We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”
Review of Hotel Sonam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sonam
Ranked #13 of 39 Paro B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This nice hotel is definitely best choice in Paro town. You can maybe get fancier rooms in other hotels in the valley, but you'll need a car to get around. Sonam Trophel has the great location on the northern side of Paro and it's easy to just walk around from here.

Sonam Trophel has issues though the rooms are spacious and well furnished with big beds. Occasional problems with shower or drain is commonly quickly repaired by competent and friendly staff.

Rooms on the norther part of the hotel are slightly affected by the noise of night club underground.

The hotel restaurant is very good by Bhutanese standards.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on northern side because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2011

The staff at Sonam Trophel are very kind, and respond to every request in a timely manner. They are prompt and friendly. However, the building has seen far better days, and there are a number of serious issues about noise and environment. First, they don't tell you that there is a nightclub under the hotel. This nightclub is open until midnight six days a week (except Tuesdays), and the noise is unavoidable. But at least it drowns out the barking dogs endemic to Paro. The walls are paper thin, and after the nightclub closes, revelers outside make sleep impossible, especially as often they decide to come into the hotel to stay, many of them intoxicated and looking to keep the party going. It seems there are no staff around at this time to ask them to keep it down, as there remains only an apparently powerless night watchman on-site.

The hotel is very close to the north end of town, across from the bus depot and within easy walking access to shops and eateries. The food at Sonam Trophel Hotel is a bit overpriced and it takes a long time for it to arrive. When it does, the rice is often already cold. However, Sonam Trophel owns a restaurant down the street and it is much cheaper and the food far more reliable and clean.

The rooms are in dire need of refurbishing. The paint is cracked, chipped and peeling. Rebar peers through the walls and further, the walls themselves are stained with unidentifiable substances. Bedcovers, sheets and towels are also stained and dirty-looking, though there are no bugs in them. Those bathrooms without windows smell of mildew, which is growing in the corners of the bathroom and on the shower curtains. On the positive side, there is free fast internet access and cable television in each room. Also, there are new, silent, wall-mounted heaters, a big improvement over the small, ineffective fan-driven ones they used to have.

We first stayed at Sonam Trophel hotel in 2008. It was much nicer then, and most of the staff has remained the same. Thus, the management must be to blame for its sorry state. We heard that management has been focusing on opening hotels elsewhere in Bhutan. What a pity, as they should really refurbish the Paro location and tell potential guests about the nightclub ahead of time. It seems more like a flophouse than a proper hotel, especially on the weekends. Too bad, as this used to be an undiscovered gem of Paro.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivanderskal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Location, cleanliness, food, service - everything is excellent at Sonam Trophel Hotel. The room where we stayed was very spacious and clean. Bathroom was equally good. Food was yummy too. The river Paro Chhu flows right in front of the hotel, and the large windows of the room offer an excellent view. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed there for two nights, and the breakfast on both occasions was good. Room also had a TV with a choice of channels. The hotel is located pretty close to the market area.

Not sure if the hotel had free Internet, but the receptionist was kind enough to let us browse on his desktop.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srimysore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 蓮花
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paro hotels
0.7 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
338 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tiger's Nest Resort
Tiger's Nest Resort
#10 of 16 in Paro
177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#6 of 16 in Paro
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Khamsum
Hotel Khamsum
#4 of 39 in Paro
25 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tashi Namgay Resort
Tashi Namgay Resort
#1 of 39 in Paro
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
Tashi Phuntshok Hotel
#14 of 39 in Paro
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonam

Address: Opp. Bus Booking | Bridge, Paro 00975, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Price Range: $29 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in Paro Town and have easy access to the market, local transportation facility and the airport. We offer free wi-fi facility to our clients which is available across the property, an on-site restaurant which specializes in indian, chinese and continental dishes. All of our rooms have attached bath, TV and intercom for room service and wake-up calls facility. But the one thing that we pride ourselves most for is our friendly and ever helpful team of staff. We are a small family of staff here in Hotel Sonam but we do our utmost for the comfort and assistance of our guest. With our perseverance and hospitality, we aspire to be your first choice when you come to visit our little kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Hotel Sonam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing