We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Jose Campbell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose Campbell
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Stites, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here. The team was great and very helpful. Room was comfortable, beds were as well.

The down side was the parking lot was sort of cramped, and coming from rural Idaho, the one way street in was sometimes interesting. We could have used a few more accessories in the kitchen (pan to bake cornbread in) and maybe larger bowls to eat soup in. The internet/printer was very slow and took forever to print any maps or other info.

We grilled steaks and that was wonderful!
We found a "Lucky" grocery store off of Camden (turn left at the light) and a dollar store in the same neighborhood as the grocery store.
The Manager "Omar" was a gem!!!!!
I think if you stay here you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idahogrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
39
11
4
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Arrived at hotel and no one was at the front desk for about 15 minutes. When agent arrived, I was told that my penthouse (two rooms) was not available and I was going to be given two studio rooms instead. As a Gold Marriott member, I challenged their giving away my room, and advised that I have two children and couldn't take two rooms. I was then given a penthouse room (which apparently was available), yet the room reeked of stale tobacco. There was a note on the table stating that all water was going to be shut off that night/morning. When I challenged the clerk regarding shutting down water in an occupied room overnight, I was told "sorry". I was later called and told that the information was mistaken. Although I like to stay at Residence Inn's with the family (due to privacy, free breakfast, etc.), and they are typically enjoyable, this one is a joke.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pw9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

The good: The room was fine, if not slightly dated. A hot breakfast was served every morning and the staff seemed to go out of their way to greet me in the morning.

The bad: Long term tenants seem to have taken over the complex (and I mean long term like otherwise-they'd-be-homeless long term). Laundry is hanging from the balconies to dry and residents throw loud parties at the grill near the front office. I never felt unsafe, but the whole vibe of the hotel feels like a down-market neighborhood apartment complex. If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay for a long term this may fit the bill, but business travelers keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyIncognito17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kent, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

We have stayed there for two summers now (both at least 10 night stays) and have nothing but great things to say about this property. The staff has alwyas been accomodating, the breakfast and manager's receptions are always great and we have had no problems with our penthouse rooms. To me the location is ideal for San Jose, you can get anywhere in minutes. Don't know what these other reviews are talking about.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungCountryLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

I wouldn't stay here again for business or pleasure. The area was not very nice, there were 'long-term' guests that seemed a bit suspicious and the guest registration office was hard to find. I arrived in a taxi at night and we had to make a U-turn in the back of the complex because the front area was not easy to find. S C A R Y.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank BizTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in mid-December. We booked one of their "Penthouse" suites, which consisted of a first level (which started on the second floor) living room, dining room (w/ Murphy bed), bathroom, full kitchen, and a second-level bedroom and bathroom.

Overall amenities were fine for an extended-stay hotel with a couple exceptions:
- the master bed was a (very small) queen or (maybe even) a full that was extremely soft and springy. I expected better from a Marriott property
- TVs were annoyingly small
- parking lot was (as noted in another review) extremely small and cramped

Breakfast was good, the staff friendly and efficient. The furniture/
decor could use updating. Shower head pressure was about a 5 out of 10. Very quiet at night in a decent neighborhood.

We've been in better, we've been in worse.

  • Liked — working fireplace
  • Disliked — bed comfort
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2007

What we liked:
* Full kitchen with large refrigerator (found at all Residence Inns.)
* Very comfortable pillow-top mattress.
* Very quiet hotel, although the refrigerator was loud enough to serve as white noise.
* My partner thought the breakfast buffet had a good selection and good tasting food. It included fruit, breakfast potatoes, eggs and sausage.
* Good water pressure in shower.

So-So:
* While the room and bathroom were by no means dirty, there were a few missed spots here and there.

What we didn't like:
* Hotel office difficult to find at night.
* Parking lot was very tight and difficult to maneuver into parking spaces. One of the most difficult hotel parking lots I've had to deal with.
* A cockroach ran across the kitchen table in broad daylight.
* Tiny bathroom for a Residence Inn

  • Liked — Very comfortable bed, and near a Whole Foods Market
  • Disliked — Difficult to maneuver in parking lot, cockroaches
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank groovyvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
0.6 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#2 of 9 in Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Campbell
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell
0.5 mi away
Carlyle Hotel
Carlyle Hotel
#8 of 9 in Campbell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Campbell

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Campbell
Address: 2761 South Bascom Avenue, Campbell, CA 95008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Jose Campbell 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Campbell Hotel Campbell
Campbell Residence Inn
Residence Inn Campbell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing