the food was delicious (on par with any 5-star hotel in western countries). The hotel itself had some very interesting free amenities as well (i.e. a traditional Bhutanese sauna/bath + an indoor heated pool), which we didn't have a chance to use because our schedule was too jam-packed! But we did had a chance to participate the free morning yoga lesson. Our yoga instructor Jessica was excellent and we had such interesting conversations. The only cons I can think of are (1) the spa treatment that I've had - my body massage was sub-standard compared to the ones I've just had in Bangkok (2) The soundproofing in the hallway could be better... All in all a fantastic trip. Would love to return and try the Uma in Punakha.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Sharka,

Greetings from your friends in Bhutan.

We appreciate your taking time to share your experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. Your comment that we are "the loveliest hotel in all of Bhutan" is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed one of our special adventure packages and recommending our hotel to everyone who is interested in coming to Bhutan. We noted your comment about the soundproofing of the rooms and we will work to improve this in the next few months. We do hope you will have the chance to return as mentioned and have time to visit our new Uma Punakha Lodge. I'm sure you'll like it.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I have just (sadly) left Uma Paro. Like 90-95% of the "knowledgeable" world of the Trip Advisor community, we fully agree that this is ONE SPECIAL spot. The most salient observation is the feeling of family. Although you are just one of many discerning guests, you are made to feel special. There is not an employee who passes you who does not smile warmly and look right at you with such genuine kindness. What we loved besides the delicious meals was the attentive restaurant service. You are not dealt one waiter, which may sometimes lead to a wait, but each waiter or waitress attends to every table constantly ensuring guests are satisfied. We had a forest view room and were thrilled with the soft green pine and fir trees outside. we also found that the twice daily room service was superb. I wish I had a cleaning woman who cleaned as well! The spa center is sublime and we fully recommend the hot stone bath and massage combo.
We had chosen a seven night package and all the diligent organization beforehand by a Mr. Dorji Rabten was impeccable. Our guides were also simply amazing.
Finally we made a foray over to Uma Punnakah, superb, nestled in one of the MOST beautiful valleys.
We were extremely impressed with the whole experience.
Thank you, thank you. This really is one of the world's gems.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Alix K,

Kuzuzongpola, Hello from the Kingdom of Bhutan.

Thank you for sharing your experience at Uma Paro and Uma Punakha with the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate the very high praise you have given our small luxury resorts. Especially the warm and attentive service of our staff. They work hard every day to make every guest feel at home and we are glad that you and your husband enjoyed your time with us. We truly hope that you will be able to come back to Bhutan someday soon. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
3.8 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
13.4 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#3 of 39 in Thimphu
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#2 of 39 in Thimphu
749 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#6 of 16 in Paro
243 reviews
13 mi away
Terma Linca Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Paro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Paro

Address: Paro Town, Airport Area, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paro
#1 Spa Hotel in Paro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paro
Price Range: $574 - $756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Paro 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Paro offers luxury in the heart of Bhutan. Hotel guests enjoy sweeping views of the pristine Himalayas from the 37-acre estate, comprising a mere 20 rooms and nine villas with a design that is a subtle fusion of indigenous style, and a fresh, clean-lined modernism. COMO Uma Paro also offers adventure. The town of Paro, Bhutan's main cultural hub, lies nearby. Hiking, mountain biking and overnight luxury camping trips are all available. Guests can later restore and indulge in vital holistic therapies at COMO Shambhala Retreat, and dine in style at the Bukhari Restaurant, where local Bhutanese produce is blended with Indian and Western cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and BhutanBookings so you can book your COMO Uma Paro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Paro Hotel Paro
Uma Hotel Paro
Paro Uma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing