We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tashi Namgay Resort
Ranked #1 of 39 Paro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Located opposite to the international airport ,near by the Paro river, with lots of fruit trees and organic vegetable around. It's not noisy at all. We are in a group and really enjoyed our stay in a std,deluxe and a suite rooms. It's very clean, well maintained and decorated with classic furniture, restaurant also very clean and decorated in traditional style with modern touches. All the meals we had are very tasty .They prepare everything fresh and not like fast food restaurant ,where we get pre-cooked food, which taste stale, they need a preparation and cooking time ,so the order should be before one or two hrs. All the staff are also very nice with smile on their face(they feel very shy though). We met with the operation director Dawa ,she is very humble and down to earth ,and trying her best to satisfy all the guests. I tried the massage ,very good, hot stone bath too was nice with a spring water flowing by the side ( I heard from the staff that local people come to take stone bath ,believing that ,it will help them to relieve pain from mouth ulcer and tuberculosis).We also enjoyed archery ,tego very much.I have also seen upcoming river side restaurant and a beach café where one can spend the whole day with the family. I will surely recommend this resort and spa.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms and suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chagay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 449 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is located right across the airport and as most flights leave early it is the best option to avoid getting up even earlier.
Don't worry about nightly noise of airplanes - there is none. Flights are only during the day.

The hotel is relatively new we were told, however, as in all other place we stayed at in Bhutan, maintenance is a problem. You can see everywhere the problems, be it the door handle that is loose or the cracks on the bathroom tiles.

Room was spacious and with a sofa (I believe we had number 120).
The fridge was not plugged in and there was no plug nearby so we wondered why there was a fridge in the first place.

Dinner is in a large dining room, not much atmosphere there. Buffet was nice and we especially enjoyed the salad buffet (first time in our 2 weeks in the country that there actually was salad!!).

Also a first: internet is at a charge. The hotel should sincerely re-think this, as the network is moreover extremely slow and the time was up (you pay by the hour) before the email I had written was out. It's not expensive, but it's just annoying that they charge for a service that doesn't even work properly.

Tip: walk up to the nearby viewpoint of the airport around 4.30pm and watch the descent!!

Room Tip: Ask for the riverfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Situated right opposite the Paro International airport on the banks of the Paro Chhu river, the property commands a spectacular view of the Rinpung Dzong Monastery. The rooms are located on three levels on the terraced hill side, the lowest on the river front. The lobby with black granite floor and black leather couches is in sharp contrast to the green surroundings outside. Black is certainly not a cheerful colour to welcome tourists. The wide wooden staircase in the centre opens up the space, leading to the restaurant on the first floor.

Rooms are of various categories.. The Deluxe room where we stayed was big with twin beds, a sitting area with couches, a large closet, a mini refrigerator, electric kettle, daily replenishment of tea bags (just two bags per day) . The bathroom was equipped with a bathtub and a shower stall with running hot/cold water. But there was a obnoxious smell floating at all times in the bathroom. The reception number was not working so we had to call the restaurant and lodge our complaint . The colour theme in the rooms too were in black, the floor, furniture, giving it a dark and spooky
appearance, giving a feeling of being in a dark cave. The lighting in the room was not sufficient to change the appearance. Many of the plug points were hanging loose and some not even working.
Overall found the staff, housekeeping, reception, restaurant very indifferent. That warmth was missing and attitude rather sullen. Surprising since Bhutan is a tourist friendly country.

Wish the services could improved as the property is just stunning, each room with a view of the mountains, river and Dzong.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the lower level close to the reception to avoid climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had booked the Tashi Namgay resort for April 19th well in advance via email through our travel agents. We were travelling as a couple and had specifically asked for a double room. When we checked in late at 9:00 pm we were given a twin bed room. Apparently they have very limited double bedrooms. The duty manager kept grinning at us despite realising that we had checked in with a child after a long 13 hour journey. They refused to help us in any manner to change our room and kept blaming the reservations girl as if the reservations are a different entity. The morning breakfast also had very few options for vegetarians and when I asked for something vegetarian from the menu they blamed the agent for not informing them about our dietary preferences. We finally did manage to get some hot veg. options after a 40 minute wait.

The hotel was situated at a great location overseeing the Paro river and Airport, but unless the service and attitude to customers changes the hotel will be on a steady decline. I would not recommend this hotel only because of the callous attitude the duty manager and the restaurant staff exhibit.

Room Tip: Make sure you double check the kind of bed you are getting. Call up one day in advance to confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kshitij S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed a night here in January and the rooms were quite cold. They did have a couple heaters in the room but the best part was (and the thing we still talk of) was that they had heated bed covers. It was awesome and made you definitely not want to get out of bed. Our room was very clean, great showers, and then food was really good. Wifi was available for a fee in the lobby. They had a spa and we really missed we'd booked a massage. I'd request to stay here again if I return to Bhutan!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnurse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights March 2014 while on a tour through Bhutan Travelers.
This hotel was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean.

There was no wifi in the rooms, there was a light signal in the main lobby but it did not last, and it was not possible to log on. Wifi was not free, there was a charge. But it didn't matter cause it wasn't working.

The spa was nice, we both got 90 minute massages and we both enjoyed them. Although we didn't try them, they have traditional Bhutanese baths, outside overlooking the river which looked great.

This hotel in convenient from the airport and the city. I would recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADFgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed 1 night in December while waiting to catch an early flight. The suite room was lovely and so large. As it was winter, we had 3 small heaters that warmed up the whole room - the bed area, living area and bathroom. The facilities in the bathroom were great with fantastic hot water and great water pressure. The staff in the hotel were very nice, and they were able to accommodate our love of chilli and cheese making it nice and spicy. Was great to have a lounge area with tv and a wonderful view of the river and the Paro Dzong.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_and_RBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
4.5 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#6 of 16 in Paro
241 reviews
3.7 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
2.4 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Osel
Osel
#8 of 39 in Thimphu
215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
1.1 mi away
COMO Uma Paro
COMO Uma Paro
#1 of 16 in Paro
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tashi Namgay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tashi Namgay Resort

Address: Damsebu, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Price Range: $76 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tashi Namgay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tashi Namgay Resort is one of the best Bhutanese managed resorts. It is located opposite Paro International Airport separated by a big river (called Pa Chhu). The resort is spread over 8 acres of lush green agriculture field along Pa Chu with 360 degree views of beautiful landscape. The traditional Bhutanese architectural design and modern amenities were combined to provide our guest a comfortable stay and yet experience a Bhutanese lifestyle. Unlike many hotels & resorts of equivalent standard in Paro valley, Tashi Namgay Resort offers high standard spa facilities, fitness center, Bhutanese hot stone bath experience, traditional games like archery, khuru, dego, BBQ and bonfire facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Tashi Namgay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tashi Namgay Resort And Spa
Tashi Namgay Hotel Paro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing