We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“traditional bhutanese style but out of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Janka Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Janka Resort
Ranked #23 of 36 Paro B&B and Inns
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
327 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“traditional bhutanese style but out of town”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

A really nice looking hotel with traditional style. our cottage wasn't very soundproofed from the next door rooms. heating provided was fine and beds were comfortable. nice bathroom too. the dreaded buffet food though. basic breakfast. no bar, only the dining room upstairs in the main building. laundry was efficient. a fair way out of town,not really walking distance

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
20
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a small and comfortable place to stay.

It is in the middle of Paddy Fields, You can enjoy a wonderful veiw from the breakfast room.

Staff is help and friendly. They have free wi-fi services (but sometimes not very stable).

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We upgraded to a room in the main building rather than a standrd garden room which was a bit 'average'. The room we stayed in was huge with a great view. Really helpful staff, good food and remarkably fine wine.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
254 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The hotel is surrounded by paddyfields with an all round view on the beautiful Paro valley. Do not hesitate to take a "deluxe" room in the main building witch has an amazing view. These vast and cosy rooms (We recommend #14) have a very pleasant bathroom. The restaurant is, as usual in Bhutan, average and the service just acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chartrons2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This was a very comfortable, sweet hotel outside of Paro. A perfect place to begin and end a trip to Bhutan, as it's a simple drive to the airport. It's a 5 - 10 minute drive to the town of Paro or a 20 minute walk. The rooms are simple, but very clean and comfortable. They can be a bit chilly in March, so it's good to call ahead and ask them to turn on the heaters ahead of time. The staff are friendly and accommodating. They were responsive to all requests. They greeted us like family when we returned at the end of our trip. I would stay longer with them next time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
551 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Nice hotel, a bit remote from Paro (about 20 minutes by car from the airport). Great landscape. The resort is to recomment for a stay of 1 or 2 nights before your departure from Bhutan. Building and garden are nice and cultivated, the rooms small, but clean. Some of the staff are really helpful, some more distant, but all friendly and uncomplicated.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paro
0.0 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amodhara
Hotel Amodhara
#32 of 36 in Thimphu
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gangtey Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rema Resort
Rema Resort
#4 of 36 in Paro
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Metta Resort & Spa
Metta Resort & Spa
#1 of 36 in Paro
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Drukchen
Hotel Drukchen
#10 of 36 in Paro
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janka Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janka Resort

Property: Janka Resort
Address: Nemjo Janka, Luni Gewog, Paro 12001, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Janka Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and BhutanBookings so you can book your Janka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing