We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The level of service goes down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of COMO Uma Paro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
COMO Uma Paro
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“The level of service goes down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

At first, Bhutan is a unique and absolutelu outstanding destination.
Uma - one of a few luxury hotels in whole Kingdom.
The hotel is very good with their reception area and restaurant.
Fab SPA! The best ever! The masseurs are brilliant.

But, we had some issues.
1) We booked deluxe room with valley view and balcony. But were put in ordinary room with NO view and NO balcony. Described as Forest view (and 100$ cheaper), we asked the reception to do something. The answer was We are fully booked. Tonight and tomorrow. No apologies. No refunds. Finally, after 5 times at the reception, calling to the management of our travel company and Uma's management, we were moved at the next day (not fully booked?).
2) Very loud rooms. You, probably, can not sleep.
3) Very cold at the hotel and restaurant in November.

But, overall, there is no better choice, obviously. Enjoy the other things!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear alexzhdanov,

Greetings from Uma Paro and Bhutan.

Thank you for taking time to tell the TripAdvisor community about your recent visit to our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in the Kingdom. As you say, it is a truly wonderful destination with amazing history, culture and warm and welcoming people.

We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel, particularly our restaurant and spa, but concerned about the few disappointments you mention. I am checking our reservations records to find out if the room provided on arrival was not as reserved. If this is true, it should not have happened and we apologize. I see that you were upgraded to a better room the following day and I hope this made things better. Regarding the restaurant being a bit chilly in the evening, we have increased the heating and hope that this did not cause too much discomfort. Again we regret these inconveniences and are pleased that despite these missteps you found our hotel to be very good overall. Thank you for pointing out areas where we can improve. We appreciate this feedback.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    85
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
272
55
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
139 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just came back from our Nepal/Bhutan trip. The 9 nights in Bhutan we had several different accommondation starting with simple farmhouse to 5star lodge. The Uma Paro was the best stay we had in Bhutan (in comparison to Zhiwa Ling and Taj Tashi). We had a private villa with butler for 2 nights and loved our stay. The service of reception was very professional. The dining in the restaurant was fine, but really cold in the evenings. The heating (with radiator and fireplace) was not efficient for this dining room. Breakfast was very good. The villa was more then comfortable. Every evening when we came back from dinner (our butler drove us with a golf cart) the fireplace was lighted. It was a wonderful experience and we enjoyed the stay very much.

Room Tip: Take a villa, or a room with balcony... otherwise it will not be easy to find a place outside with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilsebein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear ilsebein,

Greetings from the magical Kingdom of Bhutan.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Uma Paro on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt so comfortable in your private Villa with personalized butler services. We have taken note of your comment about the dining room being chilly early morning and we have taken steps to increase the heating so it will be warmer. We are especially happy that you found the service of our staff to be so professional and caring. This is something we strive to accomplish each and every day. We do hope that you will come back some day soon to visit us.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was one of our favorite hotels in Bhutan. The hillside setting offers great views of the Paro valley, and the rooms are very well appointed and recently renovated. The restaurant is excellent, with a good wine list. The spa exceeded our expectations: the gym is small but rather well outfitted, and the massages were some of the best we've ever had. After hiking up to Taktsang Lhakhang, this was a perfect way to cap the day.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Dave K,

A warm hello from the Kingdom of Bhutan!

Thank you for taking a moment to share you recent experiences at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at are luxury retreat set high above the Paro Valley and that you found our guest rooms, food and spa services to be so exceptional. Yo are correct, there is nothing like a soothing massage from one of our COMO Shambala Spa therapists after hiking the trail to the world famous Taksang (Tiger's Nest) Monastery. That truly makes for a magical day.

Thank you for the kind compliments and high praise. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
221 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beautiful hotel, rustic and tasteful with excellent service. The spa is top notch - had one of the best hot stone massages I have ever had here. Free fast internet - which is a treat in Bhutan and the chef is really fantastic. Amazing menu that rivals the US wine country cuisine. Spouse had an archery lesson that he loved. Pool is beautiful and there is yoga daily - what more can one ask for!

Staff is really wonderful - excellent service through and through.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Kelleyanne,

Greetings from your friends at Uma Paro.

We greatly appreciate the high marks you and your husband have given our hotel and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so glad you had such a good time and that you were able to enjoy all that we have to offer here at Uma Paro, from the excellent cuisine, to our COMO Shambala Spa (and the soothing hot stone bath), to the archery lessons and more. Even our indoor heated pool and the daily complimentary Yoga lessons. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are happy that we were able to make your vacation special. We hope that you will be able to return to visit us again soon.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This boutique hotel has an exceptional location, very quite tucked on a wooded hill, with amazing views over the valley. Excellent staff who are very friendly yet understand privacy. The perfect location for starting hikes and excursions around the country. The yoga and SPA facilities are to die for, specially the Himalayan hot stone bath treatment. I will certainly stay here again for a long weekend/yoga retreat break. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaboub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Yaboub,

Hello from Bhutan!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the service of our attentive yet discreet Bhutanese staff and our wonderful COMO Shmabala Spa. You may be interested to know that our main spa in Bali, the COMO Shambala Estate, was recently named the #1 desitnation spa in Asia. We try to provide the same high level of service here in Bhutan and we are glad that you were pleased with everything, especially our signature Bhutanese Hot Stone Mineral Bath and massage. Thank you for recommending Uma Paro and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
185 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012


This has been my third in this hotel. I found it a Wonderful and relaxing place. The location and the view are incredible. it is still one of the best hotels I've been to. Great rooms, Great service, First quality restaurant. The spa is the real gold medal of this hotel......You need to try the Bhutanese bath and the massage. Great, great, great! I would suggest it to everyone who wants to try the best in Bhutan and in paro

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank giorgioeguiomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear georgioeguiomar,

Greetings from your friends in wondrous Bhutan!

Thank you for taking time to share your opinions of Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community.
We truly appreciate all of the accolades and the high praise you have given to our hotel, spa, restaurant and guest service. We are glad that after three visits to Bhutan that you still find Uma Paro to be the best hotel in the country. That makes us very happy. We hope that we will see you for your fourth visit soon and we promise to make it extra special. Thank you again for your generous comments.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Bhutan has got to be at the top of nearly everyone's bucket list. It's a wonderful country with wonderful people. Uma hotel could probably be a hole in the wall and you would still enjoy it just becuz of the euphoria of being in the country but I must tell you it's not a luxury hotel by western standards. Check out the Amankora which is about 20 minutes from Paro city center and it will blow your socks off but at a very hefty price. Enjoy Uma but just don't expect too much. The breakfast buffett is excellent by the way :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear GlobalSwagger,

Hello for the magical Kingdom of Bhutan.

We regret that you did not find our hotel to your liking. We noted that you praised our sumptuous breakfast buffet served daily and included in the room rate and we thank you for that feedback.
We try our best to provide the best accommodation, food and service of any hotel in Bhutan and the clear majority of reviews here on TripAdvisor commend us for being #1 luxury hotel in the country. We are sorry to hear that you do not share that same opinion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Bhutan. And thank you for recommending Bhutan to the TripAdvisor community. You are correct. It is a wonderfulu country iwht wonderful people.

Best regards and Tashi Delek. Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
4.5 mi away
Zhiwa Ling
Zhiwa Ling
#2 of 16 in Paro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
3.1 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#2 of 37 in Thimphu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#5 of 16 in Paro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
13.8 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#3 of 37 in Thimphu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Paro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Paro

Property: COMO Uma Paro
Address: Paro Town, Airport Area, Paro, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paro
#1 Family Hotel in Paro
#1 Spa Hotel in Paro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Paro 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Paro offers luxury in the heart of Bhutan. Hotel guests enjoy sweeping views of the pristine Himalayas from the 37-acre estate, comprising a mere 20 rooms and nine villas with a design that is a subtle fusion of indigenous style, and a fresh, clean-lined modernism. COMO Uma Paro also offers adventure. The town of Paro, Bhutan's main cultural hub, lies nearby. Hiking, mountain biking and overnight luxury camping trips are all available. Guests can later restore and indulge in vital holistic therapies at COMO Shambhala Retreat, and dine in style at the Bukhari Restaurant, where local Bhutanese produce is blended with Indian and Western cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Booking.com so you can book your COMO Uma Paro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Paro Hotel Paro
Uma Hotel Paro
Paro Uma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing