We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Paro with an awesome view”
Review of Pelri Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pelri Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Paro
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Paro with an awesome view”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were recommended to come here by a nearby resort which didn't have accommodation that time. This resort is situated little away from the Paro town at the end of a steep hilly road which has many other resorts on the way.

It has independent cottages with clean spacious rooms with electric heaters and wooden floors. Ours had a separate bedroom and a separate sitting room with TV, Sofa and even a balcony with a lovely view of rice fields in the Paro valley and mountain range behind where you could just sit on the chairs and enjoy the view. You can also have a nice time walking around the resort which has a well maintained garden, they even grow many fresh vegetables for the restaurant.

The hotel staff especially the owner Mr. Peter and his wife were very friendly. The restaurant food was just okay not too great. There were lots of Bhutanese and Indian dishes on the menu. Due to the distance from the main Paro town I wouldn't recommend it if you do not have your own transport. The main town is around 4-5 kms from the resort via a steep road.

Room Tip: Try to get the cottages with great view of the Paro valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivekY_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were a group of 10 and stayed two nights at Pelri Cottages. Well, the cottages are nice to stay, comfortable, calm and well furnished. The location of the Pelri is very good and one can enjoy excellent valley view from the rooms, which are valley facing. The food was overall very good but the service of the staffs were a bit slow and one had to give the food order at least 2 hours ago. We used to give our dinner order in the afternoon itself and the breakfast order in the previous night. The overall experience staying this hotel was very good, as it helped us to feel the stay amidst the nature. They also supplied tea and snacks in very beautiful manner when we went to Chele La. I can still remember a superb buffet dinner, which was pre-ordered. Where ever I went in Bhutan, I felt that the Bhutanese people are very calm and quiet, they do not rush for anything. So be patient for the delivery of your order. It will definitely satisfy you, but will take time to come. If one can bother this delay, he will enjoy Bhutan a lot. The same is to be applicable to pelri also, slow but satisfactory.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms which has valley-facing window (Inside the apple orchard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subir_bhadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we were there on 22.05.2013 to 24.05.2013 for 3 nights and booked 4 rooms.
We were received by Miss. Minu , maid servant.
Mr.Vishwajit - the asst. cook served us with delicious Indian food and also with Bhutanese dishes.
We ate some fish dishes also.
Despite the fact that the main chef Mr.Peter was on vacation , Mr.Vishwajeet handled the kitchen very nicely.
Overall very nice food and very comfortable and memorable stay.
Certainly a place to revisit for vacation.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmpethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Pelri CoTtages is a great experience to stay in. We visited Paro during Nov 2011 and came back with awesome memories. Pelri Cottages forms a key part of the experience . The rooms are cozy and neatly done. We stayed in the valley facing rooms which had nice views. The service was quite good. The best thing, however, was the food which we happily devoured. The Cottage Manager, Peter, is a friendly gentleman and takes good care of stuff. One warning, don't try the salt bath, not worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmitKuttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night at the beginning and end of my trip. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful; food was good especially for a vegetarian. Although the rooms wereprobably seen as basic by western standards, they were spotlessly clean and the views across Paro valley were fabulous. It was lovely, restful retreat from the hustle & bustle of Paro festival. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed as a couple for 3 nights here. Overall we found the stay to be average.
Positives:
Set amidst beautiful scenery, perched on a mini hill, with very clean, cozy & beautiful bhutanese decor cottages, that enjoy gorgeous views of the hills right from its balcony! The staff is very welcoming & helpful. Great activities offered here include, authentic hot stone bath overlooking the hills (highly recommended), archery etc.
Negatives:
Cold, damp & dark rooms. Very hard bed, uncomfortable almost. An intimidating dog. Average food. Location quite inaccessible if you are planning to walk around to the city.
Recommendation:
If creature comforts really matter to you, this is not for you. Although, if you are after a true, authentic bhutanese experience or seeking to soak in peace & calm, go ahead, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purvimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Glad did not stay more than one night, cold, dark and very basic bedroom, beds and pillows very hard, thin bedding, very basic, cold bathroom, barking dogs, food nothing special, pleasant valley view, cottages look better from the outside than in. Staff pleasant though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unimpressed749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
0.6 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 17 in Paro
305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Namsey Chholing Resort
0.4 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#6 of 17 in Paro
218 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tiger's Nest Resort
Tiger's Nest Resort
#10 of 17 in Paro
163 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Norbuling
Hotel Norbuling
#4 of 36 in Thimphu
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelri Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelri Cottages

Property: Pelri Cottages
Address: Olathang, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelri Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Pelri Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing