We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service/pool/food”
Review of Campbell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campbell Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
15
Reviewed June 22, 2005

We were very dissapointed by the misleading website, which goes on and on about the european -style breakfast buffet. It consisted of toaster pancakes, TATER-TOTS, which were steamed and soggy, sulphurous eggs, no meat to be had, etc. The web site mentions an afternoon snack in the lounge (doors were locked, lights were out on both afternoons we were there). The pool was cool, but the hot tub was the same temp as the pool, i.e. not hot. After repeated complaints, one of the desk clerks came over and said there "must be some sort of problem".They had the same problem the next day. I think they are to cheap to heat them. Very disappointing with two kids who wanted to spend time in the pool. Then, on the first night, the cable went out in the room. I complained to the very lazy older night clerk, who said that since the TV worked when we got the room, we must have caused the problem so it was not HIS problem. After I continued to complain, he finally said I could change rooms, but the closest room was upstairs at the end. I finally had help from a younger clerk, who helped me move two kids worth of pool toys, etc, to a much closer room, but the VCR was broken in tihs room (my son had picked out a video to watch, actually he was "given" a video by the very inpatient older clerk who thought he was taking to long to decide). The helpful younger clerk tracked down a replacement VCR, but it was 11 pm at this point and we alljust went to sleep.
In this second room my 4 year old found a whole cigarette near the edge of bed, and a dirty pair of women's panties.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Campbell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 175 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
California
11
Reviewed May 11, 2004

We stayed at the Campbell Inn last week May 2004
and the room we had with Jacuzzi was nice. I have
to agree with the campbell inn sign. It should be moved. And only turning right to get out was a drag!! The traffic on Campbell Ave was so noisy.
We moved to another room away from the street
and was much better. The hotel maids were great!!

The desk clerk on duty during the day had an attitude. If he doesnt like his job then quit. The
2 day stay was fine other than that.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Springboro, OH
13
Reviewed April 21, 2004

Selecting the rating was a bit tough.

The breakfast buffet was excellent every morning. Fresh fruit, juices, waffles, bagels, toast, scrambled eggs, sausage, cereal, along with good coffee provided a good start to the day.

The room was average but clean, a critical component for me.

You cannot turn left out of the Inn, but can turn left then around at an intersection several hundred feet down the road.

Location near the Campbell Park provided access to walking/biking trails, a flycasting pond, and playground equipment.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tracy, CA
13
Reviewed February 9, 2004

Not sure if anyone has experienced this type of activity during your stay at the Campbell Inn. My wife and I had reserved a room for my bday for 1 night, that night while we were both asleep my wife was awaken by a noise in the room, when she looked up she saw a ghostly figure of man with his arms crossed watching her. She immideately turned over to hold me, which at the time woke me up. When she looked up she noticed the figure was gone. I myself did not see the figure but felt a cold draft in the room, dont ask me where the draft was coming from cause all the windows were closed as well as the ac/heater was off. Just wired!! Oh yeah, it was room 144

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, CA
19
Reviewed November 17, 2003

My husband and I reserved two king size rooms to stay in while our home was being remodeled. While we stayed in one room, our twin sons stayed in the other. We ended up staying 7 nights, and they were the worst nights of our lives, thanks to the hiring practices at the Campbell Inn. One of our sons, an Army Specialist, was at home on leave prior to reporting to Ft. Hood, Texas where he is scheduled to deploy to Iraq in January 2004. While staying at the hotel his personal vehicle was stolen by a friend of the night clerk (connection proven beyond a reasonable doubt). Although Campbell Police did recover the vehicle four days later, all our sons military records, personal belongings (only the important ones that he didn't trust to the military movers, like awards, Class A uniforms, Medical Records, Orders, mementos from other duty posts, and other family irreplaceable items, were not recovered. The $400.00 stereo was also taken from the vehicle and a 12-inch blade was left in the car between the door and the drivers seat. The person arrested for this theft is a close friend, gang buddy, and frequent visitor of the night clerk, who loans out hotel rooms to this person and his other buddies at no charge. While we pay $100.00/night to stay in what should be a luxury hotel, our personal belongings are subjected to an element of society that most of us are never exposed to. The thought that this night clerk has access to the master key, meaning all your personal belongings, and your well being, sends shivers down my spine. I would strongly caution anyone thinking of staying at the Campbell Inn to think long and hard and ask yourself if this is the exposure you want to subject yourself or your family members to. As the wife of a 21 year law enforcement employee I can only tell you I was shocked beyond belief and I have never felt to violated as I do now that I've experienced a stay at the Campbell Inn. Guest BEWARE!

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2003

I'd give it 3 out of 5 stars.They have VCRs in the room with free rentals and a pretty good collection in the lobby. The room was huge, and the buffet was great.What really bugs about the hotel: you can only make a right turn out of the parking lot. As you look to your left to watch for oncoming traffic, the view is obstructed by the stupid hotel sign. Very annoying and dangerous, as the traffic really zooms by. Then you have to go to the next light, turn left, and swing a U-ey into a park area which is also difficult since all the spaces are usually taken. Campbell Inn, move your dumb sign further in please.

5  Thank sdjimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
California
18
Reviewed June 23, 2003

The service at this hotel was the worst I have ever experienced! We booked 4 rooms for the entire weekend and had a total of 8 children with us. They booked a private party at the pool, so none of the paying guests were allowed to use the pool or jacuzzi. There was never a manager on site, so we left messages. Then the Management didn't have the tact or professionalism to return our phone messages to discuss it.
Instead he left a message with his lobby staff to tell us that it was just too bad we would not be able to use the pool area. Needless to say they were very dissappointed! We will never stay here, or at another Campbell Hotel again.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campbell hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
1.3 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
1.6 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carlyle Hotel
Carlyle Hotel
#7 of 9 in Campbell
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Campbell
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell Inn

Address: 675 E Campbell Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-2105
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range: $144 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campbell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell Inn is an intimate, resort style hotel with with outdoor pool and complimentary hot breakfast. Located in the heart of Campbell with a Walk Score of 87, the Campbell Inn is uniquely situated walking distance to both Historic Downtown Campbell as well as the restaurants and shops of The Pruneyard. Enjoy a generous complimentary California-Style Breakfast Buffet in our poolside dining room featuring fresh cut watermelon and other seasonal fruits along Eggs Your Way™ (our signature seasoning station featuring artisanal hot sauces & spices), sausage, bacon, croissants, yogurts and much more. Campbell Inn offers free wifi and free parking along with minifridges and coffee makers in each room. Suites with outdoor patios and Jacuzzi bathtubs are available. Our lobby workstations provide computers with internet access and 8 ½” x 11” color printing. Incoming and outgoing fax service and photocopies are offered at the front desk. Campbell Inn’s spacious pool deck with hot tub has chaise loungers for sunbathing as well as shaded cafe seating for kids. The Los Gatos Creek Trail, a 9.7 mile nature trail for joggers and bikers, runs alongside the hotel and Campbell Park is just steps away. Basketballs are available at the front desk. Campbell Inn is conveniently located in Campbell just minutes from the San Jose International Airport, San Jose Convention Center, San Jose State University and many Silicon Valley businesses. 50 miles from San Francisco, 60 miles from Monterey, and a mere 25 miles from the famous surfing beaches of Santa Cruz ─ Campbell Inn is the perfect “home base” whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Campbell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell Hotel Campbell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing