We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room looks new but electrical appliances are old”
Review of Metta Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metta Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 38 Paro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

On the last leg of my Bhutan I was really looking forward to eating some Malaysian food in the hotel. What a disappointment! The food was terrible and if the guests want to taste Malaysian food it must be ordered in advance as an additional charge.

My first night at the dining room felt as if I was in a school canteen. It was packed with school children and they were really noisy. Dinner that night was buffet style but the cooks prepared two dishes of meatballs!! One was fried and the other was steamed and this was the main dish. The kitchen team and the cook lack imagination and provided what was available in the refrigerator. I could not swallow the food that night and the following 3 days as the food was inedible. It was a good time to lose some weight.

Although the hotel looks new, the heaters are noisy and the electricity keeps tripping because of overload. The bathroom looks clean and new but one cannot close the windows as there is a awful smell thereafter. So we need to keep the windows open even though it is freezing temperature outside.

The staff are really nice and helpful and did what they could in the circumstances to keep the guest happy.

The plus point for this hotel is that there is free wifi and TV to entertain the guests on cold winter nights.

Room Tip: Make sure that all the electrical appliances in the room works before you accept the allocation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine T, Owner at Metta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Soohiang,
Greetings from Metta!
On November we indeed have few student groups staying with us. We apologized the dining room filled with young and joyful crowd that is too noisy for you , if you have told us we are happy to set your table at the bar area. On that evening the original menu was mushroom spaghetti and Manchurian vegetable ball. However, last minute the student group wanted meatball spaghetti instead. We felt so sorry that our food choices disappointed you so much. Beside for the Malaysian food has to be additional charges due to all ingredients are sent by air postage and taxed as well.

We apologized; we have not met your gastronomy appetite.

Regarding the noisy heaters, you could have informed us, our housekeeping team will change it for you immediately. The power tripping has been occurring for past months due to power surge in Paro Valley. We have reported the matters to Bhutan Power Corporation; they said they are upgrading the power transformer in Paro to improve the power supply for the whole Valley.
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments and experience are taken seriously and allow us to improve and deliver an experience that exceeds expectations in the future.

Tashi Delek
Metta
Sharine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 418 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent our last 3 nights of a 10-day Bhutan tour at the Metta resort in Paro. The rooms were spacious and clean, albeit chilly particularly at night, as we visited in wintry December. The hotel provided heaters in the room and bathroom and also offered electric blankets for tropical visitors like us, who were probably less able to tolerate the really cold nights.

I believe our group's general consensus was we had the best tasting food at the resort out of the many hotels we have stayed throughout our trip. The butter naan at dinner was melt-in-your-mouth delicious and we had the pleasure of enjoying very tasty fried rice noodles for one early breakfast before heading to Tiger's Nest. The owner of the resort was kind and friendly and made an effort to enquire about our stay. The staff also went out of their way to help us with luggage, heating issues and other requests in a prompt manner.

It was overall a good experience and we would recommend the resort for the warm hospitality extended to us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank velvetcrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine T, Owner at Metta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Velvetcrush,
Greetings from Metta!
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience with Metta. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors.
Our foods are the highlights for the Asian who stayed with us. We are not the gourmet restaurant serving designer food choices but readily to indulge and please our guests with their comfort food when they crave for it or enough of chilies cheese with rice.
We continue to strive very hard to provide all comforts in our hospitality level. My team bow and say “Kadinchela” and hope for your return soon.
Metta
Sharine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel offers comfy and well decorated accommodatiom. The meals are good although they don't vary the menu very much. The staff is very friendly, most of them women, and even though they seem to be fragiles they will carry your heavy bags. Free Wi Fi is available but only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMakyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine T, Owner at Metta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear EMakyama,
Greetings from Enchanting Metta!
We appreciate you taking the time to provide positive feedback on Tripadvisor community column. Your feedback is the key to our success.
Our lady staffs bow and say “Kadinchela” for appreciating their mighty strength. Our room do have Free WiFi.
Once again, I and the entire staffs at our hotel thank you for your very kind words.
Tashi Delek!
Metta
Sharine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Metta Resort. The staff were all very friendly, responsive and extremely helpful. The owner even came to chat with us during the 2 nights that we are staying there, sharing with us his plans for the hotel and to get our feedback. I love the dining area, bustling and warm and cosy and not to mention the delicious food. On the last night, we had a cultural performance at the courtyard, together with a big bon fire and drinks on the house. A fantastic finale to end our trip.

I would also like to thank the cheerful and sweet Diche, who offered to pack our breakfast for take-away knowing that we have to leave the hotel at 5 am to catch our plane. Special thanks for her thoughtfulness. All kudos to the staff :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine T, Owner at Metta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Lucbabe,
Greetings from Metta!
Thank you for the positive feedback! Our staffs take pride in their services and particularly Dechen are so thrilled she catered to your needs.
Thank you again for the great feedback and our staffs looking forward to welcoming you upon your return to Metta Resort in near future.
Metta
Sharine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a pleasant 3 days at the Metta and can highly recommend the Hot Stone Bath. Our room was spacious and the staff was helpful. Breakfast was not a buffet, which was nice, but the dining room did not have enough tables set for the guests. While the hotel is a bit far from town, most hotels are in Paro.
I laugh at the complaint about the road ... many hotels in Bhutan are off rocky unfinished roads!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine T, Owner at Metta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear SCWilly,
Greetings from Metta!
Thank you so much for your review and comments. First I want to apologize and thanks for your patience waiting for the table to be set for your breakfast, despite we are running a full house we have no excuse for that.
We appreciate so much you had a wonderful experience with our Spa facility.
I appreciate you sharing your overall positive experience and hope to have you back with us in the near future. Tashi Delek!
Metta
Sharine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Though it was freezing and they had to try multiple options to heat the room, the staff were very very helpful. They always brought our food into the room on time, since it was too cold to take our baby out in the nights. Enjoyed the spa massage as well. Totally loved our 3 nights there. Will definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lekshmimohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine T, Owner at Metta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Lekshmimohan,

Greetings from Metta Resort!

Thank you for taking time to post your warmest review in Tripadvisor community column.
Our latest additional heating system in the room added great help to our guests.
We are happy to know our room are warm enough to keep your baby cozy in this freezing weather.

Gladly! you enjoyed our Spa facility in the hotel.

Most importantly your warmth message has been shared to others.
Looking forward to your return in future.

Metta
Sharine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The owners Sharine and Tobgay have thought of everything to ensure a comfortable stay for their guests. Everything was perfect - from the spacious room to the soft bed, great food, attentive staff and gorgeous views. I appreciate the thoughtful touches in the room: three heaters (one in the bathroom!), slippers, robes, extension cord with international plugs, extra floor towels, emergency light, torchlight. Meals were hearty and tasty, and we couldn't get enough of the ginger cake and garlic nan. After a few days in Thimpu and Punaka, we returned to Metta and everyone spontaneously quipped: "Home, sweet home!"

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarissachou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine T, Owner at Metta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Clarissachou,
Greetings from Metta your Loving Kindness Resort!

Thank you for taking your precious moment to write a review with Tripadvisor community column.
Your comments are shared and make a difference and we all appreciate the kind words and review.

We are so happy our throughtful amneties are useful for our guests and you found your comforts in Metta home sweet home!

I and my team looking forward to your return someday soon!

Metta
Sharine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
1.3 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
0.8 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#6 of 16 in Paro
238 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Meridien Paro, Riverfront
15.9 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 38 in Thimphu
207 reviews
3.3 mi away
COMO Uma Paro
COMO Uma Paro
#1 of 16 in Paro
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metta Resort & Spa

Address: Shomu | Langong, Paro, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Price Range: $110 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metta Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated among the Bhutanese local communities together with the farmhouse and villages. Walking distance to the oldest Kichu Monastery. 10 mins from the airport, 45mins walking distance to Paro town. 20mins by transport to the base of Tiger Nest. Metta resorts serves great choices of cuisines. Our greatest compliments from our guests are Indian and Chinese cuisines. Our local Bhutanese foods equally rated the best in our buffet line. We select premium meats and organic vegetables for our food choices. After a day hike to Tiger Nest you will enjoy our Spa right in the hotel or even body massage in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Metta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing