We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Average Food & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ugyen Phendeyling Resort
Ranked #29 of 38 Paro B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Views, Average Food & Service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The best part about this property is the beautiful location, quiet, peaceful & serene. Food is ok, bathrooms need attention..especially the showers..also because of the greenery around.. tends to attract flies n bugs at night. They don't have much of a provision for that. Rooms are just right, with lots of windows n beautiful views. Service, food & bathrooms need to be worked on !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhrumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is on average. The hot shower's water flow is so small that I have to contain it in a bucket and use the water scoop for bathing. The rest are ok.....with heater and 3 spare blankets on such a cold weather......nothing more I can ask for. The location is a quite far and off from the Paro town with terribly rocky road.

Room Tip: Ask them to give you a ground floor rooms if you have big luggages to avoid carrying it up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is located a bit away from Paro town, but the view from the hotel of the Tigers nest monastery is quite good- located up on the mountain- right across the valley ahead.
The hotel itself was quite average. We were used to having comfortable hotels and decent service in most hotels in Bhutan during our stay so far, but this time it was a bit disappointing.
The room has water issues sometimes and the staff wasnt particularly responsive. The food was good but not a great deal of choice on the menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hus_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

we stayed here for one night and it was just about right. the rooms are big and amenities basic but hot water and electricity available 24hrs. the restaurant buffet for dinner and breakfast were the biggest disappointments of all with very bland and basic food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viguela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paro hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is on a par with others in Bhutan. It served its purpose. Rooms are spacious but not cosy. We weren't cold but the room heater was only just man enough for the job. It was clean and comfortable which are the main things we require. No problems with the hot water. The food was ok, if the usual tourist bland, staff were friendly and keen to help. The wifi worked in reception for one of the days we were there. We went on the 2 day Bumdra monastery trek and they stored our luggage securely for us while we were away.

The views of Tigers Nest were great, but you may want to be nearer to Paro. The road from Paro is undergoing extensive 'improvement' so is in a bad state even by Bhutan standards!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ageing-hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is a bit of a drive out of central Paro but depending upon what you want, this could be a good thing. It's very peaceful and has fantastic views of Jomolhari.

The rooms are very spacious although this could make them cold in winter. There are extra blankets provided but only a small heater which barely heated the room in September. Also, there wasn't much hot water available. The shower kept going from hot to cold and back again. Wifi also wasn't working for the 3 days we spent there and the hot stone bath was being renovated. The hotel is under new management so maybe these things will improve soon.

On the plus side, the food is really good and the staff is very friendly. There is also a beautiful meditation room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ugyen Phendeyling has a big property by Bhutan standards. The rooms are distributed across a series of Bhutanese style buildings. We stayed in the second floor of one such building. Our room was quite spacious but lacked character. Attached to the room was a large enclosed balcony which gave a beautiful view of Tiger's nest.That is definitely the USP of the hotel. The bathroom was clean and had a bathtub. Warm water was readily available through an electric geyser. However the heating in the room was not adequate. In the nights it became quite cold in the room. Free Wifi is available in the hotel, but in the room i could get a good signal only from the balcony. The dining area is in a separate building. The food was not especially great but not bad either. Staff is polite and helpful. Overall it was a pleasant experience. However during our stay in Bhutan we did stay in better hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room having a view of Tiger's Nest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Partha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
5.0 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
2.0 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#7 of 17 in Paro
220 reviews
3.2 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Osel
Osel
#6 of 36 in Thimphu
171 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pelri Cottages
Pelri Cottages
#14 of 17 in Paro
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nivvana Lodge & Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ugyen Phendeyling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ugyen Phendeyling Resort

Property: Ugyen Phendeyling Resort
Address: Satsam Chorten, Tsendo, Paro, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BhutanBookings so you can book your Ugyen Phendeyling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing