We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with windows that open!”
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Certificate of Excellence
Sonora
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Large rooms with windows that open!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We scored with our room I guess. Number 227. You can see it in the first picture of the album on this site. It sits directly above entrance so no one is below us. There are two covered parking areas within a nice lot. The road is busy outside but with the optional fan and AWESOME temperpedic bed, we slept like babies. Reading the other reviews I was surprised because if they made any renovations here, it happened in our room for sure. Not major renovations but enough to make the place worth every penny. The TV isn't huge but I'm not one to watch it while vacationing. We are shopping for homes in the area and this hotel is in a very nice location surrounded by beautiful homes and near convent locations like Trader Joes and so much more. We love Campbell and may have found a place today. We are thankful for this local secret and will refer others to stay.

Room Tip: Room 227. If you have a group or event like a wedding and need a few rooms, they have a section with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2worknplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    52
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
38
39
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Room was very old, light in the shower didn't work, 1970's era CRT TV. Old rug in room had numerous stains. Furniture looked like it was the 1960's. No resturant, no free wine or newspaper like they say on their site. Don't stay here. Get to the Marriott Courtyard if you can. Never going back to this place...

Room Tip: Just don't go to this terible hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadWarrior58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed in one room and my brother and sister-in-law stayed in another room. Their room had ants and mold in the bathroom. When we checked in the room was very hot as the maids were ordered to turn off the AC every day they cleaned the room. I asked the desk to have the maids leave the AC on each day. It worked for one day and then never again even though I asked again. Additionally, they forgot to leave wash cloths one day and a new bar of soap another day. I had to go to the desk to get both. Also, the mattress was old curved in the middle to a point where I felt I was falling out of bed. This hotel either doesn't care about its customers or just does a terrible job of paying attention to detail. Either way I won't stay here ever again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My hubby and I walked into the main entry and the lobby area, with a frou-frou zen feeling emanating from the peaceful wallpapered walls and naked statutes lining the hall. Check in was pleasant. We got 1 out of 2 of our requests: a room on the upper floor. How "quiet" got translated as the room facing the big front street, across from the elevator and the dining hall...I don't know. Fortunately our fellow guests were not noisy.

Then we entered the room. Hmmm..now the fancy was starting to thin.
The room was spacious, especially the bathroom with 2 sinks and a clean marble floor. Very hot water in the shower - no need to even turn it to between hot and old.
The old TV turned out to have over 100 channels to choose from
. The little fridge also seemed old but it did the job. The one coffee mug and some instant coffee indicated some way of making hot water should have been nearby...maybe that's why the shower was so hot? (Speaking of coffee, why are there little brown dried up splashes on the bottom of the outside of the bathroom door and on the wall next to - and above - the toilet?)

The iron in the closet had all sorts of water stains on the padding. The carpet was pretty rough, especially in some spots. The upholstery on the fancy-schmancy soft chairs made me avoid sitting on them. The thick plexiglas covering the fancy bed stands and desk needed a throughout cleaning, on both side. Yuck...
Then the things I care more about when I sleep in a hotel became obvious.
The bed spread, oh dear. Old and heavy, and looked beat up. Then the sad, old blankie did not match the intended ambiance at all. It had little stains on it (washed) and little holes. The top sheet was OK. The pillowcases were all wrinkled. The bottom sheet was worn so thin where bodies often lie on them that you could see the mattress underneath.
 The corner of the fitted sheet at the top left was ripped along the seam, as was the lower right corner.
The mattress was foam - two 4-inch soft foam mattresses. We like foam, but this foam is a bit saggy, so sinking into it kept heat against our bodies. (My husband said it felt like he his butt was in a bucket! At least it was not a bouncy, springy mattress that would jiggle me out of sleep when he got in and out of bed during the night!)
The AC unit is old, and had a high-pitched whine to it. Fortunately, we were able to travel with our trusty fan. So it helped move air in the room...and drown out much of the street noise.

Breakfast was OK. The eggs looked and tasted like eggs (which I can say for other places we've stayed). It was all the standard breakfasty stuff. Seemed like they didn't have much staff on hand to clean off the plexiglas stuff on the table tops.

The contrast between what Bristol wants to be (appears at first to be), and what we found it to be is disappointing and slightly depressing. I don't like to have good reasons to write negative reviews.
The rooms need a deep cleaning so that the reality matches the appearance of fanciness. The sheets, blankets and bedsheets need to be updated. The carpet and upholstery also need a deep cleaning.
The run-down aspects of the hotel are a big contrast with the initial appearance (and what I think the Bristol wants to be). I hope things can improve for them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the west
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Bristol hotel is different.  It might be like visiting the Barnes museum  if Mr. Barnes had collected multiple reproductions rather than  original masterpieces.  There are botanical, bird, and hunting prints; Asian  pottery; portraits of all manner of ladies from the 1700's and on (who was Mme. Dubois? Is the Lady with Harp an homage to the artist T.  Sully or to Eliza Ridgely's impeccable taste for travel and fashion?) and full size copies of multiple masterpieces by John Singer Sargent.  Although no portraits of men are evident,  life-sized reproductions of 
Michelangelo's David are prominently displayed along with numerous  busts of famous people from the Romans up to Beethoven and Einstein.  The pattern of their grouping and location is a mystery.  The artwork is viewed from the light of numerous chandeliers (all with energy saving bulbs) placed throughout the hotel including the bathrooms, toilet, the emergency stairwell, and outside at the entrance.   Our room also had two Doric columns framing the window - the emergency exit only had one. 

The hotel also has a German theme  - perhaps a celebration of unification? There are numerous prints of the German flag, and a large portrait of Helmut Kohl gazing down on the sausages in the Berlin room where breakfast is served.

My wife used the hotel as a testing ground to see how her 4 yr old 
grandson would do at art museums.  Although he particularly liked the exercise room, he did ask why all the statuary lack clothes and was fascinated by the chandeliers.

Our room was clean and spacious, as was the marble bathroom.

The hotel is clearly one person's vision of the hotel experience.  It is one of a kind, very entertaining, and we will return.  My only complaint was that there was no vision/historical statement explaining the theory behind the creation and decoration of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewestxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times. Not any more. Our first room had dried up olives & sausage on the carpet next to a horrific carpet stain. Their was a refillable water bottle on the window sill from a previous guest and the mold around the bathtub was thick. The bedspread was threadbare and coming apart. Our next room looked nice, but look a little closer. The base of the toilet had yellow fuzzy streaks from seat to floor. The marble stained yellow from uncleaned urine. Thick dust on baseboards and edges of carpet. I wondered if the sheets had even been cleaned. Gross!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machinists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel isn't much to look at from the outside but the inside is all class. statues and chandeliers galore. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were marble tile, and the breakfast was delicious. I'm staying here again!

Room Tip: We just had the King bed and it was an amazing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell
2.3 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
1.6 mi away
Campbell Inn
Campbell Inn
#6 of 9 in Campbell
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlyle Hotel
Carlyle Hotel
#7 of 9 in Campbell
60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 3341 South Bascom Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-7005 (Formerly Clarion Collection Bristol Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol Hotel Campbell is a world of its own inspired by the finest European boutique hotels. Just 4 blocks from the Santa Cruz Highway 17, the Bristol Hotel provides an intimate atmosphere in close proximity to the conveniences of the Silicon Valley. Arrive to spacious, well-appointed guestrooms with custom cherrywood furnishings and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Our spacious guestrooms each feature a T1 DSL line for high speed internet along with generous work desk, elegant Carerra marble bathroom and minifridge. Bristol Hotel’s apartment style accommodations set us apart from other hotels in Silicon Valley with every room is designed to provide comfortable guest seating and space for visitors. Enjoy complimentary hot breakfast in the Berlin Room featuring bacon, eggs, sausage, fresh cut fruit, wholesome yogurts, hot and cold cereals, croissants, bagels, toast and an assortment of danishes as well as seasonal offerings. After 10am The Berlin Room transitions into a comfortable work lounge with spacious seating and free wifi. For business travelers in need of a professional setting for client meetings. You can stay Wired for Work™ with complimentary coffee & tea served all day. Our lobby workstation provide computers with internet access and 8 ½” x 11” color printing. Incoming and outgoing fax service and photocopies are offered at the front desk. Minutes from Highway 17, Bristol Hotel Campbell provides easy access to San Jose, Mountain View and Palo Alto. Bristol Hotel Campbell is conveniently located minutes from the San Jose International Airport, San Jose Convention Center, San Jose State University and many Silicon Valley businesses. 50 miles from San Francisco, 60 miles from Monterey, and a mere 25 miles from the famous surfing beaches of Santa Cruz ─ Bristol Hotel Campbell is the perfect “home base” whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Campbell
Clarion Collection Campbell
Campbell Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing