We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are a delight at this country hotel”
Review of Udumwara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Udumwara Resort
Ranked #23 of 38 Paro B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Udumwara Resort was our first hotel stay in Bhutan and was a wonderful experience, mainly because of the staff who are always smiling and extremely helpful. The rooms are very big and most comfortable, with huge windows overlooking the Paro river. Most enjoyable

Room Tip: We had a room in the main building on both occasions which was lovely and very convenient to dining...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Thanks a lot for your feedback Mr. Lea D...We are proud of our staffs who are courteous, kind and always wear a smile on their faces, they are friendly and ever ready to help you with any difficulties you face. As you described we do have huge, beautiful rooms overlooking the Paro river to give you a feeling of paradise. Thank you for your stay with us and do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Udumwara Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 85 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful. The rooms are in separate buildings around the property. Our room was big and spacious and so was the bathroom. However, it was spartan and very spare--not luxurious at all. But the accommodations were comfortable and clean. The light in the bathroom was so dim, almost like a night light but it was okay. This hotel is close to the airport and close to the river. The setting is beautiful. Just make sure to leave the little heater on during the day so that it will have a chance to heat up the big room by nightfall. Their breakfast buffet was small but the best we had in Bhutan with the most variety.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed four nights out of a 14 day holiday in Bhutan. Hotel has large, clean rooms, good bathrooms, simple but fresh meals and particularly friendly and helpful staff. The outlook and position and rural setting on the banks of the river is particularly attractive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewandLynnBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Udumwara Resort for a total of 4 days - two at the beginning, and two at the end of our trip. Its best aspect are the staff, who are genuinely concerned for your well being and that much more than compensates for limited experience. But the rooms are big, well designed and monitored with the big windows giving nice views. At night all you can hear are the nice sounds of the adjacent mountain river - and not dogs barking which is too common in other places. The food is well prepared and served nicely. And like most of Bhutan, but unlike some other places, the resort smells very good like the nearby forests!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilbuhne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

On March 18th to 23, 2013, We are (READ India Team) visited Bhutan and stay in Udumwara Resort. Manager and all staff of this resort are very polite and helpful. The Hospitality was wonderful and we enjoyed Bhutanese Food. I wish that we once again visit this wonderful Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahipalrawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff are friendly. The english language is understood. Bellboys to the room.Dinner and breakfast in the beautiful restaurant. There was a relaxed atmosphere. . The dinner was varied and tasty. Lamb and chicken, soup, salads, desserts. For breakfast bread! , toast, ham! And cheese!. Otherwise english. We had a double room in normal size. Air conditioning and could be turned off. Flat-screen tv, desk, lap desks, luggage rack. I loved this place during visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yashpal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The main building here is quite lovely, and our room was very, very spacious and well appointed (the fanciest of our 6 different hotels in Bhutan). However, the grounds left something to be desired and could have been made more lovely with minimal expenditures and efforts.
The dinners were excellent but, because there are so few guests, there is a fixed menu at night. That caused a bit of a problem because one night the main course was beef, and we don't eat beef. The staff helped compensate by bringing extra servings of vegetables.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenaiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paro hotels
3.7 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zhiwa Ling
Zhiwa Ling
#4 of 16 in Paro
368 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
0.0 mi away
Bongde Goma Resort
Bongde Goma Resort
#2 of 15 in Paro
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nivvana Lodge & Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Udumwara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udumwara Resort

Address: Satsamchorten, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Price Range: $159 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Udumwara Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the mist of the eastern Himalayas, a kingdom redefines the meaning of paradise. Dressed in the costume of pristine environment, a kingdom speaks of splendour and beauty. Propagating invaluable spiritual and cultural legacy, a kingdom inspires wisdom and lasting happiness. This is the peaceful kingdom of Bhutan. Visit Bhutan and stay at Udumwara Resort and experience the excitement of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Udumwara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing