We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
COMO Uma Paro
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Bhutan has got to be at the top of nearly everyone's bucket list. It's a wonderful country with wonderful people. Uma hotel could probably be a hole in the wall and you would still enjoy it just becuz of the euphoria of being in the country but I must tell you it's not a luxury hotel by western standards. Check out the Amankora which is about 20 minutes from Paro city center and it will blow your socks off but at a very hefty price. Enjoy Uma but just don't expect too much. The breakfast buffett is excellent by the way :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear GlobalSwagger,

Hello for the magical Kingdom of Bhutan.

We regret that you did not find our hotel to your liking. We noted that you praised our sumptuous breakfast buffet served daily and included in the room rate and we thank you for that feedback.
We try our best to provide the best accommodation, food and service of any hotel in Bhutan and the clear majority of reviews here on TripAdvisor commend us for being #1 luxury hotel in the country. We are sorry to hear that you do not share that same opinion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Bhutan. And thank you for recommending Bhutan to the TripAdvisor community. You are correct. It is a wonderfulu country iwht wonderful people.

Best regards and Tashi Delek. Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 622 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was situated high up, surrounded by woodland. Wonderful views of Paro and the valley from the circular dining room. The whole place oozed peace and serenity. The food was excellent, served by very polite, friendly staff. Loved the wood burning stoves everywhere and the warm welcome from Freddie the dog. Very comfortable rooms with built in mosquito nets at the windows and an excellent spa with a pool heated to bath temperatures! The floors in the bedrooms were squeaky but that did not detract from the overall experience. This is a definite for a return visit. We moved on to the Taj Tashi in Thimpu which was a beautiful hotel but did not have the surroundings that Uma Paro had.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SilverTabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear 1SilverTabby,

Greetings for the Land of the Thunder Dragon!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much that you would like to return, and we hope to see you again soon. Freddie sends his regards.

Best wishes and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Uma Paro is a perfect location to launch day-trips in the Paro valley and beyond, plus it's just minutes away from the international airport. The team is friendly and eager to help. Top marks for service and follow up, despite initial miscommunications across email. They can also easily set up trips to Thimpu and to the beautiful Como sister resort in Punakha. Norman, Thamu, Kara and their teams were all excellent. Only issue we discovered is the armies of ants in certain places which cannot be eliminated by the vinegar-wielding buddhist staff. That said, I highly recommend both Como hotels and would go back again in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a room with air conditioning for sounder sleep during the warmer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stew808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Stewart B,

Hello from your friends in Bhutan.

Thank you for sharing your experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate all the kind words and youru praise of the hotel staff for their excellent service.
We regret that you were disturbed by some ants during your stay. For some reason this fall we are encountering a small problem with ants that we have not had before. We are taking steps to resolve this situation. We are glad that despite the ants, you enjoyed your stay and have recommended Uma Paro and our new sister property Uma Punakha to future visitors to Bhutan. Thank you.

We hope to see you back in Bhutan again soon. Best regards, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Uma Paro for six nights in a room on the top floor with a gorgeous view of the Paro valley. The room was large, well furnished and had a wonderful bathroom. The floors, however, were really squeeky. How this sounded to the room below I can't imagine. We left our sliding windows (doors?) open to the view until night, then had to shut everything because of the visiting bugs. Some sort of screening would be a great idea. The setting of the hotel couldn't be any better, surrounded by trees, and high enough so the sound of barking dogs didn't really register.

We were awakened the first morning by the chatter and laughter of the cleaning staff arriving at 6:30 a.m. Not a particularly welcome wake up call. We spoke to them about it and they seemed surprised at our request to keep the noise down. Two other times during our stay we had the same thing happen. Not quite what you would hope for in a five star hotel. All hotels should be quiet, but a five star hotel should be particularly so. In addition, the hallways are without carpeting so conversation, shoes and any other noise is magnified.

The food was, without exception, delicious. Meals include an Indian assortment, Bhutanese food, and a nice continental selection. We tried all of them and were never disappointed. The service is a bit confused as others have noted in their reviews. One morning we asked four times for coffee. It arrived as we were getting ready to leave.

The hotel itself is beautiful with a wonderful lobby, a nice entrance, and friendly front desk staff. Our guide was good, and we were particularly impressed with our driver who kept us safe during our visit. The roads are simply mind boggling, narrow, rough and dangerous. We drove to Punakha and Gangtey and several other places. We were lucky enough to stay at Uma Punakha, the newly opened Como hotel, for four days. It was gorgeous, in a most incredible setting. The food was delicious, the staff capable and friendly, and the rooms with astonishing views. The building itself is beautiful. The rooms have every possible amenity, including air conditioning. I can't imagine a more wonderful place to stay. Perhaps by comparison Uma Paro does not impress quite so much. Even so, Uma Paro is a lovely place in a beautiful setting providing luxury and comfort that are not available at many places in Bhutan. Most of the complaints one can make are very minimal. We enjoyed our time and would come back again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view cost a bit more but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dedphred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Dedphred,

Greetings from the magical Kingdom of Bhutan. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Uma Paro and Uma Punakha with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your feedback very much. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were so impressed by our brand new retreat in the spectacular Punakha Valley, Uma Punakha Lodge. But we are quite concerned about the few items you mention where we failed to live up to your expectations.

You are not the first guest to mention that our wide plank natural wood floors can be squeaky at times. To be honest we have noticed recently that a few of the rooms are experiencing this problem. So, we are now making plans to make the necessary repairs to alleviate this squeaky / creaky floor noise. Thank you for pointing this out. We regret any inconvenience caused.

Regarding you second comment about a few bugs coming at night when you had the windows open, we rarely have this problem. But given that our hotel is set in the blue pine forests overlooking the magnificent Paro Valley as you describe, and knowing that many guests, such as yourself, like to open the windows of their rooms so they may enjoy the crisp clean Himalayan mountain air, we will seek to find a way to add some screens to the large french doors that open to the outside so we can prevent this situation from occuring again in the future.

I also would like to apologize on behalf of our housekeepers if they were speaking so loudly as to wake you and disturb your rest early in the morning. This is not our standard and is something we will address immediately. You are correct that the marble tile hallways while quite beautiful to look at due tend to magnify any noise, sowe will remind our housekeeping staff to go about their tasks as quietly as possible. But we will also take your good advice and ask our interior design team to add some attractive carpet runners along the halls to help make the guest room area as quiet as possible.

Regarding you comment about the slow or "confused" service you experienced at breakfast, again, we are troubled that some of our guest service was not up to standard and we will work harder to improve the responsiveness of ourentire restaurant service team .

We appreciate when you say that the few lapses in accommodation and service were minimal, and that you would "come back in a haertbeat", but we take each and every guest comment seriously and we want to do our best to improve in the areas you mention so we may continue to keep our good reputation of being the number one luxury hotel in Bhutan.

Thank you for providing us with this very detailed and honest feedback. We will work to do better and hope that we will not only meet, but exceed your expectations on your next visit to Bhutan.

Thank you and Tashi Delek, Norman Luxemburg, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed in Uma Paro for 3 days as part of my husband's company off-site and I loved it for the most part. It has amazing views, very helpful and cheerful staff, great dinner buffet perfectly catered to our tastes and very well-organised events for our group. What made me totally love the place is their people. We had an 18-month old baby along with us and needed room-cleaning all the time which is not fair really, but the staff was extremely helpful and did not create a fuss about it at all. Our planned itinerary did not work very well because of Bhutanese festival time and many places such as museums were closed, but our guide from the hotel was extremely helpful to find alternatives for us and made our stay truly memorable and great. The only one thing that was not so great about the hotel was that the breakfast buffet did not have too many options, and for any customised orders, the waiting time was way too long.

Room Tip: It helps to ask for a portable fan to be permanently placed in the room because the rooms get a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridhi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Ridhi D,

Greetings from the Kingdom of Bhutan.

Thank you for sharing your experience at Uma by COMO, Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We are grateful for your feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the attentive and caring service of our staff. We appreciate your comments about the breakfast buffet which we include in our daily rate. We offer many fresh fruits, cereals, fresh baked pastries, meats, cheeses, yoghurts and more on our buffet each day, but we will see what we can do about offering even more delicacies. Thank you for this suggestion. We hope to see you again in Bhutan. Best regards, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm a very experienced traveller and I considered this the worst hotel stay in my life. It is not worth paying what I paid at all. I had a fantastic stay in good reliable local Bhutan chain hotels instead which also had very good quality.

There were so many insects in my room including cockroaches, spiders and ants. I ended up having hundred of ants which managed to climb into my suitcase. I had to vacuum, put my clothes in hot boiling water etc in order to kill the ants. We had 2 hours of sleep only because of that. That is what I got after paying hundreds of dollars hoping that it will be my best stay out of Bhutan. The tiles were also extremely slippery which has caused my boyfriend and I to slip numerous times. The wooden tiles is a danger hazard.

The head of house keeping department and general manager has received complains from me including talking to person, phone call and emails but decided to ignore my boyfriend and I instead by giving us zero response knowing that we have left the hotel already and they don't care at all. The food service in the one and only restaurant there is extremely slow. Took us an hour to wait for food.

in general i would say, you pay 5 star hotel PRICE but you get 1 star hotel service. If anything happens, there will be no response no compensation nothing!! So wish you good luck staying in that hotel!!!

Room Tip: Do not choose an expensive room because I had nightmare staying in the suite. Not worth it to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosalinasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Rosalinasmile,

We are saddened by your very big disappointment with Uam Paro on your recent visit. We know that ants entered you room the last night or your stay and we are sorry for this. Our records indicate this occured only once (on the last night on of your stay with us) and we regret that this spoiled an otherwise happy time in Bhutan.

When the ant problem was reported, late at night our front desk staff immediately went to your room to help solve this problem. Our records further show that early the next morning the Executive Housekeeper met with you to apologize for the inconvenience caused and I spoke with you as well to apologize, so we are surprised to read now that you feel we did not respond or show concern about the ant problem.

We are troubled that this incident with the ants makes you feel that your visit to Uma Paro was the worst hotel stay of your life. Our housekeeping department works hard each and every day to ensure the comfort and cleanliness of the our guest rooms and based on guest reviews here on TripAdvisor and elsewhere, the majority of clients give us very high marks for level of accommodation, food and service. Of course, sometimes accidents happen, like ants getting into your room, and we try quickly to fix these situations. We are sorry that you feel that our response in this instance was not enough.

Best regards,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had high expectations for Uma Paro, having had an incredible experience at Parrot Cay (another Uma resort) in the Turks and Caicos islands.

Perhaps our expectations were too high! I must say that in terms of the quality of service, Parrot Cay greatly exceeded Uma Paro. Here's a breakdown:
Food --- Uma Paro restaurant would benefit from healthier choices, smaller portions. Wait staff were attentive but lacked experience, and food took very long to prepare snd serve.
Rooms - we got the cheapest rooms which were a little noisy
housekeeping -- agree with one of the other reviewers whho mentioned the timing wasn't great -- we found especially the turndown service was sometimes too early-- they wanted to come in when we were freshening up for dinner --especially if you've already made reservations in their restaurant, they should be able to co-ordinate their timing better
finally we didn't find the GM Norman very welcoming to us, although he seemed to be quite friendly to some other visiitors!
However, our guide Tsewang and driver Gopal were amazing, as well as the yoga instructor Kara. Also Bawa the masseuse has hands of magic...you cannot leave Uma Paro without getting a massage from Bawa!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank luckbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear luckbamboo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Uma PAro on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. Your generous comments about your guide Tsewang, your driver, Gopal and your Spa therapist Bawa are greatly appreciated and we have recognized and thanked them for taking such good care of you.

At the same time, we are greatly disappointed that we did not meet 100% of your expectations in some other areas. We are surprised that you feel our menus did not provide enough "healthy" choices as virtually all of our food product is organic and prepared fresh every day. We offer an all day "Como Shambala Spa Cuisine' menu in addtion to the renowned contemporary International style cuisine that our chefs prepare daily along with Indian and Bhutanese specialties. We also accommodate special dietary requests without hesitation, such as vegetarian dishes. So we try our very best to provide a wide range of culinary options, including heart healthy dishes each and every day to meet the preferences of our guests. The results of these efforts are reflected in the good reputation that we have earned over the years for having the finest restaurant in Bhutan.. In fact, the majority of guests praise the quality of our cuisine in the reviews posted on TripAdvisor and elsewhere. So we are sad that you found the food not to your liking, as this is an uncommon complaint. If the portions were too large, we apologize. Our chefs were only trying to be generous. But this does not excuse the slow service you mention and we will work to improve the upon the speed of wait staff.

Regarding the turndown service, we apologize if the timing was not appropriate and we will work to ensure that the housekeepers pay better attention to when guests are in their rooms and imporve upon this timing.

Lastly, I must apologize personally if you felt I did not pay as much attention to you as you feel I paid to other guests. I try my best to spend time with each and every client, and to ensure that we are providing the quality of service that Uma by COMO is known for, but I apparently failed
to give you equal time, and I am sorry.

We are glad that you enjoyed our sister property Parrot Cay and hope you will try our other luxury resort getaways, such as our private island in the Maldives, Cocoa Island, or our award-winning COMO Shmabala Estate Health Spa in Bali. We regret that you feel we did not meet your expectations 100%, and we will try harder to do better. Hopefully the next time you visit you will be more satisfied.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing the valuable feedback.

Best regard and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
3.8 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
5.8 mi away
Zhiwa Ling
Zhiwa Ling
#4 of 16 in Paro
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 38 in Thimphu
254 reviews
13.5 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 38 in Thimphu
736 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#5 of 16 in Paro
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Paro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Paro

Address: Paro Town, Airport Area, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paro
#1 Family Hotel in Paro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paro
#1 Spa Hotel in Paro
Price Range: $576 - $797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Paro 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Paro offers luxury in the heart of Bhutan. Hotel guests enjoy sweeping views of the pristine Himalayas from the 37-acre estate, comprising a mere 20 rooms and nine villas with a design that is a subtle fusion of indigenous style, and a fresh, clean-lined modernism. COMO Uma Paro also offers adventure. The town of Paro, Bhutan's main cultural hub, lies nearby. Hiking, mountain biking and overnight luxury camping trips are all available. Guests can later restore and indulge in vital holistic therapies at COMO Shambhala Retreat, and dine in style at the Bukhari Restaurant, where local Bhutanese produce is blended with Indian and Western cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BhutanBookings and Priceline so you can book your COMO Uma Paro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Paro Hotel Paro
Uma Hotel Paro
Paro Uma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing