We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Peaceful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tiger's Nest Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during our last leg of Bhutan Trip. The hotel is located around 7 kms from city center of Paro. The location of the hotel is right opposite the Tigers Nest Monastery. Hotel was well maintained and beautiful. It has a large lawn in front of the entrance which gives a good view of the valley. The rooms were Cozy and bedding was comfortable. Bathrooms were clean and had hot water supply. WIFI is available in the Lobby and restaurant. The look of the hotel was quite Bhutanese with all wood carvings. Good place to stay during a visit to Paro.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms facing the Tigers Nest. Rooms on the back side have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyager1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed there for 2 days during our biking trip across Bhutan in April 2013

We enjoyed our time at the hotel even though we were out most of the time. One great thing I liked was the 24/7 avaiability of hot water which is a blessing when you want to take a long dip in hot water tub after a tiring hike to Tigers Nest monsatery.

The staff were very friendly & Helpful including the Manager ( Bishnu).

Rooms were decently spacious with clean beds & linen . Room & Bathroom were quite comfortable . Another good aspect was the wooden flooring which gave the hotel a charm of its own.

The food espcially the breakfast and take away lunch was pretty good as well

Overall enjoyed the stay there and would return to the hotel next time.

Only draw back I felt which really is not a draw back was the distance from town. having said that its just 10-15 mins drive at the most and the distance gives a calmness to the hotel.

Not to mention the distance to Tigers Nest base is lesser from this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The first stop on our tour of Bhutan was Paro and we stayed at the Tiger's Nest Hotel for four nights. The staff were welcoming and attentive and showed us to our spacious room in a cottage at the back of the main hotel building. Our bed was very comfortable and the room cosy. The Bhutanese architecture and furnishings are very attractive and the view just amazing - the best we had in our tour of Bhutan. Being vegetarian, we were surprised and happy to find the restaurant serving delicious vegetarian food. Finding something suitable to eat can be a problem in some hotels, especially as my husband is also gluten intolerant. Should we have the good fortune to return to beautiful Bhutan, we would stay at the Tiger's Nest Hotel again and would certainly recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: The separate cottages are wonderful, we felt like we were on a second honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsering C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were staying 4 nights in the hotel Tiger's nest during our trip to Bhutan in March 2013. We are convinced that it is one of the best options in the Paro valley. Although Lonely Planet advises The Gangtey Palace Hotel and the Kitchu resort as the best places for staying, we went for the Tiger's nest and weren't disappointed. First of all we very much liked the location. It is the furthest hotel from town located in a quite peaceful area opposite the cliff where the Tiger's nest monastery is nested. (Take you binocular with you!). Almost all rooms have a view at the Paro valley and the monastery. The distance from the center won't bother you as your tour agent will be always driving you by car. You can take a nice walk to the peasant village right from the hotel. The Drugyel Dzong and Kitchu Lhakhang are only 10 min drive by car.

The staff is very helpful, courteous and are willing to do their best for you. You may find them shy or subservient but take into account the culture difference. The manager of the hotel Mr. Bishnu has 12 years experience in the hotel industry and is a very friendly guy. He is a gracious host and treats all visitors with pleasure. We enjoyed talking to him every evening. Dawa Zam serving in the restaurant is a very nice lady speaking English well. Actually although all staff are quite young they managed to deliver a good quality service.

The food is vegetarian, of a good quality but quite blend. Meat is available on request. You can notice that the cook is putting his hart and soul into the preparation. It is made from simple but pure ingredients. Please don't count on a sophisticated Continental cuisine, as international cuisine is very limited and most hotels and restaurants in Bhutan offer the standard Chinese, Indian or Bhutanese fare. You can expect a nice buffet if the hotel is fully packed. If there are a few guests you can order a la cart and they prepare for you a dinner or breakfast. Mr. Bushnu told us that they are hiring from June on a great Indian cook.

The rooms are basic but clean, spacious and with a well functioning shower. The bathrooms have a floor heating. We found that it is quite cold in the halls and the lobby of the hotel, but the rooms are fitted with 2 or 3 heaters. WI-Fi is available in the lobby of the hotel and it is free.
We also visited the Kitchu resort and the Gangtey palace and were happy we made this choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samorakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved my visit to Bhutan. Amazing people, beautiful scenery and a relaxing place to visit. In Paro I stayed at the Tigers nest Resort. The facility is very nice, new and in great shape. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious (shower had plenty of hot water). The views are amazing and you can see the Tigers nest Monastery from your window. The meals served at the facility were very fresh and tasted amazing. My only complaint would be that the owners of the facility do not pay the 10% gratuity we pay them to the staff. Most of the staff had not been paid for a few months- not very honorable owners. The owners should pay up as the staff of the hotel does their jobs even though they have no idea when they will get paid. The staff made my stay very comfortable and memorable. Recommend visiting Bhutan especially if you enjoy hiking and nature.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nkonowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the hotel in 2 years. The location is wonderful and has fantastic view of the unbelievable Tatsang Monastery at Tiger's Nest. We stayed in R.No 105 for 2 nights and found the shower didn't work. The room heater was inadequate and the management though still the same, was tad tired. Perhaps it was their lean season; there were only two serving staff. Breakfast was mediocre. Dinner was splendid though. Internet worked even in the rooms, unlike most hotels in Bhutan which have wi-fi restricted only to lobby.

It is one of our favorite hotels in Bhutan and I hope the owners do a refit of the plumbing. In Paro, will still select this hotel for value and serenity.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the Tiger's nest monastery . Request to check the bathroom before a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingStar2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Thanks to the generous and cordial hospitality of a very friendly manager and his team of staff, my three nights' stay at Paro after a messy whirlwind tour of North Bengal was just as relaxing and homely as I had wanted it to be. Lovely decor, freshly prepared food, very clean and cosy room with all standard amenities, peaceful ambience, great location and a very friendly, helpful and accommodative staff ... all these made my stay in Bhutan more enjoyable and refreshing. Right from the beginning the service was excellent and always on time. Since it was Winter they provided one room heater and offered to arrange one more on demand. Very kind of them indeed!They even helped me set up a daily itinerary for sight seeing trips in and around Paro and arranged a friendly guide and a car at a very reasonable rate. I wish I had a few more days at hand to enjoy their hospitality a little more.

In short, I visited Bhutan after a gap of 20 long years......and Tiger's Nest made me fall in love with this beautiful country and it's lovely people once more. I will always cherish this memory in my heart and will be looking forward to come back to Bhutan....to Paro...and to Tiger's Nest many times more in near future.

Room Tip: Always get in touch with the manager by email etc. in advance and let them know about your preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_shan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paro hotels
2.3 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#6 of 16 in Paro
238 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
4.5 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
6.5 mi away
COMO Uma Paro
COMO Uma Paro
#1 of 16 in Paro
619 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger's Nest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger's Nest Resort

Address: Satsamchorten, Drugyal Highway, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Phone Number:
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Price Range: $67 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiger's Nest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Nest Resort has 36 luxurious rooms of the latest state-of-the-art technology - is a unique hotel that has incorporated the best of traditional Bhutanese design with intricate wood carvings, oak floors & staircases, inlaid stone pathway and slate roofs. It also has these facilities: a) WIFI or wireless network with broadband connections on the ground floor areas of dining, lounge, porch, bar and business center; in addition rooms have internet connections; this is provided free to our guests, b) state of the art bathrooms (of granite and wood) are fitted with i) under-floor heating with individual thermostat for temperature control; ii) telephone connections to front-desk, dining, housekeeping; conference iii) bath tub with hot/cold running water, towels, shampoo etc, Food : Tiger Nest Resort is the only vegetarian hotel in Paro. Foods available are Bhutanese cuisine, Indian, Chinese and other specialty that is taken upon order to your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Tiger's Nest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing