We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Galing Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galing Resort
Ranked #20 of 38 Paro B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is situated on the banks of Paro River and therefore an excellent place for picnic sort of activity. The hotel serves very good food and we were quite happy with Chef's peronal attention to our requirement. The manager, Kinley, is very helpful like most of the staff.

The only problem was the house flies in the entire hotel. I suggest that hotel should install electrical fly catcher at key places to avoid such annoyance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urvgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
24
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is located at approx 2kms from the center of the city.
The location of the hotel is along the river. However, this doesn't have a great view.
The room and bathroom was spacious. As we entered the room, the bathroom tub was filled with dead flies.
However, upon request all the flies were cleaned.

The food service was not up to the mark as the main chef was supposedly ill and not at work.
So, we had to manage with limited menu and with whatever the replacement cook can offer.

The main highlight of the stay was a performance by the local artists that was arranged for another group of people.
The performance was private and was on the terrace. We couldn't stop ourselves from attending it, as the sound of the music was reverberating in the hotel.
There were numerous selected performances that included a Cham, Black neck crane dance, folk dance etc.,

However, the staff were patient and assisting in the crisis of missing chef..
The stay wasn't bad. It is near to the one of the oldest Dzong in Paro and also on the way to Taktsang.

If you had better experiences, please share.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srikanth_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in the Galing our first night in Bhutan after traveling 3 weeks in India. We had room 999 (at least that is what the key said) which was a spacious top floor room with a comfortable king size bed overlooking the Paro river below. The only drawback was that it had a bathtub with a short shower hose The water was hot but it would only fill the tub about 4-5 inches before turning cold so I would recommend using the shower hose as soon as possible. The staff was very attentive and the two meals we had were excellent, especially the dinner that featured fresh grilled fish with a curry marinade, steam vegetables, mash potatoes and chocolate mousse. At night we actually had to turn the heaters down because it was too hot. We look forward to spending our last night in Bhutan there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Galing Resort is placed half a mile from the picturesque small town Paro,Bhutan.This resort
is a perfect place to enjoy the solitude,beauty of nature and listen to sound of stream passing
by.The rooms are specious and staff are well behaved.

Room Tip: room overlooking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabinjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
1.0 mi away
Pelri Cottages
Pelri Cottages
#13 of 17 in Paro
50 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Amodhara
Hotel Amodhara
#32 of 36 in Thimphu
67 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tiger's Nest Resort
Tiger's Nest Resort
#10 of 17 in Paro
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 17 in Paro
305 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#6 of 17 in Paro
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rema Resort
Rema Resort
#8 of 38 in Paro
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galing Resort

Property: Galing Resort
Address: Tshendona, Paro, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Galing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing