We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fragrance of Uma Paro”
Review of COMO Uma Paro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
COMO Uma Paro
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Bhutan is the wonder of mother nature. Fragrant mountain ranges, spirit of pristine forests and its gentle people captured my heart. Uma in Paro where we stayed is a treasured place of refuge, surrounded by pine trees with a window to a picturesque valley. Marvellous views from my room at Uma in Paro change from dawn to dusk; majestic in its silent beauty. Living in harmony with nature is Bhutan's rich heritage and Uma in Paro has preserved it well. Many thanks to Norman for sharing his adventure beyond Tiger nest, our wise guide and photographer Yarab, our humourous driver, Jam for a safe journey, sonam for great housekeeping and the team at Bhukari for fabulous meals -- thanks for an unforgettable time of our life....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear MTay16,

Greetings from Uma Paro and the wondrous Kingdom of Bhutan,

We truly appreciate your many kind words about our luxury mountain hideaway here in the Himalayas and are so glad that your visit was "an unforgettable time of your life". This is what we wish to achieve for each and every one of our guests and I appreciate that you took the time to tell about your experience on TripAdvisor. It is especially generous of you to single out the performance of your guide Yarab, your driver Jamyang, your housekeeper Sonam and our food and bevearge team. These individuals along with the rest of the Uma Paro team are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were please enough to give us such high marks. Thank you for your generous comments and we do hope to see you again in the Land of the Thunder Dragon.
Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 619 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Bhutan has developed an index for Gross National Happiness. It measures all government initiatives by their impact on the happiness of the 700,000 Bhutanese population. A wonderful notion - more countries should take note.

Anyway if the same index were applied to guests staying in the Uma Paro - in my wife and my case we were two very happy chappies. It's not super luxurious compared with some of the mega hotels in Asia or even others within the Como Group of which we have now stayed in four. But it is certainly very comfortable and extremely characterful.

If they were giving medals in this Olympic year for attentiveness of service, Uma Paro's restaurant staff would have had a clean sweep of gold, silver and bronze. And the Chef from Bali was absolutely superb - very happy to discuss and produce a meal based on our own requests. His six hour slow-cooked yak was a great new tasting experience for us.

All was not perfect - hence the four star rating. There was a muddle over our room booking which should have been in a deluxe room but we were put in a superior (the lowest grade). Norman - the recently arrived GM - soon sorted this out and upgraded us after the first night. This was just as well as the Superior rooms are not great - no view and can be a bit noisy.

Also the booking process was bit convoluted and response to my e-mails from the Hotel's reservations team was a bit tardy and not always clear. I gather that changes have been made in that department so hopefully things are better now.

But this hotel was a wonderful base from which to see this part of Bhutan and in our opinion a much better bet than the Aman alternatives.

Room Tip: Avoid superior rooms until they improve them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pugly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Pugly72,

Hello from the Himalayas and thank you for telling the TripAdvisor community about your visit to Bhutan and Uma Paro. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to sort out the mistake made with your reservation to your ultimate satisfaction. We are also quite pleased that you felt the food and the service provided in our Bukhari restaurant was deserving of a "gold medal". This is very high praise and our team food and beverage team is very happy to know that you enjoyed all that they did for you. We truly hope that you will have the chance to come stay with us again. Thank you for the generous comments and your recommendation of Uma Paro to others who may wish to visit Bhutan. We appreciate this very much.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The same position as Paro Dzong! Wonderful bird view of Paro city, indeed, beside birds no one will disturb you. Hotel management is really dutiful,no one ,including us,can escape from eyes of there general manager,fragrance of hotel soap still remain...
It's may not often,instead of birds,I was waked up by the sound of high heel shoes in a early morning,put carpet in corridor will help?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorgentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear sorgentes,

Greetings from the magical Kingdom of Bhutan and thank you for sharing your happy experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us. Sorry that the sound of footsteps in the hallway sometimes disturbed the early morning peace and quiet and sound of the lovely birds singing in the pine trees. We are going to put in the new carpets you recommend along the marble hallways so the only sound guests will hear as they wake to the morning sun is that of the birds and the gentle breezes passing through the blue pines. Thank you for the very kind comments and positive review of your stay with us. We do hope that you will come back to visit us soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Uma in Paro gets a lot of reviews and almost all of them are very positive. Rightly so!
We, a family of 5 with grown up children, stayed in the Como Villa for 7 nights. We wanted to avoid spending 5 hours a day in a car trying to see all of Bhutan - a succesful consept - there is a lot to do and see in Paro, and in nearby Thimphu and Haa valley.
We had wonderful comfort, athmosphere and views from the villa, excellent athmosphere and facilities including dining in the main building. Food, and service by everybody, was excellent. We had a wonderful butler taking care of us including various dining and other quickly planned arrangements, and an excellent and very pleasant guide who planned and took care of us for all day activities in a perfect way - good english, good guiding and explanations, good support during physically tough treks and good planning adjusted to our interest and abilities.
Uma coordined our entire program in an excellent way, including external dining and hotels.
They have got their concept absolutely right for Bhutan - attentive and friendly relaxed staff, excellent Bhutan, Indian and modern western food, and a luxerious interior consept based on solid natural building materials. High quality, but not over the top, which would feel awkward in Bhutan. We hade a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Pompe,

Hello from your friends at Uma Paro. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us and the happy experience you had in Bhutan. We are glad that we were able to provide you and your family with a memorable vacation and that you enjoyed the luxury of our COMO Villa, the quality of the food and the warm and attentive service of our staff. The staff is so happy to read that you had "a fantastic holiday" and hope that you and your family will be able to return to visit us again in the future.

Thank you for recommending us to others who may wish to visit Bhutan.

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and two adult children stayed in two of the villas for 4 nights.
We ate breakfast lunch and dinner there.Everything was absolutely wonderful.
I think it ranks up there with the Aman resorts.

If I had a make a recommendation to the management,there is no point in having a butler if you are going to nickle and dime for things like laundry.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Vvagabond,

Greetings from the Kingdom of Bhutan.

Thank you for sharing your experience at Uma Paro with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your good review and your comment that everything "was absolutely wonderful".

We regret you feel that charges for doing laundry are not fair. Our Villa butlers, whose services are included free of charge for those staying in either our one or two bedroom Villas, do virtually everything for guests while in residence, but guest laundry for all clients is still sent to housekeeping for washing and pressing purposes Like most hotels, this is a service that is charged for, even at those those hotels around the world which provide butler services like we do at Uma. We are sorry if there was any misunderstanding regarding our butler services, but at this time we do not offer complimentary laundry.

Thank you for your high praise of Uma Paro and we hope that you and your family will be able to come back to stay with us soon.

Best regards and Tashi Delek,,
Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the UMA Panaka, which has just newly opened. The whole experience was exceptional. The lodge was a little bit of paradise. The friendliness of all the staff made you feel very relaxed and welcome. The food was also by far the best I have had in Bhutan and is worthy of its 5 Stars. While the journey is a little long to get there it was worth every minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTeen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear MsTeen1967,

Greetings from your friends in Bhutan,

Thank you for sharing your happy experience at our brand new Uma Punakha luxury lodge in the beautiful Punakha Valley with the TripAdvisor community

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of our new Uma hideaway. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and have given us top marks for having the best cuisine in Bhutan. This is what we are striving for and we are glad you feel the dining was exceptional We are also happy to read that you felt each and every aspect of your stay was first class.
Thank you for the kind words and this generous review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Uma Punakha and Uma Paro.
Best regards, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

this new hotel at punakha is a gem-terrific location,great food and service,one can now stay in punakha in comfort without being forced into the aman,the only luxury option before this.
the sound of the river below is soothing,the treks around the hotel lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altravelindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman L, General Manager at COMO Uma Paro, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear altravelindia,

Hello from your friends in Bhutan.

Thank you for sharing your experience at our second luxury lodge in Bhutan, Uma Punakha. We are pleased to know that you had a good time and that you found the service and cuisine to be excellent, We agree with you that the hotels setting overlooking the Mo Chu river and only a few kilometers from the Punakha Dzong us quite stunning and that our location allows for some very enjoyable treks leaving right from the hotel grounds. Next time you visit you need to try the raiver rafting from the hotel to th Dzong. An amazing trip by river through the valley past rice paddies, traditional Bhutanes homes and anceint monasteires.

Thank you again for your very generous comments. We hope to see you again in Bhutan

Best regards and Tashi Delek, Norman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
3.8 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
5.8 mi away
Zhiwa Ling
Zhiwa Ling
#4 of 16 in Paro
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Le Meridien Thimphu
Le Meridien Thimphu
#1 of 38 in Thimphu
254 reviews
13.5 mi away
Taj Tashi
Taj Tashi
#3 of 38 in Thimphu
729 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#5 of 16 in Paro
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Paro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Paro

Address: Paro Town, Airport Area, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paro
#1 Spa Hotel in Paro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paro
#1 Family Hotel in Paro
Price Range: $573 - $1,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Paro 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Paro offers luxury in the heart of Bhutan. Hotel guests enjoy sweeping views of the pristine Himalayas from the 37-acre estate, comprising a mere 20 rooms and nine villas with a design that is a subtle fusion of indigenous style, and a fresh, clean-lined modernism. COMO Uma Paro also offers adventure. The town of Paro, Bhutan's main cultural hub, lies nearby. Hiking, mountain biking and overnight luxury camping trips are all available. Guests can later restore and indulge in vital holistic therapies at COMO Shambhala Retreat, and dine in style at the Bukhari Restaurant, where local Bhutanese produce is blended with Indian and Western cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BhutanBookings so you can book your COMO Uma Paro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Paro Hotel Paro
Uma Hotel Paro
Paro Uma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing