We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Janka Resort
Nearby Hotels
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$580
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
16
33
22
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
33
22
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice paddiesblooming flowerstired musclesmorning sunparo valleythe ground floorrooms are cleanstayed here for nightstvbhutantublawncomfortcottagearchitecturedriver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 81 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Some of the better resorts in Paro are up on the hillsides or a little further out from the town. I picked Janka for my group because it is down in the valley and easily accessible from "downtown" Paro, where we had work to do. The views from the rooms and the dining room are lovely – Janka is surrounded by rice fields, with the town of Paro and the hills in the distance. Service is friendly and competent. There is wifi in the lobby and the dining room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirconditionedNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Overall, a good experience. We spent two nights there in a room in the main building. Comfortable and warm rooms and the hotel is within walking distance (20 mins) of Paro town. Residents can order off the a la carte menu, which gives options beyond the buffet in most tourist restaurants in Bhutan. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are three floors up (no lift), so if you don't like stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor. We had #20 in the main building which was a great room, but for the fact that we had to climb up.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok-Seenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I returned to Janka resort for my second stay, it lived up to my expectations. Again I was travelling with a group and it was high season, The group were very impressed with this family run establishment, the service was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. The food, yes the dreaded buffet, was good with a number of local dishes provided, our group's dietary requirements were catered for - one celiac and three vegetarians.

The stone bath after the hike to the Tiger's Nest was just what was needed, certainly relaxed those tired muscles and bones. Don't forget to order the bath the day before!

The bar, a separate building with a glass wall overlooking the local rice farms was the perfect place for an evening drink before dinner, and a perfect place to meet other travellers and share stories.

Yes, it is out of town but transport is easily enough arranged, or if you are energetic it is "walkable" - about 20-30 minutes interesting walk along the river.

Room Tip: My preference is for a cottage room in the garden but a number of my fellow travellers liked their rooms in the main building.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb_GMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had little say about specific places to stay in Bhutan (it depends on the influence and quality of your tour opearator), but really enjoyed our stay at the Jankar Resort. Ok not a resort, just a very authentic local guesthouse in the countryside ten minutes drive north of the cosmopolitan centre (no, just small average town) of Paro, the nation's only air entry point. We had a large, extraordinarily large authentic woody room with windows in every direction at the front. Mornings were wonderful, watching the neighbouring farmers spread manure with ox and cart in the morning sun in preparation for spring planting. It was low season (but prime season for festivals in eastern Bhutan where we were headed), so we were the few guests, thus posibly the nice room. It was a bit cold, but the blankets and extra heating were fine. The staff was wonderful. Since we immediately requested local food and had no groups demanding buffet, we had fabulous local fare during our stay. Every dish was fabulous. Often the assumption is that tourists prefer ersatz Indian or Chinese food. I had visited Bhutan five years earlier with a group, and this is what we got...mediocre at best. Bhutanese cuisine is fabulous...green chillis in cheese, potatoes cooked in various ways, locally made dahl. Seems that the tourist authorities have realised this and in may places we were served local fare.

Room Tip: On the top floor toward the front...great views
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This lovely family owned "resort" is set in the rice paddies a few minutes out of town. so you won't be walking into town. The main building has charming, beautiful rooms, all different sizes, and the "courtyard" rooms are one story, set in a garden, quiet, and peaceful, not quite are architecturally charming, but very modern and comfortable. good bathrooms everywhere, we had a refrig in our room, Wall heaters worked nicely.
Flaky Wifi, they sometimes turn it off at night, so if you are an early riser, beware. Good laundry service. Mediocre food, basic, and adequate breakfast. The granola is really good, the hot cereal is not.
The staff are the high point, they are very friendly and helpful and anxious to please. a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews