We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel does not keep its committments” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Campbell, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel does not keep its committments”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I just completed my fourth stay at this hotel. I am a consultant, contracted to a county facility. The facility had a contracted rate with the hotel, and I as a consultant could not exceed that. I made four reservations covering four week, and requested the same room which was agreed to. On my fourth stay, I arrived at 5 pm to be told that the hotel would no longer agree to the contracted rate, and would not give me my same room. They made no effort to contact me ahead of time although they did have my information. After an extremely unpleasant exchange, they did give me my rate and room. I fail to understand how this could occur. Even though I will be returning to the area at least a dozen times over this rest of this year, I will not stay at this hotel, despite its convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    277
    116
    54
    27
See reviews for
211
157
63
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Excellent place to unwind. Very close driving distance to Winchester House and Santana Row. The location of this place is on a shopping center near Buca Di Beppo and a great Brewery. The room was clean, organized and big. The pool was slightly small but the outdoor firepit made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Francisco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lovely facility. Has stayed there a few times. Liked that everything was close by.Enjoyed the environment and enjoyed the nightclub and thr restaurant. The staff was very good. Will stay there again no doubt

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank rosemariew705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel before, since it is right near an ill family member I visit. Although the staff is very friendly and polite, what was frustrating is that it doesn't allow you to book adjoining rooms on line, and it doesn't tell you that in order to get adjoining rooms you have to book a king & a queen. I didn't know this until I called to check, and by then the king was not available. Even though they said they put it on "a high priority" nothing changed when we got there. Not great if you're traveling as a family. In fact, one room wasn't even ready by 5.30 PM. Pretty disappointing. No adjustment of any kind was offered. One thing to note is it is worth getting breakfast included, as it is an outstanding spread - delicious fresh orange juice, fresh eggs, quiche, turkey sausage, yummy homemade muffins, etc. - better than any restaurant you could go to. The location is in a shopping mall, very convenient. The hotel is clean, and the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I travel a lot and stay at dozens of hotels through the course of a year. As a result, I've come up with my own rating scale of things that are important to me. They include:

- Friendliness of Staff
- Free Wifi
- Showerhead Height
- Assortment of pillows
- Free breakfast
- Comfort and Cleanliness
- Location
- Overall Experience / Wow Factor

This hotel rates a 3.44 out of 5 on my rating scale. Some of the good things about this property:

1. Location. It's a block from the office where I was meeting, right next to the Pruneyard, and has a great brewery just next door.

2. Free Wifi. Believe it or not, but some hotels don't offer free wifi. This one does.

3. Bed. A nice selection of pillows and a comfortable bed.

Some of the not-so-good:

1. Shower Head. The shower head was way too low for comfort. I'm six feet tall, and the head was set at around 5'8" which means I had to duck to get my head in the water. A minor irritant, but one that is important.

2. No Free Breakfast.

Overall, this hotel rates an Average. It's clean, the beds are comfortable, but the small things that make a hotel really stand out from the rest were missing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricela L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Steve H,

We appreciate your feedback. We work for a continues improvement every day and we will certainly keep in mind on what's important to guests like you. Specially the overall experience. We are reviewing your list and will bring this up to our CARE comittee and come up with solutions that will make a difference during your future stays. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was a great place to transition on our road trip down why 101. Nice rooms and the beds were so comfortable! We had a wonderful night's rest before our trip! Very convenient location to the airport

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dee Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricela L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Dee Dee P,

We value your feedback! and we are glad that you had a good night sleep on our comfortable beds! they have been recently upgraded to our signature Hilton brand. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

staff said the pool was warm, it was cold. Buffet breakfast not part of price. Way over priced. The beds are hard as a rock. If you want to buffet breakfast you have to pay extra,which would leave you paying $200.00 dollars or more. The location is great for going out to eat or if you need something. I recommend staying at a Hilton not Doubletree by Hilton. Very disappointing. We will not be giving Doubletree our business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 491katien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricela L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear 491katien,

We value your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good night sleep. Our beds have been recently upgraded to our signature Hilton brand. We will certainly look on ways how we can improve your experience in the future. I would also like to mention that our pool is heated and this might not have been set with the correct temperature at the time and for that please accept my apologies. Should you plan to stay with us in the future, please feel free to contact me and I will be happy to make your future accomodations. My direct line is 408-559-4300- Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell
1.5 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
0.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Campbell
1.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 9 in Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell
0.2 mi away
Campbell Inn
Campbell Inn
#8 of 9 in Campbell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.5 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
Address: 1995 S Bascom Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-2201 (Formerly PruneYard Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pruneyard Plaza Campbell
Hotel Pruneyard Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing