We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ICE COLD NO HEAT! AND very rude employees!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ICE COLD NO HEAT! AND very rude employees!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

The front desk reservations were not friendly on the phone. Online they had a king bed room available on every site I checked and even booked one with my credit card (its supposed to guarantee the room!) then when I called after booking they told me they only have a two double bed room that costs more! They acted like I was a jerk for not believing this info and did not once apologize. The room with two double beds that we got was ICE COLD FREEZING INSIDE. After two hours and the heater was still blowing cold air I went to the front desk. He immediately said I was wrong, the heater does work! I was treated like an irrational female and a liar. I had him come in the room and I saw him move the dial on the thermostat and claim I had it on the wrong setting, which was totally a lie on his part. I said I cant be in that room, he just argued with me. I went back after 15 minutes on his so called setting of the thermostat and told him it was still cold and I was by then sniffling and feeling like I was catching the flu. He said there are no other rooms (though the scary deserted underground parking garage was almost empty! makes you wonder how the hotel could be full) and that he could not get a hold of the manager. He did not even try. I told him I need to get my money back because I could not stay there. He said that he could not credit my c.c. and I could call the manager in the morning. He didn't even offer to get more blankets. I have never been treated so rudely. Also, the sliding glass door was not latching 100% and some air was coming in, it looked very unsafe out there on the first floor, right next door to a fast food place. The pillows did not smell fresh, mystery "stains" on the comforter, the sheets made me itch, the lamp had a broken switch making it almost impossible to turn on, the bathroom tiles and shower walls had mold...I don't know if I will get my money back but will update when I find out. I felt blackmailed into staying. A very bad experience. If you are a female don't go into the garage alone, it does not feel safe!

  • Liked — nothing comes to mind
  • Disliked — rude customer service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cateis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammy064, Manager at Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2008
Guest Called directly and was told that the only rooms we have available was Non-Smoking 2 Beds. She said that the Internet had a king bed available. I told that we don't have King available and that if she will book through the internet it will still be put in to Non smoking 2 beds. She was warned about this, yet she still decided to book through the internet.

Guest checked in at 7:45 pm and said to the front desk that she was renting room for a friend that she wasn't even going to stay in the room. The reservation that came in was made for 1 person. Front desk person showed her the room and she said it was okay with the room. She was also told that whom ever is going to stay in the room must come to the front desk and show his ID. The gentleman that the room was rented for came by the desk.

2 hours later the Lady came by and said she wanted a refund because the heat wasn't working.

Front desk went into the room and saw that the heating unit was set on fan and not heat. He switched it over to heat and told the guest give it a few minutes to warm up. Guest still wanted refund. We told her that she wasn't going to get a refund.

The lady left the hotel, and the gentleman stayed in the room. No complaints came from the gentleman.

The gentleman checked out at 9:15am and handed the keys in. I went into the room and the room was very warm. The heating was still on and working fine.

Lady called at 9:30am and starting complaining how she had to leave the room because it was to cold. She said she caught a cold from staying in the room. A room she stayed in for only 2 hours. She was told that no refund can be issued.
She also said when she rented the room that she was renting the room for her boyfriend and she wasn't even going to stay in the room.


She started to threaten me by saying that she was going to call the police and BBB. She said she was going to put bad reviews all over the Internet if she didn't get a full refund. I had told her that it felt as if she was threatening me into giving her a free room. At that point I couldn't do or say anything to her except you can do want you, but I can't issue a refund. She said you rather me go to the police or BBB and file complaint then give me a refund.

Basically the guest checked at 7:45pm renting the room for a boyfriend, used the room for 2 hours. Then she asked for a refund. She left the room and the gentleman stay in the room for the rest of the night. Guest was trying to get a free room without a valid reason. Everything was working in the room.

I am sorry she felt mistreated....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    9
    11
    11
See reviews for
15
6
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2007

The wifi works, the breakfast is good. The bed is fine, the carpet is stained but clearly has been cleaned, there are some oogies that could be fixed but nothing as horrifying as some of these reviews have led it to be. It's a clean place, free parking and wifi, within easy reach of area companies such as eBay for a very affordable fee. An easy, quiet, private hotel for the budget-aware business traveler. I'd stay again.

  • Liked — Inexpensive, good location for my needs, free wifi, free breakfast
  • Disliked — underground parking makes it a little worrisome for single travelers.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mollydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

We had a great experience at the Carlyle Hotel when we were there. I had read some of the previous negative reviews, but was very impressed with the hotel.

It was close to a Freeway, but was very quiet.

A great deal for the money! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bboaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Wow and double wow at the shape of the carpet in BOTH the rooms we stayed in (yeah we tried to cancel but...) Look at the pictures.

1st room had a horrible saggy bed. The carpet had not just stains, but, you know, stuff?? We only got it together enough to cancel for one of the next two nights so...

2nd room--double ick on the carpet...wow. Maybe it's just the smoking rooms I think. They just get trashed so they blow off really cleaning them. No remote. No clock. No hairdryer. I think they got ripped off and oh...it's a smoking room so don't worry about it.

The rest of the place was pretty clean. The girl at the front desk was already blowing us off because we didn't want the room, but there was nothing she could do (?) even though there was a guy in there with us at the time begging for a room.
Breakfast started late but was pretty good.

Sorry, they get a 1 from me. It's too bad because the rooms are good sized and could be very pleasant.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank AZGretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlylehotelcampbell, Webmaster at Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Carlyle Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees. They also received instruction concerning the rooms being properly equip with remote, clock, hairdryer and such before being reported as being ready for occupancy.

• Management and staff were approached about making the rooms more pleasant for occupancy.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Carlyle Hotel. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

Problems at a glance: Our room had no toilet seat, we couldn't take a bath because drain plug mechanism in the tub didn't work, the room smelled musty, wallpaper was peeling off wall, dust bunnies in the corners, no washcloths, or hand towels, rear patio filthy and strewn with junk, ie: old lumber, cigarette butts, and empty coffee cups, etc.

To it's credit: Part of the package features a very marginal breakfast.

What's going on ?: This is what I suspect happened: someone took a very so-so location and dreamed of making a nice hotel out of it but some where along the line ran out of money, the property was sold and the new owners are running a very low budget operation doing minimal upkeep on the property.

There are absolutely no amenities, no pool, no hot tub, no gym, and as previously mentioned the rooms, and this wasn't just us, we had family members staying there too, came with two bath towels only, and in both cases when we asked for additional towels, and hand towels the response was "I'll have to see if we have any."

Additionally they do not have rollaways, or cribs.

The decor is extremely tacky almost to the point of being funny, think turn of the century brothel, lot's of fake gold gilt, brass, and dark woods accentuated with reds, and not one but two life size faux marble statues of naked women in the lobby. The cheese factor is off the charts.

I can excuse a lot of things in a hotel but we did pay $100 bucks for a king bed, so it's not like it's Motel 6 for 29.95 (which as it happens is next door) but not the lack of basic amenities that all hotels should have which includes basic linen service, and toilets with toilet seats.

And this isn't even trying to be critical, the linens they do provide are very low quality, the bed had the cheap beige foam blanket, nothing outside of basic cable on the T.V., no clock in the room ? I mean what's a digital clock at Costco these days ? $8.00 ?

In closing the cleanliness issues are unacceptable, the garbage strewn back patio, the room not properly cleaned, etc. It just shows a basic lack of respect for the customer.

No frills is one thing, but dirty is another. I would avoid the Carlyle at all costs, this is a poorly run property in decline.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Allamerican_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlylehotelcampbell, Webmaster at Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Carlyle Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the missing toilet seat and the non-working drain plug mechanism in the bathroom of the room assigned to you and instructed to see to the necessary repairs.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Carlyle Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2007

I stayed here for several days for business. It was sort of creepy. As a female business traveler, I am particularly conscious of safety. There was an old concrete patio outside my window that ran along the side of the building. That, combined with the under building parking, made me somewhat nervous.
The rooms needed a little painting and upkeep.
The traffic merging onto the highway a half block away makes it hard to get out of the parking garage.
The one plus is that there is a Starbucks across the street .
The staff was nice.
OK, if you are not traveling alone and are looking for a cheap deal.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CarryonBag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlylehotelcampbell, Webmaster at Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Carlyle Hotel for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you said that you found our staff to be nice, that is always nice to hear.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was approached about ways in which our valued guests could feel better about security measures taken.

• Staff members received our commendation for the courteous, friendly way in which they treated you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you are in our area, you will once again choose to stay at Carlyle Hotel. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be very pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2007

We had quite a different (more positive) experience staying here than the previous reviewer.

We (party of 3) stayed here on February 15 & 16 & on the 21st. Both rooms were on the second floor (we requested this when making the reservation because I am sensitive to noise) & had a single king bed. Both rooms were very clean and well maintained and were equipped with refrigerator, coffee maker, TV, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, air conditioner/heater with remote thermostat, a lounge chair with ottoman, a small table with two wood chairs w/ fabric padding, 4 table lamps, and a small alarm clock. One of the rooms had a jacuzzi bath & hot water dispenser. They provide shampoo, soap, and skin lotion/moisturizer (not all places provide this nowdays).

Just a comment about the air conditioner/heater: it was a much quieter unit than the loud through-the-wall units that are found in cheaper lodgings. I had no problems sleeping here.

The breakfast included sliced canteloup & watermelon, scrambled eggs, hash brown cakes, breakfast sausage, dry cereals, muffins, bread, bagels, fruit juices, milk, coffee (reg & decaf). There was also a basket containing oranges and apples. Breakfast was from 6 to 9:30 on weekdays and 6:30 to 10 am on weekends.

A Dell computer with Lexmark inkjet printer was available for free use in the lobby next to the office counter.

Parking is covered at the ground level beneath the hotel, and the elevator takes you directly there. The building is only two stories and is a relatively small one. There is no shuttle to the San Jose airport but it is a very short and convenient drive to get there from this hotel.

We paid $94 per room per night & I thought it was a great deal. I'd have no reservations about staying here again.

  • Liked — Quality of accomodations: cleanliness, furnishings, breakfast, quietness
  • Disliked — easy to miss the hotel entrance the first time
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HonoluluMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell hotels
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 9 in Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
1.3 mi away
Campbell Inn
Campbell Inn
#8 of 9 in Campbell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Campbell
1.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Hotel

Property: Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1300 Camden Avenue, Campbell, CA 95008-6702
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Carlyle Hotel in Campbell, California located just off Hwy 17. After a long, tiring day on the road, there's nothing better than checking into the Carlyle Hotel that offers the best location, the most amenities and a totally stress free environment. From the time the guest steps into the Carlyle Hotel lobby, they are surrounded by European Renaissance artwork. Imported marble, crystal chandeliers, Queen Anne furnishings and superior guest service. Our spacious guest rooms are well decorated with fine Queen Anne cherry furnishing as well as Crystal chandelier, armoire and well-lighted desk.

If you want truly affordable Luxury, look no further! Carlyle Hotel in Campbell will be the easiest part of your trip. At the Carlyle Hotel, we want you to enjoy your stay and to help make sure that happens we offer beautiful, clean rooms, to help you relax at the end of a busy day.Every morning our Carlyle Hotel guests are invited to enjoy our complimentary Breakfast Buffet. Our Breakfast spread includes eggs, sausage, potatoes, fresh fruit, hot or cold cereals, fresh hot waffles, breads, pastries, assorted juices, teas, and fresh brewed coffee.Carlyle Hotel visitors are close to Los Gatos Creek recreational areas that offer boating, hiking, and picnic areas. There are several shops and a variety of restaurants located in the surrounding area. Our hotel is accessible to Highway 17, 880, 85, 280 and 101. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Campbell
Best Western Campbell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing