We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food”

Sonam Trophel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 44 Restaurants in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: There a hotel also with name Sonam Trophel but restaurant is different at different location. The restaurant is on the main street on your right hand side if you are driving up,The Hotel is a little above the junction towards the bridge.the restaurant is on the main street on your right hand side if you are driving up,The Hotel is a little above the junction towards the bridge. Ask any of the local shops in Paro about Sonam Trophel Restaurant and i am sure anyone can direct you since its a small town.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Tried several local restaurants in Paro and by far, the food at Sonam Trophel tastes the best. Try their Indian and Bhutanese food - very good!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Friendship88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    88
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good choice of standard Asian Food”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Was there when I as in Paro, good spot to try standard Chinese fried rice and some curries. But make sure to arrive early as the order took quite long to deliver and the restaurant has much limited seats.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChenYiJian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Better of the remaining”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was inspired by the high rating on TA to visit this. It is essentially like any other restaurant in Paro main market area. It is part of a hotel. Order was placed on phone 2 hrs in advance. Great attempt to provide service, but nothing remarkable about the food or ambience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krishna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“very tasty food”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

my son told me that this is one the best restaurant of Paro and frist day we went there it was then we tried next day and we found my son was right. Food was very tasty and service was efficient.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bamba1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food but horrible service”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Excellent home cooked food. We tried chinese and local food plus some indian stuff. All freshly cooked and tasty. However it took 55 minutes for them to serve food and we were only customers since it was 315pm! But then almost 99% bhutan restaurants have this problem. So may be order food and go shopping. 6 of us ate like there was no tomorrow and paid 1400 indian rupees. Desserts included and no alcohol.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreedhar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonam Trophel Restaurant also viewed

 
Paro, Paro District
Paro, Paro District
 

Been to Sonam Trophel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing