We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros & Cons to the Pruneyard Plaza Hotel (by Doubletree)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pros & Cons to the Pruneyard Plaza Hotel (by Doubletree)”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've stayed at the Pruneyard Plaza Hotel a couple times in the past when it was still owned and managed under the Larkspur Hotel chain. I do like the outward modifications that Doubletree has made since acquiring the Pruneyard Plaza Hotel. The lobby end entrance are much brighter and warm. Pros of the Pruneyard Plaza Hotel: (1) Location, location, location: Being located in the Pruneyard plaza is one of the main Pro's of this hotel. You have everything you need within walking distance from the hotel...from restaurants, fast food, grocery stores, all kinds of shopping, creekside walking trail that goes all the way to Los Gatos, park & playground, and quick access to the freeway. (2) Complimentary Continental Breakfast: WE all know that nothing in life is free...anything that's marketed as "complimentary" with a paid hotel reservations simply means that the cost of your breakfast has been worked into your hotel reservation price. But with that said, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the complimentary continental breakfast at the Pruneyard Plaza hotel. Their pastries actually seemed somewhat fresh. They had fruits, cereals, hot oatmeal w/toppings, yogurts, breads, and more. (3) Rooms & Pricing: their rooms are somewhat spacious and well maintained. I'd say that their room pricing is on par or maybe even a little cheaper than other equivalent hotels. For the location, the price is pretty good. They also have some rooms with small kitchenettes which are nice for small families (but some Cons come with these rooms too) (4) Plenty of Parking: Lots and lots of parking for this hotel. Since it's located in a huge shopping center, there is parking everywhere. And since it also has restaurants, there are always people around at night...so you feel somewhat safer walking to your car at night. (5) Free Wireless: there are many hotels that state they have wireless access at their hotel. Then when you get there you realize that their wireless is handled through a 3rd party provider and it's a Paid per Usage service. At the Pruneyard Plaza Hotel, the wireless is free (or included with your room price)..no additional costs. ONLY 2 Personal CONs to the Pruneyard Plaza Hotel: (1) Poolside Rooms: The pool at the hotel stays open til 10pm at night. Many times, you will have folks taking advantage of the late closing hours. And as a result, you have lots of noise (metal gate slamming shut, kids yelling & screaming, and adults talking loudly in attempt to have a conversation over the yelling & screaming of their kids in the pool. THUS, all of the poolside rooms (especially bottom level rooms) get to "enjoy" all of the entertaining noise til 10pm. Also, all of the hotel rooms with kitchenettes (which are good for families) are pool side on the bottom level. Many of these rooms are occupied by families with kids...which is great, if you have kids of age who want to go swimming at night. BUT WARNING TO FAMILIES WITH TODDLERS & BABIES...Do NOT reserve these poolside rooms with kitchenettes. Your toddler or baby that usually has bed time hours starting at 8pm or sooner will NOT be able to sleep. Too Much Noise at night by the pool. (2) NON-SMOKING ROOMS?: During my past 2 stays at this hotel, I've stayed in the poolside kitchenette room and an upper level backside room. Both of these rooms were listed as NON-SMOKING. But for some reason, the room REEEEEEKED like smoke. I think some of these rooms may have been "smoking " rooms at one time and converted into non-smoking rooms. Unfortunately, the smoke smell is still in the walls and flooring...or simply stained within the air conditioning machine that is blowing the "smoke smelling" air throughout your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    287
    120
    59
    29
See reviews for
219
170
65
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The staff here is excellent. Specifically I would like to applaud the work of Daniel, Ednalin and Joel who remembered me from my last stay and did the consistently excellent job that they done in the past making my stay a pleasant one. As well, Lamrt, who I had not met before, went out of his way to be helpful and friendly. I had left my makeup/toiletries kit in San Francisco at a friend's house, and within 5 minutes of checking in and discovering my issue, I had inquired with Lamrt and immediately given all of the essentials I needed.
I do hope that the acquisition of the Hotel by Hilton does not take from this property and its exceptional staff the individual nature of their high-level customer service.

Room Tip: The first floor wing is nice and quiet. Rooms near the pool can be loud if a party or event is being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajackline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just a very pleasant experience. Helpful front desk, comfortable beds, attentive staff, nice breakfast. Excellent location. I really enjoyed that it's a block from the Los Gatos Creek trail for jogging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location, amenities and clean. Good warm cookies upon arrival! Air conditioning issue was only problem and not resolved prior to departure. Continental breakfast was good, coffee was okay. Quiet, staff was pleasant and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel has a great location, within the Pruneyard Plaza, full of shops and restaurants. Very convenient. Free parking and a complimentary continental breakfast were a plus. The hotel was recently partially renovated to be a Double Tree. In my opinion, still some cosmetic work to be done to be up to the Double Tree standards we've come to appreciate. FYI: no laundry on site and the fitness room is located within the shopping center and not within the hotel. The staff was absolutely wonderful. We have also stayed at The Courtyard in Campbell and would have to say that it remains our #1 pick, with the Double Tree coming in second.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banktravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good place to stay for the San Jose area. Good location in the Pruneyard Shopping Center. Close to restaurants and shopping. Breakfast area is a bit crowded, but overall, and clean comfortable place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our recent stay at the Hilton Double Tree/Pruneyard was a very pleasant experience. From the moment we walked in until we checked out, we had room to roam, visit with family, many local conveniences to enjoy and a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank M Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell
1.5 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
0.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Campbell
1.8 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Campbell Inn
Campbell Inn
#6 of 9 in Campbell
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell
2.3 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
Address: 1995 S Bascom Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-2201 (Formerly PruneYard Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pruneyard Plaza Campbell
Hotel Pruneyard Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing